We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Foleys Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Fusion(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Herbert Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Abri(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Villa Florence(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Handlery Union Square Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,863)
Filter reviews
3,863 results
Traveler rating
1,714
1,459
454
140
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,714
1,459
454
140
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanzu restaurantimperial floorpetite queenimperial clubunion squarehealth clubindoor poolper nightfitness centertenderloinan upgradebusiness centerhomeless peoplemini barcable carmarket streetupon check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,709 - 1,714 of 3,863 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

On odd location for such an upscale hotel as it seems to border the tenderloin ("it ain't so tender"). But it is also close to great shopping and restaurants. Check in was easy and staff was very accommodating. The gym/pool was a selling point and generally a nice place to relax. Rooms were large with beautiful views and comfortable beds. I appreciated the doorbell too which cut down on hallway noise. Breakfast was TERRIFIC! However, for >$300 a night, I think we will try out other options next time we are in town to see how they compare.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear feex_1,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy Union Square shopping as well as the local restaurants. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, service and culinary team. Be sure to check hotelnikkosf.com for news on coming events as well as discounts.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Surprisingly great hotel that is very central but tucked away from the maddening crowd. Very beautifully presented lobby and staff. Self-serve drinking water available at the lobby 24/7. Sipping a glass of wine while checking in. Maki made us feel welcome and very courteous. She gave us the option to upgrade our room, and we readily accepted it - it was well worth it!
Concierge was exceptional with the info we needed.

The room was spacious and the view divine. The bathroom was just as spacious with great amenities - Gilchrist & Soames. Just be aware of the minibar, lifting things automatically charges your room for the item. Clearing it up with reception is no problem tho.

Lobby bar was really nice. Club Lounge was a heaven sent. Continental breakfast was of a good selection. It turns into a bar-type at night with a selection of beer, wines, soft drinks, etc. It also comes with food - fries, fried chicken, selection of cheeses & crackers.

A truly wonderful stay in Frisco!

Room Tip: upgrade to Imperial and the benefits outweighs the cost (that is if you take advantage of the services on offer)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesorlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear lesorlem,
Thank you for your review and kind words regarding our staff. We have passed your remarks on to Maki and the Concierge Team. You have made their day! Your review will be very helpful to future customers. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at the Nikko. Be sure to check hotelnikkosf.com for great deals. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved it. The breakfast options were great, the staff was very friendly, and the location-- you just can't beat it! Also, the pool and fitness room are more than adequate ($20 a day).

Downsides: The room I was in (corner room queen) had this hallway light that wasn't connected to the rest of the room lights. When I wanted to go to sleep, they had a convenient little button that would turn off the room lights. It shut off every light EXCEPT the hallway light! It was annoying, but small thing in the overall stay.

The parking is somehow ridiculously hard to get to and that's because if you're coming from out of town, it isn't located on Mason Street. I saw a sign to park at Nikko and somehow I ended up in Parc 55. Valet parking is $45. Coming from Boston, not phased.

Also, I was on the 7th floor and I could hear the noise from the street plain as day. There's not much you can do, but I eventually went to sleep. Overall, great experience, especially with Union Square within walking distance !

Room Tip: I don't know if there's a room away from the street-- you can hear pretty much everything. Otherwise, great room, perfect location.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Michelle L.
Thank you for your recent comments. I will have our engineers resolve the issue regarding lighting in your room. Please contact me with your room number or the name of your reservation. The best address to use for our valet parking entrance is 180 Ellis Street. Thank you for your comments. I am sure they will be of benefit to future guests.

Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is so good, you can walk from there to the beautiful Union Square, shoppings, restaurants, and bars. The hotel is average, the staff is cold and rude. The rooms are very simple, bed average, and cleanliness is just good. Not outstanding in any sense. This hotel architecture in the lobby its pretty, but all that marble in the pictures it's so stained. Look like they're not giving good maintenance.

Room Tip: Corner rooms. Awesome views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ama12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Ama12,
Thank you for your review. Our location in the heart of Union Square is ideal, and allows for convenient in touring of this wonderful city. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at the Nikko and hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here in February. Convenient location to shopping, union square and restaurants. Spa and gym services were perfect. Beds were comfortable and overall stay was pleasant. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 14th floor, no street noise. There is a convention floor around floor 4.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msjem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Outlet Sales and Marketing Manager at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Msjem00,
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Nikko. The spa and gym are so great that locals pay a monthly membership just to be able to use them! Please come back soon!
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews