We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Great Facilities, kind of awkward location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #34 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Actually, to be fair, the location is right next to Union Square and probably by all normal standards pretty excellent, since it's convenient and there are shopping and food options, but it wasn't a very pretty area. The hotel itself, though, was pretty great. It kind of annoyed me that we had to pay extra to use the gym and pool, but the facilities were worth the extra cost and the on-site restaurant is very good. My room was spacious, on a good floor, with very comfortable bedding, an ample mini-fridge and a great bathroom. Reception was very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picotin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Picotin,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our gym and pool facilities and our restaurant, ANZU.

Thank You,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 3,718 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

My girlfriend had never been to San Francisco (recent transplant from Wisconsin) so I took her for a romantic weekend, renting a car one-way from Los Angeles on Friday morning. We drove up along the coast all the way which was breathtaking and flew back on Sunday.

I booked a room through the local Hotel Nikko reservation office instead of the 800 number a few weeks before going.
She was very helpful and had fulfilled my higher floor request upon check in.
I was able to get a price comparable to what booking web sites were offering without worrying about being treated as a "second class" guest when I arrived there.
I believe it makes a difference booking directly with the hotel, especially when it comes to getting upgrades.

The room, view, and especially the king bed was great.
The whole place is pretty slick and sexy.
Didn't use any of the amenities such as the pool or gym (a reasonable $20 add for the length of your stay)
Didn't need the WiFi for my 3G iPad either.

The concierges were extremely helpful.
They would draw maps, recommend and call restaurants for reservations, and were just very welcoming.

We will return!

Room Tip: The hotel is hushed and quiet. Our room on the bay side was very quiet, at least on the outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Rob,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Our staff strives to provide the best experience to each of our guests and we’re very happy to hear that you and your girlfriend were well taken care of during your romantic weekend!

Come back soon!

Sincerely,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in a petite queen, the room was slightly small but comfortable and nice. The hotel staff were friendly and the location was amazing.
Not the most outstanding hotel experience but no complaints either except maybe that the WiFi wasn't included- I really think that for hotels that charge this kind of rate, WiFi should be included.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aileneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear aileneoh,

Thank you so much for your comments regarding the cost of WiFi, which I’ve forwarded to our management staff. We always appreciate guest input.

We are happy that you enjoyed our central location by Union Square and hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Danielle Ortega
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel nikko is a great place to stay. Close to shopping and all transportation. Concierge was the best. Great restaurant recommendations. The rooms are clean and updated. Would definitely return. I requested a high floor which I was given.

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ew321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello ew321,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! I'm delighted to hear our concierge was so helpful to you - they strive for 5 star service every time!

Hope to see you back soon!

Thanks!
Danielle Ortega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The downside to San Francisco hotels is the price. All are expensive! This was a nice hotel located in a good area with a Starbucks on the lower level. The staff was nice and accommodating, and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Dean W.,

Thanks for taking a moment of your time to review us. I'm glad to hear our staff took good care of you and you enjoyed our central location!

We hope to see you back very soon - have a great week!

Thanks!
Danielle Ortega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel Nikko is my favorite place to stay when I go to San Francisco. It is steps away from the heart of Union Square and has great shopping nearby. You can walk almost anywhere from this location. The rooms are very reasonably priced and very modern and spacious. I usually opt for the included breakfast - which is great. Very international with savory and sweet choices. The club level is a good deal too. There is a fun bar/cabaret club that is funky and fun with great bartenders and cool bites to eat. The staff and concierge are extremely polite and helpful. Overall an excellent, modern choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank vacaalotnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear vacaalotnyc,

Thanks for the review! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our cabaret club, Feinstein's! Isn't it fun?

We hope to have you back soon!

Thank You,
Danielle Ortega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have stayed in plenty of hotels in SFO trying to find the one that I like the most, until now I did not have a winner. Hotel Nikko is it! First off is in a great location, downtown SFO where you can walk everywhere whether to shop, eat, go on business meetings, or get in the cable cars. Also the rooms are not tiny as in most hotels in SFO, the rooms are quite roomy, the shower was excellent! The pressure of it and the tub were outstanding, great amenities in the bathroom, also I was greeted with a glass of red wine which is always welcome! The gym, pool and hot tub are a great addition to this hotel, most hotel pools are usually super cold, not this one it is absolutely perfect temperature! Room service was prompt, free wifi, lots of contacts and places to put your stuff, staff is friendly and helpful, it is clean and the sake bar looked great though I did not have time to check it out. The only problem was that because it is the Nikko hotel I am sure there was a family from Asia in the room upstairs which because of the time difference I am sure they could not sleep due to jet lag and where stomping all over the place, I was not able to fall asleep for a while this was around 2 a.m., however I did not call the front desk and ask them to say something because I was too tired to do so.. I am sure if I had they would have done something about it. I had a great stay and will continue to stay there on my business trips to San Fran, finally I have a winner!

Room Tip: Ask to be put in a room where there are NO KIDS upstairs, that could mean no sleep for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mariana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Hi Mariana A
We are so glad to know that the Hotel Nikko is your favorite home away from home in SF! Thanky ou for commenting on your stay. We look forward to your return!
Best regards
marcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,829 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
2,992 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $175 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to Hotel Nikko in San Francisco, where personalized service meets cutting-edge style. Our hotel is set in the heart of the city, just steps from Union Square shops and restaurants, making it the ideal destination for both business and leisure travel. Our four-diamond rated property features 532 guest rooms and 22 suites, each with pillow-top beds, high-speed internet, and a wealth of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing