We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overall Good Experience”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Nikko. It was clean, the staff was friendly, and the rooms were comfortable. The gym was very nice as well.

It was convenient that there is a starbucks in the same building as well as both upscale and cheap eateries in the vicinity. The bar staff were extremely helpful and did a great job of interacting and recommending "off the beaten path" types of activities for visitors who didn't want to do the touristy things.

While there is no airport shuttle, the concierge at the hotel hooked me up with a limo that was only 50 bucks which was pretty sweet as well.

There were a few homeless people if I walked 3 or 4 blocks towards the tenderloin district so its somewhat important to know which direction you are walking towards if you don't wanna be panhandled.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Jonathan T,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and that our friendly and knowledgeable staff helped to make your stay an enjoyable one. It’s great being located in a city that offers so many fun and exciting activities, delicious restaurants, and convenient public transportation (which, by the way, goes directly to the airport!). Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to SF!
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,565
    1,384
    435
    133
    93
See reviews for
583
1,356
236
902
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The bell greeted my politely after I stepped out of my cab and collected my Bags. My check in was OK, but when I reached my room the bags had not arrived, I waited for half an hour and I walked down to the reception reminding them of my bags. After fifteen minutes it still did not arrive, and then I called the bell desk and reminded them, it still did not arrive then I had to go down again to reception and then it was in transit to my room, in all it took 45 minutes to reach my room from the Hotel Entrance. I was upset hence, did not tip the Bell. The room was an upgrade they gave me for a charge, with the show they put up they should have given me free. Anyway, I stayed 3 nights and the room was cleaned only once, I had put up the clean my room light on but the room was not cleaned that day. I have attached a picture my trash was overflowing. In all OK, the rooms were good, TV was good but, the messages on the telephone was quite funny each time I pressed the message button it would go the operator, and then she would have to put the messages. Internet was free for me, but it was strange it would disconnect each time my phone or ipad go to sleep. Room was not that spacious for a double, but the bathroom area and the wardrobe was quite spacious and clean fittings. Room had in built safe and the view out of the room was nothing great. Room and hotel was quiet and the rest of the area clean. There is starbucks attached to the hotel and has hotel entrance but is not a 24hours one, opens around 0500 hrs. Did not try the restaurant, there are not much of choice but there are excellent restaurants around the hotel complex, and the hotel is at a very good location and has excellent ground transportation access tram, rail, taxi, bus etc., Great Shopping district around too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Bobjose,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your comments sting a bit, but we have used this as a learning tool. We have notified both bell and housekeeping of these issues so that they can prevent them from happening again. Thank you again for staying with us when you during your visit, and we hope you do consider staying with us again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Warmest Regards,

Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nothing much wrong but nothing much right either. I've stayed in Nikko Hotels in Tokyo and they're all about the same: clean, comfortable, expensive, and charging for everything extra. I upgraded to a Nikko room, which means that I should have had free Internet and access to the pool and fitness room, the latter being worthwhile, the former being a real pain.
The dratted Internet just did not work as it was supposed to and I'm no fool when it comes to things wireless. I finally phoned to the front desk and the person told me to just click the button to "charge" to my hotel room. Yup, and that's what the hotel did. So sorting out my bill when the normal check-out lineup was half an hour long at human times would have taken too long. So I was up at 5 am and went down to the front desk to complain. This problem was fixed but simultaneously the hotel checked me out. I wanted to find out if my plane was on time. NO INTERNET. The maid came bouncing in later when I was half dressed saying "I thought you'd checked out." Sigh.

Room Tip: Beware: your ordinary room does not come with access to the pool, which is really quite nice. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byrl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear byrl12345
Thank you for your comments. The Nikko floor upgrade was a smart choice and a great value. I have alerted the front desk about checking you out early. Thanks to your comments we have prevented this from happening again.
We hope that you will visit us again soon.
With warm regards
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

So over in SF for a convention. get the tip off a work colleague NOT to stay at the Hilton, but use the Hotel across the road - Nikko. He seems a reliable kind of person, the price is similar so off we go. First impressions? Great - very nice guy at the door, full of bonhomie and helpful obsequiesness notwithstanding the fact that i have arrived utterly dishevelled from a transcontinental flight. Roll up to the counter - hmmm. problem here. Internet extra, Gym extra (WTF!), breakfast extra - all adds up to around $60 "extra" - what are you doing for me folks? What about an up-grade to the imperial floor for an extra $50 a night which includes all the above plus a "guest reception" with free drinks from 5-7. Plus a better, roomier suite. hmm, my kind of hotel. Syre enough the room is lovely, large with lots of nice touches. great view of downtown and beyond. everything else turns out great - the gym is HUGE - the pool less so. And hey what? i learned to love that little reception at 5-7 - when you are conventioned out at 5.30, what do you want? a cool Gin and Tonic up in the exclusive Imperial suite guest area. That's right. I really could've got used to this place. One little cheesiness to report. when you do get back from that convention, what does one find? the room lights on, the radio playing god knows what, and some unnecessary chocolates. OK call me eco-perverse, but leaving lights and radio on when no one is home? Not v Japanese. But you'll learn to love this place - and particularly the little 5-7 reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyRousseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear SydneyRousseau,
Thank you for your review of our hotel, and for staying with us during your visit to San Francisco. We are glad that you took advantage of the upgrade to our Imperial floor so that you could take advantage of all the wonderful amenities our hotel has to offer to our guests. Leaving the lights on, music playing, and chocolate is all part of the exceptional service that we strive to provide to our guests – it’s just a little something to help make them feel at home! We thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Nikko for a work conference. The staff were very helpful, the fitness center is great, the beds are amazingly comfortable, and the shower was awesome. My only complaint was that the fitness center and internet cost extra. I will never understand why luxury hotels charge for these things when places like Super 8 will give them to you for free!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Rebecca S,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit, and that you were able to take advantage of all the wonderful amenities our hotel has to offer. As for all of our fees, if you look at the bottom of our website, you can view our FAQ page which actually lets you know all the fees before your stay with us. We thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Warmest Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel Nikko, which frequently has sale rates, is a great place to stay in SF - as a Japanese hotel, it provides a sense of calmness and care which is pretty rare in that area. In terms of pricing other than the room, the internet fee and pool/gym fees are a little steep, but they are optional. If you have an inexpensive cellular connection for about $15/month, you can avoid the internet fee. In terms of comfort and great customer service, the Nikko is terrific.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWinBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear AWinBK,
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that we were able to make your stay here comfortable, and that you enjoyed your time with us. We do offer a deal in regards to internet for those who need access during their stay. If you book directly through our website, you can use the promo code “INTERNET” to book our Internet room package, which is exclusive to our website only, which includes complimentary Wi-Fi during your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Nikko in May 2013, this is a great hotel - the location is perfect for all the dining & shopping downtown. This hotel is modern, nicely decorated, rooms are spacious & clean. The staff are friendly and accomodating. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. Have tried the Anzu restaurant at a prior visit, food was excellent. Would suggest not renting a car, you can get a taxi, trolley or walk to anywhere you need to go.
Also, parking is expensive in the city. A reasonable restaurant nearby- Cafe Mason.

Room Tip: request high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRCHAWAII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear NRCHAWAII,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to San Francisco. There truly as a lovely variety of wonderful food, shopping, and entertainment that this great city has to offer – many within walking distance of our hotel! Parking can definitely be expensive in any big city; however, on your next visit, consider booking our Park and Stay Package via our website, which comes with complimentary parking during your stay. We thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Warmest Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
2,902 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 229 in San Francisco
1,155 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 229 in San Francisco
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing