We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel Ideally situated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #85 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel that is ideally situated for shopping, sight seeing and eating out. Stayed 2 nights as part of an American road trip for hubby's birthday. Lovely breakfast place next door. This hotel has a real charm about it and is comfortable. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely return and recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We got an online deal as a last minute decision and stayed for one night. We checked in at 6:30 pm in less than 5 minutes. The room was tiny, but very well-appointed with all you need for a stay for two. Our queen room was clean and tidy.

There is a power outlet on the desk, which was handy for us techies with two computers AND two phones. The water pressure wasn't great, but what do you expect for a 1914 building? There was a little mildew on the shower curtain. Doesn't matter; the whole thing is adorable.

The only thing is they don't help discount the handy parking right across the street. You will most likely pay full price since the location is so fantastic, walking was better for us than finding new parking for the vehicle. So, the shopping, food and nightlife beats the price on additional parking. I'll call it a wash.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are extremely quiet. We slept great without a lot of street noise. We didn't know...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the King George Hotel! We appreciate your kind comments regarding our centralized location in the heart of Union Square, close to shopping, dining and nightlife. We apologize for the issues you encountered in your room and I have addressed this matter with my Housekeeping department.

We’d welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future given the chance.

Sincerely,
Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Small, century old hotel with oodles of character. Extremely reasonably priced for it's location. Small rooms and the tiniest elevator you've ever squished into. Very well appointed lounge and lobby. Excellent staff and service. WiFi, Concierge, etc. Short walk/taxi to Union Square, public transportation (BART, trams/rail and trolleys), Market St., the Embarcadero and many other points of interest (including Tommy's Joynt on Van Ness - an absolute must for any first-time visitor to SF and probably my favorite eatery/bar of all time anywhere in the universe). It is in the Lower Knob Hill/Mission District (Mason and Geary), so be prepared for someone asking you for money every few yards as you walk down any street. The restaurant next door is Cafe Mason and I had a very enjoyable meal there as well. Parking is $30.00 or more per day and I suggest you use it. Let the valet park your car once for the duration of your stay and using public transportation, taxis or walking - unless you absolutely need your car while you are there.
I love places with charm and character and this is one of my all-time favorite hotels in the heart of any city. The King George is my first choice whenever I visit San Francisco.

Room Tip: It's a 100 year old hotel and although they clearly work diligently to modernize when and where...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you choosing the King George Hotel for your lodging experience during your recent travels to San Francisco. We’re very pleased to hear you enjoyed the charm and character of our centralized location, close proximity to public transportation and overall quality service from our staff! You did a wonderful job chronicling your stay with us, which will be incredibly helpful for others as they make their travel plans.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the King George and it was overall a great choice. The room was clean and kept very clean by the staff during the stay, and though it was small it was definitely enough for just two. What I really enjoyed was how friendly the staff was and how helpful the manager was when we ran into a few problems.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor with a window facing an ally. It wasn't the best view, but we d...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepyfeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here fro 3 nights. The hotel is in a great location, just a couple of minutes walk from Union square, with car hire firms just around the cornet. The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. Across the road was the pinecrest dinner which was good handy, and open 24 hours. The rooms are clean but small as were the beds. Sometimes you would have to wait for the elevator as there was only one serving the rooms on all the floors. The hotel has a bar, the bar man was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This small hotel just two blocks from Union Square is a European style (small lobby, no restaurant, rooms on the small side) and good value for the money. Very nicely laid out, full-time concierge, well-taken care of, perfectly suitable for fussy tourists (like us). Yes, the lone elevator is small, and so you have to wait a few minutes for it to come, but that's a minor inconvenience. We've stayed in several small hotels in this neighborhood and we were very happy with this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for your European style lodging experience during your recent travels to San Francisco. We’re very pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us! I will be sure to share your kind comments with my team regarding our location (close to Union Square), the quality accommodations, and helpful service from our concierge staff! I’m happy to inform you that we will start a room renovation project later in the year and we welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Good location just near union square, and the staff were friendly and helpful. However the room was really small and cramped, the bathroom was tiny, old and grubby. Also our room connected on to another room - we could hear every sound made next door as if they were in our room. I think you could find better for the same sort of money.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Jonnywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your business and we appreciate your candid feedback and apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. In addition, we apologize for the level of exterior noise you experienced. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service received from the staff. I’m happy to share that we will be replacing the windows in our rooms to improve soundproofing in the coming months in addition to a room renovation project.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,
Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
1,363 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
676 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,020 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
1,043 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#103 of 230 in San Francisco
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $135 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience comfort and style in downtown San Francisco. The King George Hotel is surrounded by the energy of Union Square and is an ideal hotel destination to return to after exploring the renowned sights and attractions of the "City by the Bay." Guests of our San Francisco LGBT-friendly boutique hotel will discover comfortable accommodations and on-site amenities such as Winston's Bar and Lounge, a San Francisco wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing