We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, pool, bed, service, all perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #36 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, pool, bed, service, all perfect”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If hotels in SF weren't so expensive we'd stay more often-- definitely a huge increase in rates for the summer. Otherwise no complaints. Nice room, beautiful view, excellent service-- don't let their cheesy website fool you. It's a lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gratonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear gratonite,
Thank you for your review of our hotel – we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to San Francisco. We hope to see you again on your next visit!
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    1,379
    434
    133
    93
See reviews for
580
1,346
235
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff was nice and friendly, at all hours. The hotel bar was closed on Monday. The rooms are nice, but the petite rooms are very small. Good for a short business trip! There was also a complimentary glass of wine at check-in! Loved that!

Check around the pricing of this hotel. Expedia sold it to me at $289, but when my boss checked in and asked what the rate was for a Monday-Tuesday, they told him it's only $189. Beware.

Room Tip: The Petite Room really is PETITE. See if you can get an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwincesskrysten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear pwincesskrysten,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, and for choosing to stay with us. Our petite rooms are quite smaller in comparison to our other rooms in our hotel. On your next visit, consider booking a Deluxe King or Imperial room -- both much larger in size than our Petite Queens. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Warmest Regards,

Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was at the Hotel Nikko for a conference. While I did not have an opportunity to use many of the amenities available, I can say that the room was beautiful and extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly, helpful, and very timely! The catering of the conference (breakfast, lunch, and snacks) was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and facing the direction of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Jennifer M,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you chose to stay with us during your conference, and that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Outstanding service. Very quiet-not rushed. Food is outstanding - great breakfast...Japanese and American food for only $17.00 - Best value in town. Great Salmon, sausage etc. Pool is too shallow at one end for lap swimming-needs to be deeper. Otherwise spa is excellent-good lockers, safe etc. Massage is fine. Bar and restaurant peaceful and fun and elegant. Guest appear to be sophisticated and quiet. I chose this hotel over the place where my meeting was held because of my past positive experience here. I was very satisfied. Suggest you book directly with hotel for less expensive rates. No through a third party.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the hotel many times. All rooms are fine! Suites are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortlandRonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear PortlandRonald,

Thank you for your very kind words for our hotel. We are glad to hear that you chose to stay with us again on your visit to San Francisco, and that we were able to make this stay just as enjoyable as the last. We hope to see you again in the future on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Comfort and service abound! Cleanliness outshines any other hotel visit. Great location. Walking distance to premium shopping and dining. Staff members are there to serve with graciousness and a smile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear anne O,
Thank you for your kind words for our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice modern rooms and handy to all the central city. But car park was immensely expensive ! Nice views of surrounding area and we had a real good stay. Rooms are a bit smallish but all amenities you could want.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimcaleserty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Jimcaleserty,
Thank you for your review of our hotel, and for choosing to stay with us. Parking in the city can be expensive, which is why we offer via our website a special “Stay and Park” package that includes complimentary valet parking during your stay, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Also, you might want to consider booking a deluxe king, or Imperial Suite during your next say – both of which are much larger than our Petite Queen rooms. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Spent 3 nights in Nikko during my honeymoon. the hotel satisfied us for the cleaness of its environments, the kindness of its personnel and efficiency of its services. The hotel position is good to start trip in SF; you can reach and visit all the MUST SEE quinte easily and in short time by feet. Excellent aleso for business trip in SF.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gi-n-ndre-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Gi-n-ndre-,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you chose to stay with us during your honeymoon, and that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Warmest Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,549 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 228 in San Francisco
275 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,102 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing