We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #36 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good hotel in San Francisco”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was in San Francisco for the National Association of Realtors Convention at the Mascone Center. I was able to walk there every day from the hotel once I got comfortable shoes. The hotel has beautiful art very nice staff and very spacious and comfortable rooms, very clean. I was able to get an early check in. The concierge was very helpful. I suggest that you walk on O'Farrell St. to access the hotel and stay away from the homeless.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivi486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear vivi86,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Nikko. We are glad you had a great experience with the staff and comfortable and clean room. We are also glad to hear that you received great help from the concierge. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon!
Best Wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,521
    1,372
    431
    133
    90
See reviews for
576
1,330
235
883
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel Nikko has a great location for tourists. Getting around from the hotel is convenient, even during the Bart strike.

The staff in general were friendly, but lacked the enthusiasm for service. Didn't expect someone to hand me a lei, but a smile would have been nice once in awhile.

The room was a corner room and felt a little too cosy for my liking. The bed side lamp was blocked by the couch, which made it redundant. It was tiny for a Deluxe King. Interior design was dated, in my opinion. The pictures on the website are definitely better looking! Well, at least they have a friendly and good looking website.

In room dining was good. Typical hotel breakfast options available with a Japanese twist which was appreciated in the food menu.

I had to give up access to the Fitness Centre, in order to get Wifi included in my rate. I still think Internet should be a free amenity in hotels in this day and age. Disappointed that the Fitness Centre was something that was chargeable as well. Almost feels like you're pinched for every nickel and dime.

Completed a survey at the end of the stay, and got contacted by one of the Rooms staff. Appreciate the follow up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therahrahshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear therahrahshow
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Nikko. Your comments have been passed on to the appropriate departments so we can celebrate as well as learn where we may improve. The fitness center is only $20 per room per stay and is a great value. The small charge may be off putting to some, but the result is that those who use it feel a sense of serenity when working out or relaxing. We have several local members who choos our health facilities because of this feature.
We are constantly renovating our rooms. We hope tht you will return to experience the improvements.

With warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was there for a conference held at the Nikko or I'd never stay here, too expensive. It being pricey I'm thinking it will be super nice and fancy. However, it was fine, nothing special. They had all the important factors: clean, nice amenities, and staff friendly. Annoyed that with the price of the room did not include wifi or the gym. I do have to say the gym/spa were very nice, above average for even a nice hotel, so if you are staying more than one night definitely worth it. Bathroom very dated, but big and clean. My friend got a massage at the spa and it was not very good. However there are plenty of massage places close by that are better and more affordable. The street noise is still pretty loud, even being on the 12th floor.

Room Tip: I'm thinking higher floors, greater than 12th floor, will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 927 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at Nikko several times previously and this visit was sub par. First they stuck us a tiny room with a small bathroom and told us it was the Deluxe King we had reserved. I complained and we moved into a slightly larger room, with a larger bathroom. Not a great start to the trip. Immediately had to contact housekeeping for more hangers, towel and toilet paper. Not feeling the love here. I guess the fact that they offer a price, but then have upcharges for wifi and use of the gym when much lesser hotels include this routinely. Sure you can order an even more expensive room to cover this, but it leaves a very BAD taste. Our room was not clean, there was moldy grout in the shower and the bathtub had hair that never got cleaned during our whole 3 night stay. The wooden furnishing were chipped in several areas. The towels were rough and thread bare. This is not the quality I have come to expect from a hotel of this caliber. It has absolutely gone down hill. My spouse was attending the UCSF medical conference and that was so overcrowded and sub par due to the banquet set up. Not enough plug ins for laptops or phones. Usually pleased with the setup this was by far the worst ever attended. Even the rooms could use USB charging stations. Get into the modern world Nikko. My spouse complained on his course survey about the conditions of the Nikko and will most likely not return if the class is held here again. Time to move to a better hotel. It's to bad I have to write such a negative review, previously have been quite happy here. It's a central location to stay, but so are many other better places. Get your act together and start listening to the reviews or you will definitely lose business.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Planet R
Ouch! Your comments do sting, but rest assured that we are listening and will take the appropriate action with the departments involved. If you are ever dissatisfied with your accommodation please let a Front Office Manager know immediately so that we can make timely corrections. We do not want you you have an unpleasant stay or to leave unhappy.

You are correct that some guests purchase the basic room rate and other guests decide to purchase the amenities which are meaningful to them. Here are some suggestions for your next visit. Wifi is free if you book your reservation through our own website or if you visit our Starbucks off the lobby.

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We hope that you will return to see the improvements.
Sincerely
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Another great visit to the Hotel Nikko with the best trained, friendliest staff I have ever encountered. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet selections at Anzu. This hotel is an excellent location for getting around San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxtrotfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear foxtrotfs,
Thank you for your five circle review. We are so glad that you love our staff so much. We love reading comments like yours. It’s also wonderful that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the location of the hotel. We look forward to having you back for another stay soon!
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Nikko is located in the heart of the city within walking distant to Union Square and Market St. I made a booking on the web site for 4 nights in a deluxe room but was upgraded to a one bed room suite on the upper floor. The room was large with 2 toilets, king sized bed and nice view of the city and beyond. The room was clean with turn down service every night. All staff were very friendly in particular the house keepers who helped us with the luggages to the car on checking out. If only the gym and internet were free, it would have been perfect. Overall a nice hotel and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweedie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Tweedie888,
Thanks for such a great five circle review. We are so glad to hear that you were upgraded to a beautiful room that exceeded your expectations. We are also pleased to hear that you appreciated our wonderful staff and help with your luggage out to the car. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Warm Wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. The hotel gets 5 out of 5 for its location - being close to Union Square and BART. They even give you a nice glass of wine at check in. However, the hotel's lobby is looking a little tired. They did update the interior of the rooms, so the interior of the rooms look nice and modern. However, the size of the room is close to making someone claustrophobic.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank funlover4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear funlover4ever,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It’s great that you loved our centralized location and the modern interior of our guest rooms.. Next time, we suggest booking a Deluxe King Room which is a little bit bigger with more room for you to move around. We hope you come back and visit again!
Best Wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 227 in San Francisco
4,399 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#26 of 227 in San Francisco
244 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
1,093 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Despegar.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing