We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute Booking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #35 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Last minute Booking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had to book last minute as schedule changed and came to San Francisco. Booked online, Rate was really good. Go to hotel extremely nice and professional front desk staff. Room was excellent for the price booked. Had some fantastic "designer" drinks at the lobby bar. The bartender also gave me some truly great suggestions on where to go the next few days. Overall hotel was top notch and had I not had other hotel paid for would have stayed here entire stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LVH1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear LVH1966,
Thank you for your review. It is nice words like yours that make us grateful. We hope you had a nice time in San Francisco, and we cannot wait to have you back at the Nikko.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,513
    1,368
    431
    133
    89
See reviews for
574
1,325
235
878
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great Location EVERYTHIING close by, theatre, shopping, transportation.
Staff especiall concierge were very helpful
Nice clean hotell! Loved the lounge...really pretty decor.
lemon and cucumber water in lobby a nice touch.

Room Tip: like them on facebook and you can get complimentary internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrenJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear BrenJay,
I am so glad that you enjoyed our great location for visiting downtown and Union Square. The concierge team is awesome connecting our guests with the best events and attractions. There’s so much to do in this city, and we cannot wait for you to come back!
Thank you for the shout out regarding Facebook. I am sure that his will be a valuable tip for future guests!

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

A great hotel in a great location with a very reliable staff.

The rooms themselves are decent. If you just want a clean room and you are going to basically just be sleeping there, it's fine. I got a petite queen and while the space was fine for one person, it would have been a bit cramped for two. Also - there were no plugs that were conveniently placed near the nightstand or desk. I had to either unplug lamps or clocks or plug all of the electronics in in the bathroom or the middle of the room. The bed linens were fresh and clean, but a heavier duvet or blanket in the closet would have been nice. Visiting in March and they had bed linens that I would have expected in August.

Amenities/Gym are really nice - but $20 a day to use the gym is ridiculous considering other places offer just as nice of a gym at no additional cost. The adjoining restaurants and bars are excellent as well.

So if you're just looking for a reasonable place to stay with great service and won't be spending much time in the hotel, Nikko is ideal. If you need some space and really like some amenities, Nikko is still a great hotel, but be prepared to pay for it and look for the hidden fees and upcharges.

All in all, a great stay and I'll keep in on my list when I return as I do often.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanChicagoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear ChiTraveller_11
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The petite queen rooms are the smallest room in the hotel and are designed for a maximum of two guests. All of our charges are noted on the FAQ page of the website. There are always options of purchasing a room at the most economical price, or of adding different amenities. This pricing structure allows guests to pay for only the amenities that they will use and not for others.
We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

As with the previous stay, the service was excellent. What made this one better was the room. I was staying for a conference and got the group rate on a standard room once again but this room was much bigger. The entryway was much more comfortable and there was more than enough room around both queen-size beds. The bathroom was also very spacious. There were a few negatives. Apparently, there was an error in the wiring in my room and the tv could only be turned on if the light switch was on. I called and they sent an engineer, really nice guy too, who tried to fix it but was unable to do so at the moment. It wasn't a big deal so I stayed in the room. Lastly, the prices on the room service menu are what you would expect at a hotel but all of the additional fees related to it seemed high to me. It literally almost doubled the price. They even include a 20% gratuity which is mandatory on the ticket. I should to be able to decide my own gratuity. On top of this, there is a tip line below the subtotal so people can even add more gratuity if you didn't notice it was already included. Also, you tend to be “forced” to add the extra tip since the server is right there staring you and you don't want to seem cheap. I added it since it was a business trip and it would be expensed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel but things to note:
1. To use the hotel gym there is an additional charge per person
2. Room service fees, taxes and grats alone can exceed the actual food cost! Better if you went to the restaurant in the hotel or surrounding area which has lots of great restaurants at more reasonable prices.
3. Get a room as high up as possible because the walls are very thin and you can hear the street noise all night!

Otherwise no problems. Concierge staff and bell staff are excellent and provide friendly advice. The hotel is also great at responding and communicating with you via twitter @hotelnikko_sf

It is in a fantastic location an close to many stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

well located, clean and smart. Few words to summarize my experience at Nikko SF.
It's a bit expensive but it worth the money.
My room 2114, at 21st floor, was very good.
Union Square and Market Str. are just around the corner.

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk from Market St. Local transportation (Bart, Muni and street car), restaurants, shopping, ect are easily accessible. Starbucks connected to lobby. Comfortable rooms. Excellent concierge and front desk service.

Helpful?
1 Thank travelerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear travelerx2,
We’re glad you enjoyed the convenience of staying at the Nikko. WE really are centrally located which is helpful to the business traveler. Please come back for a visit soon.
With warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#36 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#27 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing