We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #93 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our finale hotel of our trip and we were very happy with our room. The staff were great and very helpful, the hotel is in a great location almost on top of great shopping.
We were on the 17th floor and our room was clean and comfy. We had a cupboard full of odds bit and pieces which you could buy, there were things like a mini etch a sketch, playing cards and lots of other odd and fun bits. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

We loved the wine tasting in the evening the hotel put on, the wines were of a very high standard.

Frisco is a great city

Room Tip: You can use the hotel computer room to print off your boarding passes for free and wifi is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Ms247,

I am very happy to read your review. Thank you for the comments. I hope you got a chance to draw a masterpiece on that etch-a-sketch - we like to have our fun around here.

We'd love to have you visit us again, so feel free to reach out to me if I can ever be of personal assistance.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    1,136
    524
    182
    118
See reviews for
528
974
157
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I booked our stay through Hotwire, and was excited to find that we'd be spending 5 nights in this beautiful hotel. I'd read through the many positive reviews for the Serrano - and was most impressed by J.P's personal responses to the majority of them. I emailed him to comment on that, and also mentioned that it was a special trip for us (my wife and I's bday, and first trip since we had our daughter 15 months ago.) When we checked in, there was a personal note from the staff wishing us happy birthday, along with a bottle of wine for us and applesauce for our little girl - waiting in a beautiful suite on the 17th floor. The view was lovely, the room perfect for a little girl who loves to run around, and the bed left us wishing we could take it home. Every member of the staff were so friendly, and no one even complained when we enjoyed the wine hour while our daughter made new friends with the other guests. It really made our trip fantastic. Thanks everyone - we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Clint H,

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We were happy that you guys chose to come to our hotel and it was great meeting you guys. I can't wait for your next trip out here... and aren't our beds super comfortable? Well, let me know if I can be of assistance for future travel plans.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in San Francisco, it's right opposite the Hilton. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff are friendly and professional. The breakfast is great. The only down side is there are no coffee/ tea making facilities in the room, but they do have a coffee bar in the reception area, which solves that problem. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancehstertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear mancehstertraveller,

Thank you for your review, I am glad to find out that you had a great experience, we hope to see you again soon. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can ever be of personal assistance.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

As I had never been to San Francisco before I was unsure exactly where to stay and found this hotel in a guide book. It is nicely located close to the BART which means airport taxis are not necessary (50 USD plus tip for taxi vs 9 USD for train) if you are prepared to walk up hill for five minutes (nothing too strenuous). The room was small but it was on a corner so I had two windows which was great for light. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable. Internet was free if you signed up to their loyalty programme. Some of the staff were very helpful, others less so but no problems. There was a free wine hour in the evening which was worth experiencing. The only problem with San Francisco was the hills but this was not down to the hotel. :) I would just note that it was not in the best parts of town. When I was out there were people around so felt safe but once dark and alone I am not sure I would have felt so safe alone. However, once you cross a couple of streets it it fine. All in all if I were to return to San Francisco I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Martyn W,

Thank you for the review, I would love to see you back with us again soon. Please feel free to reach out to me if I can ever be of personal assistance.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, PA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed 6 nights for a family summer vacation. Arrived late night and felt welcome immediately. As others mentioned, the room was too small and a bit worn around the edges as it is an old building. But trusty Kimpton Hotels always does a fine job with the overall decor and service. On our first morning, I found the built-in wall bathroom dryer not working. Within minutes of my call to the front desk, a smiling employee knocked on my door to hand me a portable hair dryer. The lobby was very inviting and the wine happy hour is always appreciated. Unfortunately, the wine choices did not change during our stay and we would have preferred other options. Morning beverages are also a nice touch. Overall, quite comfortable in the beds. Neighborhood as mentioned by others is sort of on the fringe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear JillyPhilly,

Thank you for your comments, I was pleased to find out that we got you a replacement dryer. We'd love it if you came back to visit us again soon, until then,

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
705 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A nice boutique hotel located close to Union Square. The rooms were typically small but very clean and updated. The beds were very comfortable - we slept like babies. The hotel has an adjacent bar which is handy and free internet. The fact it cost about $225 a night during the high season seemed very reasonable to me. No complaints whatsoever. My only recommendation - when leaving the hotel, don't head West along O'Farrell Ave. It got pretty seedy very quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Silverwoods,

Aren't our beds super comfortable? I am glad you got to enjoy some good sleep. We'd love to have you visit us again soon.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked this hotel through Priceline. Never been to San Fran before so had no Idea what to expect. I figure the hotel was as easy to find as anything else in the city. Very helpful when we checked in. Garage right next door took care of the car. Bell hop was friendly and full of info. We asked for a double room because our son was unexpectedly with us. They were sold out of doubles and extra single rooms. He said he could upgrade us to a suite for what I felt was a reasonable up charge. The hotel was very charming and I loved the room. View was. Commanding and I enjoyed our stay here. We stayed two nights and the location was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jpagoadacruz, Front Office Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Lou M,

Our location is certainly privileged - I am glad you got to enjoy your first time in San Francisco using Serrano as home base. We'd love to have you again so if I can ever be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,
J.P. Pagoadacruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#99 of 229 in San Francisco
1,750 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,649 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#104 of 229 in San Francisco
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
3,229 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
705 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Property: Serrano Hotel
Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing