We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, quiet room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #34 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Thank you, Priceline, thank you! Hotel Nikko is in an excellent location in Union Sq. just a few blocks from the Powell Muni station and near lots of shopping and restaurants. The spacious, white marble lobby sets the tone for this elegant hotel. Our spotless room on the 19th floor provided a wonderful sunset view and was very quiet. The room was relatively small and decor was minimal--there weren't any paintings on the wall, which seemed a bit odd at first. I appreciated the in-room safe, nice bath ammenities, and comfortable bed. The shower was also great. Only quibble was having to pay for wireless access at such a high-end hotel. Seems almost ironic so close to Silicon Valley. Hotel Nikko provided a great haven at the end of each busy day of exploring the city. I actually looked forward to going back there to sleep!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Social Media Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to share comments about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience.
We hope you visit us again soon!
Best,
Nikkogal

Ps. Keep in touch through our fan page on Facebook , simply “LIKE” HOTEL NIKKO SF and get updates on what’s going on in the city of San Francisco as well as special deals for the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,259 - 2,265 of 3,715 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

My husband (and business partner) stayed here for 7 nights on a dual business and leisure trip. We couldn't fault the hotel. Lovely rooms, great beds, great breakfast, helpful staff.
We paid extra to stay in an Imperial Floor room - well worth it as breakfast and broadband connection are included. The breakfasts were delicious and the serving staff were helpful and remembered us from day to day - not something you expect at a Union Square hotel. The rooms were generous and the range of pillows available excellent (we are both fussy sleepers).
The ground floor bar is also a great spot to unwind after a day of meetings/shopping.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Hotel is very nice. Comfortable Rooms. Good room tempterature controls

Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
Thank anccarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stay here once per week on business. The service is wonderful. The employees remember your name and they go that extra mile to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one. I highly recommend this hotel when stating in downtown SF.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamab85704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I arrived with my husband for a 3 night stay. Upon check-in I asked for a quiet room as I explained we were on our honeymoon and were tired from travelling. We had booked a deluxe king room in about February using Expedia.

Upon check in we were told that the hotel was fully booked (it was a Monday) and that they could only accommodate us in a queen standard room. We then very firmly stated that this was simply not good enough as we had pre-booked our room, were on our honeymoon and to give us less than what we had booked was less than what we had paid for and was misleading and deceptive.

We then (at our initiative) had to haggle with the receptionist (who was incredibly incompetent, unfriendly and really needed to improve her people skills) to try and be compensated for taking the inferior, much smaller and cheaper room. We asked for continental breakfast each morning, wi-fi and use of the gym and pool (which quiet frankly should be included anyway) but no she simply could not give us all of that. She couldn't even guarantee that if we took the queen standard room for one night we could be moved to the deluxe king room for the 2 remaining nights.

After arguing with her for about 15 minutes and standing our ground to say that we wanted the room which we had booked 7 months ago and paid for, and wanted to speak to the hotel general manager (who we were told was not available) we eventually got it. She told us that a VIP would have to be moved from that room. We did get one morning's free breakfast to 'compensate' us and use of the hotel's wine and cheese sundowner (which was pathetic to say the least) - which was big of them.

Upon checking in to our room we were extremely disappointed. Gee I felt sorry for any 'VIP' staying there. Whilst clean the rooms are extremely small and dated. Having 3 suitcases, 1 carry on, 1 back pack and a piece of art we struggled to fit into the room comfortably. Lucky we didn't take the standard queen room otherwise our bags would have been in the hall way.

After paying for wi-fi we checked out the Expedia website. There were rooms still available for the dates of our stay (including king deluxe rooms).

We stayed at 8 American hotels during our honeymoon and this was by far the worst. We booked all our accommodation for our trip using Expedia and did not encounter any problems at all except for the Hotel Nikko.

The only decent thing about this hotel is its close proximity to Union Square.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Percy-Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This hotel topped my expectation. The hotel is beautiful and the location is in a perfect location. (Union Square/China Town) The staff was outstanding and very efficient in all aspect of our stay. Service was impeccable and I will definitely go back for another stay. You will love it, also.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lteenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We decided on a family room for our 3 day stay in SF. The staff at the reception desk were very friendly and service minded. The room was a bit to small for a family travelling with two teenagers. High up there was still some noice from the streets. Location was perfect though it was quite a stretch to the piers. Very nice fitnes center and pool!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GertFrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,822 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
2,990 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $166 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to Hotel Nikko in San Francisco, where personalized service meets cutting-edge style. Our hotel is set in the heart of the city, just steps from Union Square shops and restaurants, making it the ideal destination for both business and leisure travel. Our four-diamond rated property features 532 guest rooms and 22 suites, each with pillow-top beds, high-speed internet, and a wealth of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing