We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out "W"s the W”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #34 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hotel Nikko has a W - like vibe so if you don't like the modern feel, don't stay here. That being said, it is located in a good spot by the convention center and Union Square. It is not convenient to walk to Fisherman's Wharf, but that side of the city is easy to get to using public transportation. Staff is very friendly, beds are comfortable and rooms are clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A2freqtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear A2freqtrav,
Thank you for your review of our hotel – we are glad to hear that you chose to stay with us during your visit. One of the best features of our wonderful city is that it’s so easy to get around to landmarks such as the historic Fisherman’s Wharf. We hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,534 - 1,540 of 3,757 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Nikko for 3 nights with my boyfriend for a late birthday celebration. The hotel was ideally situated near Union Square, the cable cars, and a BART station. The deluxe king room was lovely, clean, and spacious with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was huge with enough space to move around. The staff were very nice fromghe front desk to the lovely concierge who helped us book our hop-on-hop-off tour. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhatter_cad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear madhatter_cad,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your birthday celebration, and that we were able to help you with the booking of our sight-seeing tour (one of the many wonderful activities that you can do here!). We thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Warmest Regards,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The location relative to Union Square and the Powell Station on Bart makes this hotel ideally situated for the downtown visitor. Service was exquisite and facilities--including room, restaurants, lobby, and exercise facilities--were extraordinary.

Only one issue to be concerned about. If you require absolute silence in your room to sleep, that may not be possible due to the proximity to local entertainment and clubs. I could hear music and a low beat for most of the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviews_r_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear reviews_r_us,
Thank you for your review and kind words for our hotel. We are glad that you chose to stay with us, and that your visit was an enjoyable one. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was directed to this hotel due to a conference I needed to attend there. It was amazing! It's not just a beautiful hotel because as we know there are millions of them out there. It's the personalized customer service which makes this hotel such a gem! Everyone is so kind and goes out of their way to make your stay the best it could possibly be. I travelled with 2 of my children and nothing was impossible!! They thought of things to assist me before I even knew what we needed!! We were offered a room upgrade as soon as I reached the desk and the room was amazing! 2414 this also allowed us access to free internet service, free breakfast, free daily wine/ beer and cheese reception daily and so much more. The room was huge and allowed all of us enough room to be comfortable which as you know can be hard to find with 4 people sharing an area for 5 days. The food is also exceptional! We ate room service 2 of the 5 nights we stayed just because the food was that wonderful and the city had worn us out with all there is to do! We travel a lot and this hotel sticks out which is hard to do. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!! It is spectacular!!

Room Tip: As high as you can get gives you the best view of the city. Also the last 3 floors offer the extra f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Jess D,
Thank you for your very kind words for our hotel and that your stay with us during your conference was a very enjoyable one. We are glad to hear that our incredible and amazing staff was able to help you and your family out during your stay and deliver a wonderful experience for you all; our staff truly is the heart and soul of this hotel.
We thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you and your family again on your next visit to San Francisco!
Warmest Regards,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Nikko for one night during our San Francisco honeymoon. The location can't be beat - everything is within walking distance, including Union Square, Market and Powell (where the cable cars turn around), the main shopping centre, and even AT&T Park (which is about a 30 minute walk).

Our room was one King bed, and was very spacious and comfortable. We were concerned about the noise, being right in the middle of the city, but it was very quiet considering the location. The bathroom was large and very clean. We were on the 11th floor and had a great view of the city.

The service was impeccable, from the concierge to the main desk staff to the people in the driveway. Everyone was so willing to help and were very pleasant. The parking cost at $45 is steep, but seemingly standard for the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear goldzon,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you chose to stay with us, and that we were able to make your honeymoon stay an enjoyable one. Our wonderful staff is always ready to help guests with anything they need – it’s all part of the service excellence we strive for every day.
Parking can be expensive; however, on your next visit book your room via our website, where we offer a “Stay and Park” package that comes with free valet parking for the duration of your stay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi.
We thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you on your next visit.
Warmest Regards,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel staff and the room were wonderful. I drove from Los Angeles but didn't arrive until after 11:30 pm. Upon check-in the agent told me that all the rooms allocated for king beds were gone. I told her that my companion and I didn't want two queen beds. She apologized and went and upgraded the room to a small suite with a king size bed. No argument. The room was VERY clean and everything worked. The bed was very comfortable. Everyone, from the doormen to the parking valets were polite, helpful and friendly.

The hotel is located in the heart of the city near Union Square, business district and shopping (my companion liked that A LOT!).

I had a wonderful experience and highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Mark G,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Our staff is the heart and soul of this hotel, and it giving guests a wonderful experience is something we strive for every day. We are glad we were able to deliver that experience to you. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If hotels in SF weren't so expensive we'd stay more often-- definitely a huge increase in rates for the summer. Otherwise no complaints. Nice room, beautiful view, excellent service-- don't let their cheesy website fool you. It's a lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gratonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear gratonite,
Thank you for your review of our hotel – we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to San Francisco. We hope to see you again on your next visit!
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,914 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
2,642 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Address: 222 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $181 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to Hotel Nikko in San Francisco, where personalized service meets cutting-edge style. Our hotel is set in the heart of the city, just steps from Union Square shops and restaurants, making it the ideal destination for both business and leisure travel. Our four-diamond rated property features 532 guest rooms and 22 suites, each with pillow-top beds, high-speed internet, and a wealth of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing