We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #34 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Alameda, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful weekend getaway!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The service was excellent and the location perfect. Walked to the theater in the evening. The next day walked through Union Square for some shopping, North Beach for delicious coffee, pastries, and deli, and Chinatown for sightseeing. Then back to a luxurious room on one of the Imperial Floors with a spectacular view and a very comfortable night's rest. A wonderful place to stay when visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleanMomAlameda_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    1,379
    434
    133
    93
See reviews for
580
1,346
235
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our Jetsetter rate was a bit pricey, but because it was all-inclusive, we signed on & paid up. We have not been disappointed. The rate included a two hour afternoon reception, full buffet breakfast, use of the exercise room, Internet, and all with a wonderfully-appointed room on the 22nd floor. Great location, everything about the place works for us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCP_Easton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed here for 3 days for a business conference. This was my first visit to SF, so I'm not up on how much things normally cost. Our group rate was 199 per night for a "Petite Queen" room. I found the room to be pretty small, I bumped into the furniture a lot and I was traveling by myself. The room might be too small for two people to move around comfortably. However, the food at the Rrazz room and service in general were impeccable. The hotel is within walking distance of good restaurants and the Moscone Center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holicow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Holicow,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco. We appreciate the time you took to write about your experience.

If on your next visit to San Francisco, you are traveling with a companion, please consider our Deluxe Room category (400 Sq Ft), which is compared to the Petite Queen (270 Sq Ft). Although both rooms can accommodate two guests, the size difference is substantial.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Rrazz room and invite you to try the food in ANZU the next time you are here! Thank you again for taking the time to comment about your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is located right in the heart near Union Square. Room size is good and pretty comforatble. Located at just a minute walk from the Main Street for shopping eating. The hotels in this area are anyways very expensive, considering that this is a really good bet. Lot of places to shop and eat (including a couple of Indian Restaurants serving really good food). My take - go for it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

If you are going to San Francisco, I'd suggest the HOTEL NIKKO and especially one of the Imperial Rooms. Not only is it perfectly located on Mason..minutes from Market & Powell (cable car, shops, Westfield Shopping Centre) but it is a beautiful clean and wonderfully run hotel. Very welcoming and very comfortable. Theres a Starbucks adjoining it for that late night cofee to take back to your room.
For a few dollars more, the Imperial Room gives you access to the Imperial Club Room where there is a lovely breakfast selection each morning with internet and all the newspapers of the day. Around 5pm there is a wine & cheese & hot hor d'ouves served. Its on the 23rd floor with a magnificent view and tthe people in charge cater to your every need. I usually pick up my lunch from the buffet to take with me.
There's also a nightclub in the hotel where there are an array of visiting performers. Also a beautiful restaurant for fine dining. For Imperial Room members you will get chits for a free breakfast there if you choose.
The hotel is immaculate, the staff are extremely friendly & helpful. I asked for my room to be made up every day before noon. Granted!!
Also while you are out, they will make up the bed, leave fine chocolates or green tea mints and turn on soft music.

It's part of My San Francisco experience whenever I go!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dude49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Exceptional location... fantastic rooms with forever views. You can walk to all areas or jump on the trolley just down the street. Extremely helpful staff (all of them) whom exceeded all expectations. We have found our SF home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank assetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkoGal, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Assetre,

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco! We appreciate the time you took to share with us about your experience.

We are delighted to find that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and are honored to be your “SF home away from home.” Please let us know the next time you’re in the city, and we’d gladly take care of you! You get stay in touch with us at facebook.com/hotelnikko.

Sincerely,

Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We spent 4 nights in San Francisco at the Nikko. It's location is excellent - close to Union Square, cable cars etc. We had a deluxe king room which meant we were on the 16th floor. This was great as we got no noise from the surrounding (very busy) streets. Lower rooms could possibly be quite noisy.
We didn't eat in the hotel at all as it was quite expensive and there are plenty of restaurants close by.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,547 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#17 of 228 in San Francisco
275 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 228 in San Francisco
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,099 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing