We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #96 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is my second stay at the Serrano. Once again, it was amazing. The beds were amazing, and I got a quiet room on the fifth floor. Room service was thorough and very polite. The staff was great as always. The only reason I won't give it a 5 stay is that they messed up on my bill and I had to get it straightened out when I got home. A word of caution, but its not about the hotel itself, there are large amounts of homeless people and some of them can get aggressive. Play a hand of blackjack on your way in and find out the password of the month! When they say "Save Me San Francisco" they mean Serrano!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeg1977ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, General Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear eeg1977ok,

Sorry about that confusion with the bill, I think we got it figured out but we should have handled it at check out for you. However I am glad to hear you enjoyed your second visit with us... and you got to use our social media password too! Come see us again soon and please reach out to us if we can ever be of personal assistance.

Regards,
Deepak Mehra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    1,093
    498
    166
    109
See reviews for
476
917
152
556
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay. The room was very comfortable and the staff, particularly the concierge Stephan, very helpful and friendly. I like the way the Kimpton chain offer free WiFi just for signing up to their loyalty scheme.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, General Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear ChristineBurns,

Thank you for stopping by and telling us about your stay - we will make sure to pass on your kudos to Stephan, he is great and we love having him around.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Deepak Mehra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent standard of service by the concierges as you arrive at hotels impressing looking hotel. Although it's a relatively large hotel it has a lot of charm and character of a boutique hotel.

The rooms were very clean and ours afforded a lovely view of the downtown/union square area of the city.

Parking is expensive, but right behind the hotel on Jones Street is a much cheaper lot, which is between $20-$25/night.

There's also a wine reception that one can take advantage of in the evening.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, General Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear RMiddleton,

Thank you for the comments, we would love to have you back soon! I hope you got a chance to try out our award winning restaurant, really the talk of the town.

Until next time,
Deepak Mehra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you want to avoid the cold, sterile setting many hotels offer, choose the Serrano Hotel as you'll be warmly greeted and well cared for in a comfortable setting. I read a lot of the reviews of various hotels in SF and zoned in on the Kimpton chain of hotels because of the way they seemed to treat their guests. Our experience at the Serrano Hotel only supported all the praise that I read.

Everyone at the Serrano was friendly and helpful. I signed up for the InTouch loyalty program mainly to get the free Wi-Fi and also got a nice surprise of some free items out of the mini-bar during my stay. Gabby took really good care in setting up our room as I had requested - quiet location and a tea service in our room. I didn't think tea was an option but when I got the e-mail asking how she could tailor our room to our needs, I mentioned the desire for tea and she made that possible. I never got to meet her to thank her, but am grateful.

We enjoyed the AAA Weekend Getaway which included breakfast each morning. We were so delighted by this package! The breakfast was listed as continental, which it was, but you never felt like you were skimped on or looked down upon for having the package. It was a very satisfying breakfast with additional complimentary slices of chocolate chip banana bread to boot!

The lobby is very comfortable for meeting friends and hanging out in general. It again is not sterile, but has cozy settings of mini-rooms, so to speak. The only thing missing was a roaring fire like in some other hotel lobbies I saw while I was in SF, which would have been nice in February but not at all a show stopper.

The wine hour is also a very nice touch. We enjoyed participating before meeting up with friends for dinner as it was a nice, relaxing time after a busy day with which we could catch up and share our day's experience we'd separately had due to my husband's being business and mine being pleasure.

Overall, the cleanliness of the rooms, the detail in caring for your needs on so many levels, the friendliness of the staff at all levels (great house keepers, front desk and front door staff!) really made our time at the Serrano Hotel a top notch experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TnTLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, General Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear TnTLeeds,

Thank you for the review, I couldn't have said it better myself! I will make sure our team reads your comments and I will personally congratulate Gaby on your behalf for making your visit an extra special one.

We hope you will be back soon.

Regards,
Deepak Mehra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Another stay at this lovely boutique hotel. Enjoyed my interactions with staff who really make an effort to make you feel welcome. Food service is very good. Perks include am coffee, pm wine, free paper, $10 raid of minibar items, plus if you forget any if the essentials (contact lens solution!) they give it to you--no charge. Location is very good. Will definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms do vary quite a bit in size and view. Higher up generally better (quieter) in my experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemeaway_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, General Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear takemeaway_2010_10,

I am so glad you keep visiting us, we don't want you to stop. We can't wait till next time and feel free to send us a message if we can be of personal assistance.

Regards,
Deepak Mehra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I only stayed one night due to an unexpected early checkout but this hotel was very nice and quaint. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean, and we really enjoyed the hip restaurant/bar downstairs. They offer free coffee and tea in the mornings as well as wine in the evenings. I would recommend this hotel and would return on a future trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, General Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear LisaZ_11,

Thank you for your comments! We wish that you would have stayed here longer and had a chance to check out our in-room spa services. Next time? Please let me know if I can be of personal assistance for future reservations. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Deepak Mehra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Serrano is located in Downtown SF, in which is clearly a very old building. The lobby is very nice. They have fast valet and the usual no parking in SF. Restaurant is a connector to an establishment next door, was good. The staff at this hotel is in usual Kimpton style, very nice. Everyone I encountered was friendly, efficient and wanted to help. Plusses all around for this. The room as only marginal. It was very basic, from the furnishings to decor. Almost depressing to be in. The lighting was poor and make the room look even worse than it was. I like a little nicer room than this. Nothing exciting at all. The bathroom was tiny. The door to the room from the hall was flimsy and could easily be forced open. Bed comfy and as usual FREE WIFi! No in-room coffee, did have mini bar.

Room Tip: Avoid next to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerranoSF, General Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear swixo,

I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy our rooms - our hotel is full of charm and was built in 1926, so we can certainly find some cozy spaces in here. I am however, really glad to read that you enjoyed our restaurant, their food is getting a lot of attention in the San Francisco restaurant scene and we loved their J-Burger.

Please let us know if we can ever be of personal assistance in the future.

Regards,
Deepak Mehra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#54 of 228 in San Francisco
4,388 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,534 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#97 of 228 in San Francisco
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,867 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Property: Serrano Hotel
Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing