We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short break”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Lovely hotel, great location, friendly staff. The rooms were quite small but no smaller than what you would expect from a city centre hotel. My only negative was that we had to pay extra to use the spa and gym facillities which I would have expected to be included in a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurapants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Laurapants1,
Thank you for your feedback. The hotel allows each guests to choose which amenities they wish to include in their stay. This keeps room rates lower and you only pay for the items you wish to utilize. The spa and gym are free of charge when you book any of the suites.
We hope you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,538
    1,377
    432
    133
    92
See reviews for
579
1,341
235
891
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, California, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you want to stay near Union Square and avoid Market street and the tenderloin the Hotel Nikko is perfect. Walking distance to union square, all the good stores. The rooms are very large and very nicely done and roomy. The hotel is top notch neat and clean. Service can be hit and miss. they are all polite and so forth, but seems they were training lots of folks (during Thanksgiving weekend) and at times were talking among themselves versus helping customers. Valet service is expensive but very efficient and quick. they have a night club in the lobby, didn't go but it looked happening. There is a Starbucks attached to the lobby area which is great but very very busy, there is another across the street - go there. A nice stay if visiting SF or just getting away for the weekend. The use of the gym is a little high but the swimming pool i since.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear FCtraveler,
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the time you took in providing a positive feedback for us and potential travelers like you.
Please feel free to stay in touch with us through facebook.com/hotelnikko
We look forward to welcoming you.
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The lobby is very nice, high tech modern with Oriental and Japanese influences. The staff including check in , the concierge and the valet parking staff were professional and friendly as well. Definitely a business oriented environment. The rooms are starting to show some wear ,especially the carpeting. The BIG problem in our last two visits was the room air conditioners. It has been a warm Fall in SF. The room was hot and stuffy so we set the air to 69 degrees this helped very little,we set it to 67 degrees not much better. The thermostat sets down to 65 degrees max. We tried that. The problem is there is no thermometer on the unit and we could not tell if the was working . It kept shutting off as if it reached cool temperature, but was not cool in the room. This happened all night as it cooled the room somewhat, then shut off! leaving us sweltering and very uncomfortable. On and off like this all night,letting the room get hot and stuffy. It was not a good night's rest. This is the second room that did this to us . Our last visit, I just wrote it off as dealing with a hot room stuffy for a night, this time I see a pattern in the heating /cooling system that need to be addressed. Since it is a high rise with no opening windows,you are at the mercy of the canned air. For this reason I will stay elsewhere in San Francisco. That is why I rated it just overall average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I checked into the Hotel Nikko with a friend before Thanksgiving. I was incredibly turned off and disappointed by the service I received at the hotel. I was really happy when we left.

Prior to checking in, this hotel lost my reservation that I made on a third party travel website. After checking in after much hassle, we were brought to our room that only had a single queen size bed. I explained to the front desk staff this was not what I had booked. They "solved" the problem by charging me $40 for a room upgrade so we could have two beds, even though I booked a room with two beds in the first place. I felt I got ripped off on purpose. The staff didn't help me feel satisfied.

This hotel will charge you for everything. They charge you $20 to use the fitness area/pool. To use the wifi there is a charge. There is a $49 daily parking charge, which is a complete rip off for the area. I'd recommend you park in the self-park garage kitty corner from the hotel. It's $30 dollars for over night parking.

I also want to warn travelers, the hotel is in a shady neighborhood in San Francisco. I wouldn't leave the property late at night. On the bright side, it is close to Union Square where shopping is plentiful. It's a safe walk to Union Square during the day.

The hotel itself is a nice facility. I really liked our room. Our beds were plush and very comfortable. I loved the bathroom with the separate tub and shower. The tub was incredible. It was large and had a shower attachment.

I don't think I'll be staying here again. Like I said, I was happy to leave. The front desk clerk was rude to me during check out even.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a deluxe room. A standard room is a single QUEEN bed. NOT two Queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newtorontonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

we stayed there the weekend before to see Bobby Caldwell in The Razz Room....GREAT. everything was so perfect , we cancelled our other hotel reservations for the following weekend at another hotel and booked the nikko... we put in a request for same corner room we had last visit.... guess what we checked in and had the same room as requested. Customer Service is excellent. I continue to tell everyone that that was the best service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear anavan,
It’s always such a pleasure to read positive reviews. Thank you for taking your time in spreading the word verbally and electronically. It means a lot to us.
We’re also happy to hear that your experience with us was “perfect.”
We look forward to welcoming you again.
In the meantime, feel free to keep in touch with us on facebook.com/hotelnikko
Warm regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance and overall rooms.

The location is stellar, and you are in the middle of Union Square. But the rooms were excellent, clean and fresh. The bedding was fantastic, mini bar was something to be stood by, and overall a very peaceful and serene environment.

The lobby has a jazz club that I didn't go to, but it seemed to have a good following when I observed. Overall, I would recommend staying here for any reason.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieAnnGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear NatalieAnnGarcia,
Thank you for your recent review. We’re very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can’t agree with you more on the ambiance.
Thank you once again.
Specials, city deals, and events are found through facebook.com/hotelnikko
Sincerely,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Nikko is an excellent hotel. I enjoyed my stay bar a few niggles that were promptly and professionally resolved. I don't know when the rooms were refurbished by my rooms on the imperial club floor looked like new. OK there was a stain on the carpet of one of the two rooms I had but I guess this things happen to even new rooms. I had a king and a 2 queen room and the 2 queen room seemed more spacious. I was billed $40 more per night for the 2 queen room but after explaining to the duty manager Corinne, this was resolved immediately as she clarified that room rates are the same for king and double queen. I booked through expedia and although it said buffet breakfast, I was told at checkin that it was only for one person per room - my booking from expedia didn't say that so the manager graciously allowed our family of 3 adults and 2 kids to have the buffet breakfast. I recommend breakfasting at ANZU - the buffet is great. The free complimentary continental breakfast at the imperial lounge is nothing compared (but good for a quick bit if you need to rush). The location is superb - near the cable car at powell and all the shopping at Union square and Westfield. The thanksgiving weekend shopping is very good - almost all shops having some form of discount. Did not use the pool so cannot comment on pool and gym. Will want to stay here next time I'm in SF.

Room Tip: Go for the imperial club rooms if you can - the buffet breakfast and free internet are useful extras...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowbunny35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear snowbunny35,
Thank you for your recent review. We’re very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. At Hotel Nikko, we strive to provide the best service to our guests; we’re glad your problems were resolved promptly and professionally. As for the stain on the carpet, I’ll be sure it is taken care of.
Overall, it’s a pleasure to read a positive review.
Thank you again.
Regards,
Marcia Striffeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,489 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#20 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing