We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Concierge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #35 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Concierge!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the hotel Nikko in April 2014 for 3 nights on our travels/honeymoon to San Francisco having driven from Las Vegas and in between heading to LA.
Nikko was a nice hotel but our trip was made special by the excellent service from Ernesto on the concierge desk.
On our 2nd day we booked an excursion through www.allsanfranciscotours.com (beware do not use!!). When we struggled to contact this company or get any sense out of them and worried that we would lose our money we approached concierge to assist us.
Even though this trip was booked externally ourselves and nothing to do with the hotel (I should have and wished I had booked through them) and having spent 1 hour in our room on the phone already to them, Ernesto spent a further 1 - 1.5 hours with us on the phone trying to resolve this problem for us. Even when he had other guests to assist he still remained professional and very helpful to us. Helping us to get a refund in the end Ernesto turned our day from a nightmare into a really enjoyable and memorable day.

The hotel was nice but my main reason for this review is down to the excellent service provided by the concierge. Thank you again for making our trip to San Francisco a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Kerry D,
First Congratulations on your recent wedding. We are so glad to have been a part of the Honeymoon tour; such a memorable and truly special time in your life!

Thank you for sharing the details of your positive experience at Hotel Nikko and for the 4 circle rating. I will certainly share with the our General Manager the example of Ernesto's exceptional assistance. May your Honeymoon blissfulness continue for years to come.
All the Best,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,539
    1,377
    432
    133
    92
See reviews for
579
1,341
235
892
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Ingles, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here. Got upgraded to a larger queen size room on arrival and the staff are so friendly. Only gripe was having to pay for wifi. This should be included in the proce but all in all, great hotel and fantastic location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
HI Garry M.!
We appreciate your 4 circle rating AND the great comments about your room size and the solid customer service. I will share your comments with the staff.

For your next stay, consider one of the Hotel NIkko packages on the Hotel Nikko web site, because many include WiFi and I wanted to make sure to mention that there is free WiFi offered in the hotel lobby, WiFi in room rates are similar for hotels in the area and I hope the front desk explained that $15.95 per day fee is for up to 3 devices,

Again thank you and we hope to see you soon!
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is our third stay at this hotel. Upon arrival we were welcomed and offered a glass of wine. The staff, room and overall accommodations were nothing short of excellent.
I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lladnarrengaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi lladnarrengaw,
Whoo Hoo! We love when we get a rave review and thank you so much for taking the time to give us a perfect 5 circle rating. We appreciate your repeat visits and we love that you recommemd us too!

Keep coming back and see you soon for stay #4!
Warm Regards,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Had never stayed at a Nikko hotel before, and had heard very good things, so I was expecting more than I found. The hotel is nice enough, but really not much different from any large chain hotel. Fairly small room, wifi @ $15, overpriced room service, long line at check-in. Overall, just another big chain hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank out8974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
High Out8974,
We are disappointed that your visit did not meet your expectations. Glad that overall you felt it was good, but we strive for greatness I will share your comments about the lengthy front desk wait so that we can review staffing during busy times.

There are a selection of rooms and besides the Petite room there are many other options including unique Suite selections that will upgrade the room size experience for future visits with us. Also, I wanted to point out that the WiFi rate for in room is $15.95, but for up to 3 devices. There is FREE WiFi in the lobby and in the adjacent Starbuck's.

Again Thank You,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice, clean, easy to find and near Union Square. What was really good was the service, everybody were very willing to help out, from the front desk to the bellboys. I would recomend it to anyone, and the price is the same as similar hotels like the Hilton or the Mark Twain.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patynady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Greetings PatyNady,
Thank you so much for the 4 circle rating AND for highlighting service as one of your favorite things about the hotel. I will certainly let the General Manager know you were pleased. Also, glad you found the hotel convenient to shopping and sights in San Francisco. We hope you'll return with the family soon.
Happy Travels,
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Good hotel, as usually are the high end business hotel. Spacious room, helpful staff, etc. Likewise, it is pretty standard, so it is not for those looking for a more modern experience. Good cost-benefit, it has a good location. The bath is a little outdates.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKFrizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello HKFrizzo,
Thank you for recognizing us as a good, high end business hotel and awarding us a 4 circle rating. The high rating indicates the satisfaction you outlined with the staff, room and location.

If you are looking for a truly unique and very modern experience, can I recommend you reserve one of our very special Japanese Suites. It is beautifully atypical and I think you'd enjoy it. It's a splurge, but you are worth it! Japanese Suites feature one bedroom with two Queen beds with a sofa, two 42-inch flat-screen televisions and a Japanese Rock Garden and expansive city views. The bathroom features a large deep granite soaking tub and separate shower.

There are also other suite options that might wow you a little more.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit!
Anne Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing