We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #34 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed for five nights and paid to upgrade to imperial Club Lounge. Our room was nice and spacious. My kids loved the TV built into the bathroom mirror. Very comfortable and quiet with comfortable queen size beds. Hotel service was very good. The pool was awesome - very large for an indoor pool, a nice jacuzzi, and rarely crowded. Great gym as well.

The Club level had continental breakfast and evening appetizers and drinks. The breakfast was fine. The appetizers were hit or miss, and generally were a little sparse. Two of the nights had sushi, so that was great. But overall the food was not refilled promptly, and platters sat empty for quite a while. Also, the club only had drinks (soda, water) available when they were serving the food. In my experience at other hotels, light refreshments and/or beverages were available in a common fridge all day.

I think the hotel is a great option, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler8001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear traveler8001,

Thank you for your review – we are pleased to have accommodated your stay in San Francisco! We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our Imperial Club Lounge, pool and gym facilities.

I am sorry to hear about your experiences at our restaurant and have forwarded your comments to our restaurant management team.

We hope to welcome you back once again!

Warm regards,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    1,379
    434
    133
    93
See reviews for
580
1,346
235
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Having researched San Francisco, I was weary of booking a hotel close to the Tenderloin and Nob Hill districts, but Hotel Nikko was a great recommendation. We found the surrounding area to be a little sketchy and questionable at times, but during the day it was mostly fine.
The location was great as a basis to explore and shop. Most major means of transportation are only a few blocks away, and it was so easy to get to the hotel from the airport via the BART system.
The rooms were clean, and although not modern, were definitely not out of date. The room was a little small, but to be expected for the price.
The hotel restaurant was great for an easy first night dinner.
Overall: good price, okay rooms, good location for exploring.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloejade17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear chloejade17,

Thank your for taking the time to review us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us – our central location makes it easy for our guests to tour San Francisco such as yourself.

I have forwarded your concerns about the surrounding area to our management team for further review. We value guest input and yours are very much appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Very modern Asian fusion hotel. Staff very friendly and eager to help you with anything. Beautiful lobby, lounge, bar and restaurant, and the rooms are very nice but not too spacious. They also have a theater for cabaret style shows which is pretty cool. Full spa and an indoor pool is also a plus.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tonee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear tonee007,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, as well as our lounge, bar, restaurant – ANZU.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Thank you,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Was here for a conference in June. They have improved since my last stay.

* check in with Michael was fast and professional. He offered a free upgrade to imperial floor which was a very pleasant surprise. The imperial floor rooms are bigger and the bathrooms are very large. I enjoyed the Lather products.

* great door/bellman service to greet me upon arrival

* fitness center and pool are still well worth the extra $20 per stay

* great location for all things san fran

Overall I will be happy to stay at Nikko again on business trip or personal vacation. See you next year

Room Tip: ask for Imperial floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear healsea,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a 5 star review! We are delighted that Michael helped you check in with us – he is a valued member of our team!

We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and please return again soon.

Best regards,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very nice Hotel overall, like all Nikkos I've been to.
Very good location for busines and enjoyment.
Very good rooms and outstandingly friendly employees.
However 15.95 $/day for WiFi is too much nowadays.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Manfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Manfred,

Thank you for your 5 star review – we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We value our guests and pride in our customer service.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Actually, to be fair, the location is right next to Union Square and probably by all normal standards pretty excellent, since it's convenient and there are shopping and food options, but it wasn't a very pretty area. The hotel itself, though, was pretty great. It kind of annoyed me that we had to pay extra to use the gym and pool, but the facilities were worth the extra cost and the on-site restaurant is very good. My room was spacious, on a good floor, with very comfortable bedding, an ample mini-fridge and a great bathroom. Reception was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picotin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Picotin,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our gym and pool facilities and our restaurant, ANZU.

Thank You,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My girlfriend had never been to San Francisco (recent transplant from Wisconsin) so I took her for a romantic weekend, renting a car one-way from Los Angeles on Friday morning. We drove up along the coast all the way which was breathtaking and flew back on Sunday.

I booked a room through the local Hotel Nikko reservation office instead of the 800 number a few weeks before going.
She was very helpful and had fulfilled my higher floor request upon check in.
I was able to get a price comparable to what booking web sites were offering without worrying about being treated as a "second class" guest when I arrived there.
I believe it makes a difference booking directly with the hotel, especially when it comes to getting upgrades.

The room, view, and especially the king bed was great.
The whole place is pretty slick and sexy.
Didn't use any of the amenities such as the pool or gym (a reasonable $20 add for the length of your stay)
Didn't need the WiFi for my 3G iPad either.

The concierges were extremely helpful.
They would draw maps, recommend and call restaurants for reservations, and were just very welcoming.

We will return!

Room Tip: The hotel is hushed and quiet. Our room on the bay side was very quiet, at least on the outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Our staff strives to provide the best experience to each of our guests and we’re very happy to hear that you and your girlfriend were well taken care of during your romantic weekend!

Come back soon!

Sincerely,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,547 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 228 in San Francisco
275 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,100 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing