We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary getaway trip! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #33 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary getaway trip! ”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Very modern Asian fusion hotel. Staff very friendly and eager to help you with anything. Beautiful lobby, lounge, bar and restaurant, and the rooms are very nice but not too spacious. They also have a theater for cabaret style shows which is pretty cool. Full spa and an indoor pool is also a plus.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tonee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear tonee007,

Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay with us, as well as our lounge, bar, restaurant – ANZU.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Thank you,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    1,395
    438
    133
    94
See reviews for
590
1,372
237
905
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Was here for a conference in June. They have improved since my last stay.

* check in with Michael was fast and professional. He offered a free upgrade to imperial floor which was a very pleasant surprise. The imperial floor rooms are bigger and the bathrooms are very large. I enjoyed the Lather products.

* great door/bellman service to greet me upon arrival

* fitness center and pool are still well worth the extra $20 per stay

* great location for all things san fran

Overall I will be happy to stay at Nikko again on business trip or personal vacation. See you next year

Room Tip: ask for Imperial floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear healsea,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a 5 star review! We are delighted that Michael helped you check in with us – he is a valued member of our team!

We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and please return again soon.

Best regards,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very nice Hotel overall, like all Nikkos I've been to.
Very good location for busines and enjoyment.
Very good rooms and outstandingly friendly employees.
However 15.95 $/day for WiFi is too much nowadays.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Manfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Manfred,

Thank you for your 5 star review – we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We value our guests and pride in our customer service.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Actually, to be fair, the location is right next to Union Square and probably by all normal standards pretty excellent, since it's convenient and there are shopping and food options, but it wasn't a very pretty area. The hotel itself, though, was pretty great. It kind of annoyed me that we had to pay extra to use the gym and pool, but the facilities were worth the extra cost and the on-site restaurant is very good. My room was spacious, on a good floor, with very comfortable bedding, an ample mini-fridge and a great bathroom. Reception was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picotin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Picotin,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our gym and pool facilities and our restaurant, ANZU.

Thank You,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My girlfriend had never been to San Francisco (recent transplant from Wisconsin) so I took her for a romantic weekend, renting a car one-way from Los Angeles on Friday morning. We drove up along the coast all the way which was breathtaking and flew back on Sunday.

I booked a room through the local Hotel Nikko reservation office instead of the 800 number a few weeks before going.
She was very helpful and had fulfilled my higher floor request upon check in.
I was able to get a price comparable to what booking web sites were offering without worrying about being treated as a "second class" guest when I arrived there.
I believe it makes a difference booking directly with the hotel, especially when it comes to getting upgrades.

The room, view, and especially the king bed was great.
The whole place is pretty slick and sexy.
Didn't use any of the amenities such as the pool or gym (a reasonable $20 add for the length of your stay)
Didn't need the WiFi for my 3G iPad either.

The concierges were extremely helpful.
They would draw maps, recommend and call restaurants for reservations, and were just very welcoming.

We will return!

Room Tip: The hotel is hushed and quiet. Our room on the bay side was very quiet, at least on the outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Our staff strives to provide the best experience to each of our guests and we’re very happy to hear that you and your girlfriend were well taken care of during your romantic weekend!

Come back soon!

Sincerely,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in a petite queen, the room was slightly small but comfortable and nice. The hotel staff were friendly and the location was amazing.
Not the most outstanding hotel experience but no complaints either except maybe that the WiFi wasn't included- I really think that for hotels that charge this kind of rate, WiFi should be included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aileneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear aileneoh,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding the cost of WiFi, which I’ve forwarded to our management staff. We always appreciate guest input.

We are happy that you enjoyed our central location by Union Square and hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel nikko is a great place to stay. Close to shopping and all transportation. Concierge was the best. Great restaurant recommendations. The rooms are clean and updated. Would definitely return. I requested a high floor which I was given.

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ew321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello ew321,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! I'm delighted to hear our concierge was so helpful to you - they strive for 5 star service every time!

Hope to see you back soon!

Thanks!
Danielle Ortega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,674 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,935 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,208 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to Hotel Nikko in San Francisco, where personalized service meets cutting-edge style. Our hotel is set in the heart of the city, just steps from Union Square shops and restaurants, making it the ideal destination for both business and leisure travel. Our four-diamond rated property features 532 guest rooms and 22 suites, each with pillow-top beds, high-speed internet, and a wealth of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing