We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The definition of First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #35 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The definition of First Class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

To review this hotel is a pleasure. It's not often that from booking through check-out, you find a hotel that lives up to the reviews, customer service and comfort that it represents itself to provide.

I requested an upper floor corner view room, and was ushered into one the fit the bill perfectly. It was just roomy enough where I did not feel cramped and possessed the refinements and appointments of a suite at most other hotels. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the bathroom huge, and was laid out like an apartment...it had a formal entry hall that led to a foyer of sorts that opened into the room.

The common areas of the hotel were elegant, well maintained and timeless. Check-in and check-out were painless, and the staff was always checking in via text or emails throughout my 2-night stay to make sure I was being attended to, and to inquire if my needs were being met.

The morning breakfast buffet was without question the best in the city; it offered both Eastern and Western selections.

All in all, I can't say enough good things about my stay, the staff, and the appointments. The only reason I am not giving it 5-stars, and I wish I could give it 4.5, is an unfortunate occurrence that took place at a restaurant (See Crustacean San Francisco review of mine) they recommended. I apprised them of it, and I know they were as dis-concerted as I was. Besides that misstep, the concierge team was incredibly attentive, informative and solicitous. Were it not for that unfortunate dining happenstance, the term Five Star was made for this hotel.

Room Tip: When booking, do so directly through them. They were able to discuss specific rooms and features, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quality_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Quality_7,
Thank you for your outstanding detailed review. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. We love your comments about your room and are so happy that it was exactly what you requested. We also appreciated your comments about the common areas, breakfast buffet, and concierge team. It is too bad that you did not have a flawless experience at a recommended restaurant, but it is great that you were able to appreciate our front desk and concierge staff regardless. Thank you again for your wonderful review. Please come back and visit!
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,523
    1,372
    432
    133
    90
See reviews for
577
1,331
235
884
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Perfect end to the best fortnight of my life!!! Stayed here at the end of our honeymoon last year. The hotel's ambience is great - I loved the style and how contemporary it was. The room was great value for 2 huge beds in a large room with its own corridor! lovely bath and shower facilities. Loved the little touches like free water with limes in the lobby, waterfalls cascading in reception area and pristine appearance. The spa area was luxurious and although we paid a set fee for use it was worth it. This is a business hotel primarily but great for romantic getaways too. Customer service was excellent. Great location in central San Francisco. Didn't try the breakfast so can't comment on this. Quiet room and had a fab sleep. Can't think of any negatives!!!! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Kat L,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel including; the ambience, guest room amenities, spa and health club. It is also wonderful to hear that you felt our customer service was excellent and that our central location was great. We are so glad you were able to have a restful and relaxed visit at the Nikko and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I think this is an extraordinary deal for a large, modern hotel, close to Union Square.

Positives: Comfortable king bed, large window, large TV, well appointed bathroom with tub. We expected a lower floor and were placed on the 15th. Quiet room. Impressive lobby. Engaged and friendly staff.

Negatives & Neutrals: The inexpensive starting rate can quickly accelerate upwards. Everything is extra. Pool, internet, parking, airport shuttle (understandable), fitness center, all at an additional charge for a deluxe king room. On closer examination of the room, it required further attention than what is given by a housekeeping visit. Dark stain on the carpet, black scuff mark on the white desk chair, repaired corner on one of the bedside tables. Room #1503.

Would I return? At a rate of $184.54, I just might come back.

Room Tip: Visit the attached Starbucks for coffee...go around the corner to the enhanced Walgreens for snacks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsbeenawhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear itsbeenawhile

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and congratulations on getting such a great rate during our busy season! I have forwarded your comments on to our Director of Housekeeping so that she may alert the staff to your concerns. WE appreciate your specific comments. They help us to improve our services. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Sincerely
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I've stayed here twice, once with my family on vacation and more recently on business, and I would stay here again. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. My room was clean and comfortable. While located downtown, it's convenient to Powell Street cable car if here on vacation and to ATT park if here for a game.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGMerrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear TGMerill,
Thanks for taking the time to write a great review on your stay. We are thrilled to hear that you were pleased with our staff and the central downtown location. It’s also great to hear that your room was clean and comfortable. We hope that next time you are visiting San Francisco that you will stay with us again!
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The room was generously sized, with a great bathroom. Check-in was smooth and efficient. Room service was quick and of average quality.The view from the room was fab and the location was great: close to Union Square and convenient for public transport. The staff at this hotel were, without exception, polite, pleasant and helpful. However, despite having a great value pre-paid booking, we spent a lot of money on extras: For example, valet parking was over $40 per day and a small bottle of mini-bar water was $5. Nevertheless, we would stay here again and recommend this hotel for its wonderful staff, large rooms and convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear omi1,
Thank you for writing a review on your stay. We loved reading your comments about the smooth check-in process, generously sized rooms, and wonderful staff. It is so great whenever we get such great comments from guests and we truly do value all of them. Although we do charge for amenities, our prices are in line with the other competitive hotel in San Francisco. We are very glad to hear that you will return and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Have absolutely no complaints with this hotel. The staff were so helpful and really catered to all our needs. Conceigne Christopher Wang was excellent. After the first encounter with him he always remembered our names and made us feel welcome.
The waitstaff in the restaurant were so attentive. Especially Mollusca (sp) who was very interested in attending to me and my partner and getting to know us.
I hated to leave the hotel as it was so very nice would highly recommend this hotel as a place for a business trip or vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Richard L,
Thank you for your amazing five circle review. We love reading guests comments that involve specific staff members and we will definitely pass these comments along to the designated departments. It is great to hear that you felt completely taken care of during your stay. We are very eager to have you back again soon.
Best Wishes,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in september. Good Location (careful not to go opposite of union square streets a little rough) Good sized room with big bathroom. Room smelt of old smoke. Bar fridge was bought up on request which was great. Head concierge was very helpful others not as informative. Comfy beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Anna G,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our location, lead concierge, and comfortable beds. It is also wonderful to hear that your request for a mini refrigerator was promptly met. I am sorry to learn about the smoke smell on arrival. We are a non smoking hotel so that is a shame. In the future please let us know while you are with us so we can take corrective action immediately.
We hope you will return for another visit soon!
Warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,420 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#23 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing