We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No surprises...clean room, comfy bed, nice shower & towels, friendly staff, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #85 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the King George. After searching many hotels for good rates in Union Square, we were lucky to get two non-smoking queen rooms at a multiple stay discount. Unfortunately we had missed out on the $99.00 special they had. Most of the other trip advisor comments are correct...and yes Ann at reception is especially bubbly and nice. Yes, the elevator is slow and old (we did not experience any real inconvenience), the rooms are basic and small but not cramped. We found the place very clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed the great shower pressure and soft thick towels! The hotel was fully booked, but you could not tell. We got "quiet" rooms on the 7th floor off the main street, but the walls are pretty thin. I am a light sleeper, but I was okay. When we phoned our friends in the next room, you could hear their phone ringing, and thankfully we didn't have any partiers on our floor. We took the BART from the airport to the hotel for $8.10. I was disappointed that the BART smells of urine (the car we were on anyways) with stains on the carpet (yes carpet?) and seats...yuck. The four of us took a town car back that the hotel arranged for $45.00...worth it! So if you are looking for a value priced hotel in a good Union Square location, don't hesitate to book The King George.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel154982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,507 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

Location, location, location and great staff. Made reservation with charming Ann and she was there with a big smile and more charm when we checked in and each time we saw her after that (also doesn't hurt she's a real looker). Hotel is no frills with small rooms but it is clean and in downtown San Fran what else do you need. A block from shops, and walking distance to Chinatown. Had a great meal at Oriental Pearl thanks to advice from concierge who also hooked us up with trolly information to Fisherman's Wharf (watch out Cable Car waits are very long). Location superb, staff excellent, hotel worth a return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monteclearblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This was our trip to SF to run the marathon and we planned our trip 8 months in advance. My daughter had chosen the Hotel Griffon because of the location to the start the race being a block away and our rental car across the street. The night before we left, the Hotel Griffon called because they overbooked and asked us to switch us to Hotel King George, their "sister hotel" which was 1 mile away. Divinia, the hotel manager, specified we would be upgraded to the executive suite. Yet the room was a complete downgrade from the hotel and when asked, King George hotel doesn't even have an executive suite. We had a tiny room with a 2ft by 2ft window which overlooked garbage. Our reservation for two queen beds became one queen bed with questionable sheets. Thanks Hotel Griffon!
Even though transportation was provided to and from the race, Hotel Griffon refused to fulfill their obligation of our transportation for our rental car and left us to pay out of pocket knowing we had no option because we had to pick up our car by a certain time. We would never recommend either the King George or Hotel Griffon for anyones's stay in SF.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boater22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2010

Whilst it is always hard to accept constructive criticism of our service and hotels we appreciate receiving it as it allows us to step back and monitor how we can better improve upon the management of certain situations. There are always unforeseen circumstances, which at times may lead to a guest relocation, we are very sensitive to this and endeavor to ensure that there is as little inconvenience as possible experienced by the guest. The room provided for you at our sister property the King George Hotel was located on the Executive Floor and due the historical nature of the building the size of guest rooms may vary which in this instance lead to the hotel not meeting your expectations; we sincerely apologize!

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to San Francisco and Greystone Hotels to experience either the Hotel Griffon or Inn at Union Square so we can and demonstrate that we do offer exceptional value, quality and service. Please do not hesitate to contact me so that I may personally take care of you reservation.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

It's a pretty basic budget hotel, but the location is very good.

Good:
- Location
- Cheaper than everything else in the neighborhood
- Clean for this price range
- Complimentary wifi

Bad:
- Windows not great, do let in some noise
- No room service

If they are still the cheapest in the area for the next meeting I have in San Francisco, I'll probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobx11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

King George Hotel has nice location and several 24hr diners close by. The not so nice features are a single slow elevator, jalousie windows that let in cold air and outside noises including dog barking and lots of sirens, room was close to elevator so could hear people talking while waiting for slow elevator, smells from diner below entered room, and after leaving a tip for the cleaning staff on desk, quarters were missing from night stand. Overall not a bad hotel, but it should be listed as a 2-Star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoulCataloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you took to write a review of our property and which we take very seriously. Our historic downtown Union Square hotel is in a very popular and well-desired neighborhood for many San Francisco visitors. Our guests enjoy amenities such as a 24-hour concierge, free wifi, eco-bath toiletries, comfortable rooms and a superb location that make us an excellent value in Union Square. Unfortunately, as in many busy cities, some nights are louder than others and apologies that during your visit you were inconvenienced by noise. We strive to ensure that all of our guests experience exceptional service, and we hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to San Francisco and let us deliver on that message we stand by.

Kind Regards and Happy Travels,
King George Hotel Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Spent half a week at this hotel in March and was treated quite well by the staff and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were on the small side but were well appointed and clean. The wine/beer only bar is open for a very short time in the evening but the hotel's Mission District location has many options for night life and dining. Having 3 24 hour diners within a block is a nice bonus for San Francisco who's restaurants are notorious for closing fairly early. Over all, a great value and location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Da-Raz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

One of the best experiences my wife and I have had, and although we don’t travel and write reviews for a living, we have stayed at places all over the world (Barcelona, London, Chicago, Morocco, Venice, Rome, Ireland, etc). My wife and I booked the King George Hotel for us and about 80 of our guests to stay for our wedding in Sonoma (we charter bused to the venue the day of wedding). This hotel was fantastic for a number of reasons, so I will just list them:
First, location, location, location. One block from Union Square, a central part of downtown San Francisco with great shopping. Also, nearby where you hop on the trolley and Chinatown is around the corner. And the public transportation is only a couple blocks away (which is very efficiently run in San Francisco). You could take the BART from the airport to a stop two blocks away from the hotel (or they also have a shuttle). Thus, you are in a prime location to experience great shopping and food, without ever having to rent a car.
Second, friendly staff. Everybody behind the desk at the concierge was amazing. After they met you once they remembered your name (maybe this is because we were the party with 100 people). Regardless, they always took care of your needs, whether it be best place to rent a car, good places to eat, need an additional room, etc. By way of just one example, one of our guests missed the charter bus from the hotel to the venue in Sonoma on the other side of the Golden Gate Bridge. Within 10 minutes the concierge, Elliot, had our guests hooked up with a rental car at an amazing rate (and they managed to make it for the nuptials). Drew, the bartender, was a definite hit with half of our guests. All in all, our guests could NOT stop raving about the friendly hotel staff.
Third, good rooms. They are typically smaller rooms, probably best described as quaint and European. But they are nice, clean, and typically quiet despite being located downtown. But when you’re in San Francisco, you’re probably spending most of your time out in the city anyway.
Fourth, great price. The rooms might be smaller, but I got just an amazing rate. Our wedding fell on the same weekend as Gay Pride Weekend, so you can imagine how high many of the rates were because of the high occupancy. But Hotel King George gave us a price that was almost half of every other hotel located in the same area (and we checked just about every hotel). I mean, if price is not a consideration for you, you can pay over 3 times as much and get a great room at the Westin St. Francis right around the corner for $369.00 a night. But if you want to keep it low and still retain value, King George Hotel is the way to go.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrammatonCleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2010

Thank you for your business and kind words. We know you had many options with hotels and we were honored that you allowed us the wonderful opportunity to accommodate you and your family and friends for your wedding. Thank you also for pointing out our staff, we strive to give every guest exceptional service. On behalf of the entire staff of the King George Hotel, we extend a lifetime invitation and our doors will always be open to you.

Best regards,

Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,375 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
691 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,039 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#55 of 230 in San Francisco
1,057 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $132 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience comfort and style in downtown San Francisco. The King George Hotel is surrounded by the energy of Union Square and is an ideal hotel destination to return to after exploring the renowned sights and attractions of the "City by the Bay." Guests of our San Francisco LGBT-friendly boutique hotel will discover comfortable accommodations and on-site amenities such as Winston's Bar and Lounge, a San Francisco wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing