We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #98 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Very enjoyable stay. Staff (JP and all) very welcoming. Lots of personal touches make you feel at home. Easy to get to Bart for transportation. Short walk to Union Square for shopping / Christmas atmosphere. Love the Christmas tree in Serrano lobby, nice setting for wine happy hour each evening. Large corner room, great pillows and bed. Will definitely make a return visit. Try Jasper's their restaurant good food good value too

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Rob1a,

Thanks for the awesome review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay here! We are all so proud of our gorgeous tree and we hope that everyone gets to enjoy it during our hosted wine reception.

Please come back and see us soon and feel free to reach out to me directly if I can ever be of personal assistance.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    1,001
    443
    140
    96
See reviews for
387
827
141
498
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice location..right in the downtown. helpful staff. Stayed in oct 2012 during business conference when all the hotels in downtown were booked. Had to pay a premimum to get the hotel room booked here because of its location. Rooms are small and the hotel has an old look. There was no remarkable view from the room. The complimentary coffee service was good. Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: Room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pulse30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear pulse30,

Thanks for your review, I wish you could have had an amazing time with us. I hope you will get to come back soon and we will make your stay at Serrano unforgettable.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can ever be of personal assistance.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stay was OK - just OK. The first room they shuttled us to still had the vacuum cleaner and linens strewn all over the place. Once we let them know they moved us to another room and gave us 2 complimentary drink coupons. Staff were friendly until we actually had an issue and then they were defensive and unable to offer any customer service. Our main issue is with their Valet parking service. We called down for our car 10 minutes before we checked out. 35 minutes and 2 inquiries later, our car finally appeared. This delay made us very late for a family hospital visit. What was most irritating was that the staff could care less nor did they offer an apology or any sort of customer service compensation for the inconvenience. We will not stay here again because of their customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laineybrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Laineybrd,

I am sorry to read you didn't fully enjoy your stay. Hopefully you will find another opportunity to visit us again.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

First off the staff were great, and couldnt be faulted.

View of a concrete wall and alleyway was disapointing from 3rd floor room. Australian travellers beware of location, not as close to union square as you may think. Wouldnt dare leave the hotel after dark...

On first arrival, we instantly had a bad feeling. We had to drive through the so called tenderloin to get to the hotel. This neighbourhood is very rough. The best part of the hotel is the lobby Then it goes down from there. Although the hotel is very clean, the bathrooms and room in general are small and outdated. We had a dividing door to the next room therefore could hear kid screaming and smell cigarette smoke coming under the door.

The toilet you have to sit on an angle because of its close proximity to the wall. The shower floods everytime you have a shower being a bath/shower and we found the bath only drained when it wanted too...

We felt very unsafe staying here for 4 nights i would reccomend to stay near pier39/ the wharf. The serrano can only work with what its got being an older building ( and the neighbourhood its in ). Updating rooms is a must.

The connecting resturant was great. sitting at the window in the resturant will give you a good idea at what your in for on the outside. You get hit up for money and smokes when exiting most buildings and c stores by bums and crackheads.

For the money your paying for staying here, there are many better options around san francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view, high level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mr. Matt O,

I am sorry to read you didn't fully enjoy your stay. Hopefully you will find another opportunity to visit us again.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are a family of 4 including two kids, ages 2 and 8. The room was perfect in size and had everything we needed, however the room needed a paint job and a more thorough cleaning (eg. doors were dirty) as it seems the maids clean whatever is most used and leave everything else. The carpet also looked a bit worn or like it could use a steam cleaning. Otherwise, the locations was perfect and overall we were satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelena2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Jelena2011,

I am sorry to read your review and find out that your stay wasn't flawless. It is not typical for us to get low marks and I will make sure your comments about the extensive cleaning that should be done. Please feel free to reach out to me if I can be of any personal assistance.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I just returned from San Francisco on a combined business and pleasure trip. Our stay at Serrano was quite pleasant. The room provided us with everything we needed. Service was excellent and we found everyone at the hotel to be friendly and extremely helpful. The location worked out well for the conference my husband attended and the shopping and restaurants nearby were outstanding. We would return again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mimi46,

I am so pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed you personal time while here! Hopefully the next time you visit it will be no bussiness just fun! Looking forward to having you again!

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've stayed at the Serrano Hotel 3 times this year for both business and pleasure. Each time I've found a pretty good deal (for an SF hotel) via my company travel agent, and I've found it to be a pretty reasonably price option for a city where centrally located hotel rooms often go for $300+. I've found the staff both at Serrano and every other Kimpton hotel to be very friendly. The hotel serves wine every evening in the lobby, and I like the historic feel of the building and decor. On the downside, this hotel is located on the edge of a seedy neighborhood, but I didn't find it to be too much of an issue for the great price. Bathrooms are also pretty tiny (girls beware).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfran_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear sfran_adventurer,

Thank your for swinging by and writing about Serrano. We appreciate the kind comments and we look forward to having you back. Please feel free to reach out to me if I can ever be of personal assistance.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#51 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,078 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#41 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Property: Serrano Hotel
Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing