We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in downtown San Francisco!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #32 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in downtown San Francisco!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Nikko in May 2013, this is a great hotel - the location is perfect for all the dining & shopping downtown. This hotel is modern, nicely decorated, rooms are spacious & clean. The staff are friendly and accomodating. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. Have tried the Anzu restaurant at a prior visit, food was excellent. Would suggest not renting a car, you can get a taxi, trolley or walk to anywhere you need to go.
Also, parking is expensive in the city. A reasonable restaurant nearby- Cafe Mason.

Room Tip: request high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRCHAWAII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear NRCHAWAII,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to San Francisco. There truly as a lovely variety of wonderful food, shopping, and entertainment that this great city has to offer – many within walking distance of our hotel! Parking can definitely be expensive in any big city; however, on your next visit, consider booking our Park and Stay Package via our website, which comes with complimentary parking during your stay. We thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Warmest Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    1,394
    438
    133
    94
See reviews for
590
1,372
237
905
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
1,055 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband attended a convention so I appreciated being within several blocks of Westfield Mall and Union Square. I was pleased that internet was considered part of the convention package otherwise it would have been $15 per day which I think should be part of the price of the hotel. Use of the pool was $20 which we didn't use. The room was spacious with two queen size beds. I had read that the mattresses were so comfortable and they were fine just not like the Westin's Heavenly Beds that I love! We had to ask for two robes which are supposed to be in the rooms. There is a refrigerator stocked but there is a small section that is empty for personal use. The soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotions were good quality. We did not eat at any of their restaurants. There is a Starbucks in the hotel. The parking is truly $50 a day which is really steep. There is a parking lot across the street from the hotel but I am not sure of the rates. I would recommend returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minnesotans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Minnesotans4,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were happy to have you and your husband stay with us during your husband’s convention. Union Square truly has some of the best shopping in the city, and so we are glad you were able to experience that. Parking can be expensive, especially in the city; however, on your next visit, you should consider booking our “Park and Stay Package” on our website, which comes with complimentary parking during your stay, as well as complimentary WiFi. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Warmest Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Oh, so happy. We were here for a conference and I arrived super early from morning flight. They managed to already have my room ready which is so helpful after flying cross country. The room was huge by urban standards, the bed comfortable, and the furnishings fine. The health club was big and well equipped, with a pool big enough for laps. The Fairmont's health club allows outside membership, so sometimes seemed crowded, but this one seemed only to be hotel guests so was never overly busy. The hotel staff was always pleasant. The location is perfect for public transit and restaurants, though next to the bad unpleasant tenderloin district on the west side. This isn't a major ding, though, since you can just avoid walking in that direction.

Room Tip: As in any big city, go high up if you can. It is a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jankirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Jankirsch,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference, and that we were able to make your time here as stress-free and relaxing as possible. Our hotel spa, pool, and gym facilities are exclusive to Nikko guests and members. And our location really is a great feature of our hotel – our guests are within walking distance from great food, fun entertainment, and a wide variety of shopping; there are so many things to do here! We thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The good: clean rooms, feeling of being in a 'top class city hotel', comfortable beds, reasonable 24 hour gym. Pool looks nice but didn't get a chance to use it. Staff are at the standard to be expected.

The mediocre: average bathrooms, 1980s style decor, lift aesthetics do not match rest of the building, why? Reasonable Union Square/Tenderloin location if you like that stuff.

The bad: Extremely expensive. Kept tacking on extra bills at each opportunity. $15 a day per device wifi - easily runs to $45 a day for a laptop, iPad and iPhone. Wifi does not work effectively.
Room service was basically inedible. In the city of organic meat, the burger was a crime.

Stay here if you get a good all inclusive price for your trip, but don't 'pay to stay here'.
You are better off springing for a few extra bucks to get to the Clift. Bearing in mind if you have 3 portable devices, you will run to an extra $50 a day in charges on your room.
Or if you are on a budget, there are far better hotels which don't laden you with extras. My experience was a supposedly cheap trip where I found my self $200 down on wifi alone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy_in_l0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights for a conference. The rooms were quite large, but with an unusual set up. They were clean. The food at the hotel was adequate. The service was adequate. It was in a fantastic location, walking distance to union square, restaurants , etc. there was a one time fee to use the gym facilities- which I have never had to do before when staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_karthika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear s_karthika,
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference. We love being located so close to Union Square, fabulous restaurants, entertainment, and many more wonderful things that this city has to offer. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was one of the best hotels that I have stayed at. While in California for the summer time, my aunt and cousin came to visit. I came down from Concord to stay the night with them at the hotel and was very pleased. The rooms were extremely clean and the view was spectacular! The indoor pool was also amazingly clean and refreshing. Considering that it was pouring cats and dogs outside it was nice to be able to swim in a place like that. I highly recommend this hotel right in the heart of Japan town in San Francisco!

Room Tip: If you like views request a higher level. If you are scared of earthquakes request a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyannE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Ryann E,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We’re happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay with us during their visit to San Francisco. The best part of having an indoor swimming pool is for that very reason you mentioned – to still be able to go for a swim, even during the rain!
We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Francisco.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quad Cities, IA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed her for a meeting and an extra night after.

Hotel room was nice, clean, bed was comfortable.

Service was ok, had luggage delay and there was a little miscommunication with the delivery but it was all worked out.

The hotel bar was nice with a good scotch selection and knowledgeable bartender.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear David M,
Thank you for your review – we are happy to have had you stay with us. We are sorry that there was a delay with your luggage, but we are glad to hear that everything was promptly taken care of. We hope you consider staying with us on your next visit to San Francisco.
Best Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,674 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
2,933 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 229 in San Francisco
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#24 of 229 in San Francisco
1,206 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 229 in San Francisco
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to Hotel Nikko in San Francisco, where personalized service meets cutting-edge style. Our hotel is set in the heart of the city, just steps from Union Square shops and restaurants, making it the ideal destination for both business and leisure travel. Our four-diamond rated property features 532 guest rooms and 22 suites, each with pillow-top beds, high-speed internet, and a wealth of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing