We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Monarch Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$203
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$239
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$338
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$217
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$418
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$237
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$215
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveler rating
24
86
166
66
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
86
166
66
95
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 437 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We have been here for a week in July. We had a room overlooking Geary street on the 5th floor ... The room had the basic necessities ... Nothing posh but it was ok and very affordable ... The hotel is located in a great location.... It's in walking distance to union square about 5-7 minutes walk and it's gives you some time to enjoy complimentary coffee from the hotel as you walk .The outlook of the hotel is a bit dated especially with the " pull to open " elevator doors, paint color, the lobby and the squeaky floors but if you are looking for something in the 100 per night and we ease of access to all the prime locations and just need a hotel to crash at night then this is your pick .

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank VeltisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and we were a bit worried about arriving.....but really shouldnt have been. We found a 24hr parking garage up the road (Japan Garage) and it cost us $61 for our stay. YES the area is rough, and after walking around the city, it's not the worst! A lot of homeless, but they dont bother you, we walked from the hotel to Union Sq and back several times, sometimes late at night and never had any trouble. I would NOT recommend to a lone traveller as personally I might have felt scared on my own. Our room was lovely....no air con, but didn't need it. Free coffee in reception, and it was a great price for San Francisco. Only complaints.....One of the guys on reception was a bit rude! And although the rooms were clean, the stairs and halls weren't. We took cheesecake back to our room one night after eating at the cheesecake factory and left the bag and trays in our bin. The following day that bag was laid in the hallway! And was still there when we left.....very strange! Despite these things I would stay here again if the price was right.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is within walking distance to all the sight seeing and attractions. Decent cafés and restaurants surround but is kind of in a sketchy part of town especially after 3pm to be exact. They didn't have a key to the vault and said they would have a key made the next day...they did not keep their word. Shower was clogged and DID NOT drain our entire stay they had to keep unclogging it but never actually fixed the problem. For $200/night I expect to at least have a working bathroom and the standard equipment that comes with the stay. Also the plug in was broken so we couldn't charge both cell phones at once and the valet dented our car.

Room Tip: Room 112 sucked the big one.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cassidee_rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The staff was not very friendly. Zero parking available. You had to pay 48.00 to park your car. Nothing like gun shots right outside to make you feel safe. We will not stay there again. Just awful!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unhappycamper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Bad neighborhood, far from everything, and expensive compared to the quality of the hotel. The good thing is there are good resturants in the tenderloin area a bit south of the hotel. My advice is to find another hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Erland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews