We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service. Cool vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #36 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service. Cool vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Nikko for two nights this week and had a great time. The service was very attentive and accommodating . Glass of wine at check in, knowledgeable concierge , efficient,friendly front desk, and sharp bell staff.
The atmosphere is pretty cool with a modern feel. The buffet breakfast was excellent, the gym and locker rooms well equipped, small but nicely appointed room and the rate was a value. You could walk almost anywhere and transportation was easily accessed. We were comfortable without a car.
My only suggestion to the now non smoking hotel would be to work on getting that slight reminder of cigarette smell leftover from the past from the former smoking rooms. It was slight but present.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPLII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear RPLII,
We’re glad you enjoyed our cool vibe as well as the concierge and front office teams. In the future, please let us know of any issue during your stay so that we may insure that you are satisfied. It is important to us to hear of things upon which we may improve. I have forwarded on your comments to the Housekeeping Department so that they will be sensitive to any cigarette smell.

We appreciate your comments they help us to improve our operation.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,522
    1,372
    432
    133
    90
See reviews for
577
1,331
235
883
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Have stayed twice at this property and have always been pleased with the room, service, and value. The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. Beds are very high high quality. The location adjacent to the Tenderloin is both good and bad. Good because you have easy access to shopping in Union Square, restaurants, and the Powell St Cable Car. Bad in that like any major city you have a number of harmless down-and-outers who approach you for spare change. Personally am not bothered by this and would stay at the Nikko again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoulderScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Nikko for 3 nights and it was a lovely experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful and did their utmost to ensure that our time there was flawless.

The location was great - close to Union Square and many good restaurants. We liked that Starbucks was downstairs and took advantage of the free internet!

The room itself was very clean and, more importantly, the bed was comfortable! Bathroom had all the amenities we required and if we needed anything, a quick call and it was provided without hesitation.

All in all I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Nikko - if I was to return to San Fran, i will definitely stay here again and enjoy the warm hospitality of this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngiePang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear AngiePang,
Thank you for your review and kind words. I’m sure your review will be helpful to our future customers. The best compliment is that you will return the next time you find yourself in San Francisco. We’re very glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for a week and had a good deal on a last-minute booking for a room with king bed. Overall I'd say it was great and I enjoyed staying there. The photos of this hotel that I've seen on booking websites were an accurate representation of the room I stayed in. The room was really large with a separate dressing/makeup area just outside the bathroom and from the 19th floor there was a view of the city towards Union Square. I loved that the shower and tub were separate. It was well insulated enough that I couldn't hear the people in the rooms next door (I've found this to be a problem with some older hotels) but could hear noise from the hallway through the door (but it's not the hotel's fault that some guests are inconsiderate and make a racket at 2am). I used the fitness center a few times, I liked that it was an optional extra (only $20 for the whole stay) so I wouldn't be paying for something I didn't use. It was clean, uncrowded, had a good range of equipment and the pool was suitable for swimming laps. Did not use room service or mini-bar, both quite expensive but that's the same in pretty much any hotel so no complaints there. Room was clean and well maintained and all the staff were really friendly.
Location was excellent, walking distance to Union Square and handy to public transport on Market Street (unless you've got a lot of luggage it's close enough to the Powell St station to take BART to/from the airport). The valet parking is really expensive (something like $54/day) but there's a parking building across the road that's a lot cheaper for overnight parking and seemed safe to me - would recommend using that instead.
My only gripes (which may not apply to everyone) were 1. the high cost of internet ($17/24h or $33 for 72h PER DEVICE) - I would be OK with paying for internet if it were per room, but per device is excessive! - 2. not enough TV channels and 3. couldn't find the CD player that hotels.com said would be in the room (an ipod dock would be preferable).

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor if possible - better views and less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear flyingmonkey,

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Nikko. Your view may be helpful to others in search of a hotel in this wonderful city. We especially like your comments regarding the staff. Ipod docks have been added to most rooms and we will led a charger to guests. We hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is part of JAL group. As my JAL coupons go expired soon, decided to use those for a date night in SF with my fiance. Things started great, nice staff, house wine at check-in, free upgrade to imperial level, clean room. All these are meeting if not exceeding my expectation.

However, the down side: room is small, but typical in the city anyways. Street noise can be clearly heard from 22nd floor, the building probably needs some sound proof improvement. Worst foreign currency exchange rate I've ever seen: average low rate everywhere else I've been to is at about 10% lower than the bank rate, Nikko was 20-30% lower. Unfortunately I had no choice but to redeem my JAL coupons with Nikko, and the coupons were issued in JPY. Highly recommend not to get JAL coupon if you're not planning on redeeming it in Japan.

Inconsistent communication was another disappointing part during our stay. (This issue is now resolved.) To enhance the experience, I paid extra to get breakfast for 2. Not till we checked out, we were told that we could have ordered room service using the credit, instead of missing our breakfast, as we were told the 1st couple times we called, when the time was cutting close to the hotel restaurant closing time. And since we've already checked out, the staff was not willing to offer the credit; we had to pay for the service we didn't receive. I wrote email to the hotel twice and finally got a positive response from the hotel front desk manager. She was able to offer the breakfast for free if we are going to stay with Nikko again. A hooray for her can do attitude!

I would give Nikko another shot to see if it'd be worth a 4 star rating instead.

Room Tip: high floor for reduced street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Junyilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

On odd location for such an upscale hotel as it seems to border the tenderloin ("it ain't so tender"). But it is also close to great shopping and restaurants. Check in was easy and staff was very accommodating. The gym/pool was a selling point and generally a nice place to relax. Rooms were large with beautiful views and comfortable beds. I appreciated the doorbell too which cut down on hallway noise. Breakfast was TERRIFIC! However, for >$300 a night, I think we will try out other options next time we are in town to see how they compare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear feex_1,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy Union Square shopping as well as the local restaurants. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, service and culinary team. Be sure to check hotelnikkosf.com for news on coming events as well as discounts.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Surprisingly great hotel that is very central but tucked away from the maddening crowd. Very beautifully presented lobby and staff. Self-serve drinking water available at the lobby 24/7. Sipping a glass of wine while checking in. Maki made us feel welcome and very courteous. She gave us the option to upgrade our room, and we readily accepted it - it was well worth it!
Concierge was exceptional with the info we needed.

The room was spacious and the view divine. The bathroom was just as spacious with great amenities - Gilchrist & Soames. Just be aware of the minibar, lifting things automatically charges your room for the item. Clearing it up with reception is no problem tho.

Lobby bar was really nice. Club Lounge was a heaven sent. Continental breakfast was of a good selection. It turns into a bar-type at night with a selection of beer, wines, soft drinks, etc. It also comes with food - fries, fried chicken, selection of cheeses & crackers.

A truly wonderful stay in Frisco!

Room Tip: upgrade to Imperial and the benefits outweighs the cost (that is if you take advantage of the servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesorlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear lesorlem,
Thank you for your review and kind words regarding our staff. We have passed your remarks on to Maki and the Concierge Team. You have made their day! Your review will be very helpful to future customers. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at the Nikko. Be sure to check hotelnikkosf.com for great deals. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#19 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing