We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute little place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of King George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King George Hotel
Ranked #83 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
suburbs of Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cute little place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a great place to stay for location near Union Square, China Town, and the trollies to the Wharf. The rooms are small, and ours didn't have air conditioning, but there is a ceiling fan. The walk in closet is pretty big, which is where you'll find the dresser and coffee maker, extra blanket, pillow and a safe. (Seems rare to find safes these days) The bed was very comfortable, and we were able to fall asleep right away each night. There is noise from the streets below, but we were able to tune it out with no problems, it might be that our room was facing the back of the hotel, our view was a wall, so we weren't right above the noise, plus we got in late each night.
The lounge downstairs has very limited hours, the one night we got back and wanted a drink and to relax in the lounge, the bartender had already left, but the front desk was able to pour a glass of wine for us.
It would have been nice to know the hotel was going through renovations during our stay, because of that the front area where you normally unload your luggage was being used for parking, so there was no where to unload, or any direction on where to park for the overnight parking.
I would consider going back, when not being renovated, and not when it's really hot outside.

Green Features: They did have a note asking to not change out our bed sheets each day.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4Fun31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for your lodging experience during your recent travels to San Francisco. We’re very pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us! We appreciate your candid feedback regarding exterior noise and size of your room as we always look to improve our guests overall experience.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    581
    331
    101
    64
See reviews for
184
573
120
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
madison
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

don't be off put by the older, slightly dated decor - the location is great, the room was clean and the bath amenities lovely! My bed preference was not available, and I was given a nice equivalent room at a lower price! always bargain!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank msnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your business and we appreciate your feedback. We’re pleased you felt your stay was a great value, good overall location and enjoyed our environmentally friendly bath amenities.

We’d welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future!

Sincerely,

Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Well - here I go again - LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Just off Geary 1.5 blocks from Union Square short walk to Chinatown, Market Street, and Little Italy. A well keep and staffed old boutique hotel with a great bed. We loved it. A nice flat screen and free wireless (both worked fine). Great little beer/wine bar with a fine tender in Luis. Marcel the concierge was friendly and very helpful. San Fran is very easy ace to get around with a little help from the right concierge. Two good cafes on each side (a coupon book at Union Square had 20% off coupons at both - nice). Also, just around the corner is Lefty O'Doule's for good reasonably priced food (the chef and cobb salads were yummie). We walked all over the place and when we got tried a trolley, street car, bus, etc. was close by and cheap. Suggest Alcatraz tour, Beach Blanket Babylon, and the Wine Train (Grgich Hills).

I must admit that my wife and I are pretty easy to please and would rather be at a place like the King George as the Hyatt or Hilton. We travel a lot and a room needs to be a good place to sleep and bath with friendly staff. The price was nice, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clifton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for your lodging experience during your recent travels to San Francisco. We’re very pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your week long stay with us! I will be sure to share your kind comments with my team regarding your pleasure with our centralized location, comfortable bed and service from staff! Part of the charm of our location is its character and uniqueness dating back to the early 1900’s.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at the King George Hotel in January 2013 for a little weekend get away for my birthday. You could not ask for a better location in San Francisco. It is close to the BART, great shopping, and amazing food. The hotel is older, and has a ton of charm. If you want the Marriott this is not the place for you. If you want a hotel with character give it a try.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdaniels75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The internet did not work throughout our entire 5 night stay. We had many problems with the automatic door key, which stopped working at random, and we were on the 9th floor with the world's slowest elevator. The rooms have poor ventilation and when you open the window (which is not safe for children who may fall out!) the outdoor fans and street noise is loud. Things were cracked and broken. However, the beds were amazing and made up for most of the other problems because I slept so well in those beds. Also, very close to union square, powell street, and tons of restaurants.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the top floor (decent view), expect to spend a lot of time waiting for the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEtravels1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for your lodging experience during your recent travels to San Francisco. We’re glad you enjoyed our centralized location and comfort of our beds. We appreciate your candid feedback and apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. The issues with our internet and electronic key lock access has since been addressed.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The King George is a small hotel near Union Square, at easy walking distance to lower Market St., Chinatown, etc. The rooms (at least the one I stayed in) are small, but sufficient, with a fairly high noise level from the exterior, not unexpected in such a busy part of town. The price of my stay was $125 a night, but I was with a group, so do not know if that is typical. The elevator is tiny and slow, so if you aren't opposed to using stairs, you might want a room on a lower floor (the hotel is nine stories high, ten if you include the lobby level).

One thing that bothered this water-conscious, environmentally-minded traveler is that there is no method of preventing daily towel and sheet changing - we were told to put a Do Not Disturb sign on our door for that request. Not only was there no such sign, but also I don't object to the room being cleaned (trash emptied, vacuuming, etc.), just do not want the terrible waste of replacing a towel I have used once and sheets that have been slept on for a night (or two, three, whatever) and using water and chemicals to wash them.

Otherwise, my stay at the King George was very pleasant and convenient; a nice plus was the Peet's coffee and tea they offered very morning down on the lobby level (there was a coffee maker in the room, too, if you need it). The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margotchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Way over priced (almost $200 per night) for the quality of the hotel rooms. Walking down the hall felt like walking into a cheap boarding house. Door jams were off doors. Painted over exposed pipe (not the industrial look either). Although the room itself was nicely decorated, the physical room itself was very cheaply maintained. Plaster on walls was not even smoothed out before painting. Wire/cable was run around door frames, stapled into place and then painted over. Light switch boxes pushed out and not flush to wall. Caulking was lumpy and not smoothed out around the tiny cheap sink and tile in bathroom Tiny cheap mirror that was literally 17' by 8"in bathroom. Cheap plastic shower curtain. Rusty kleenex holder. On the good side, the hotel service staff was very good and friendly. The room decor was pleasant and had good lighting. Nice bedding and towels. Nice TV and free WiFi was nice. Great location. Other rooms may have been a bit nicer, but I don't recommend room 217.

Room Tip: Don't take room 217.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First I want to thank you for choosing the King George Hotel we and appreciate your business. Good to hear that you were pleased with the level of service and you liked the décor in the room. We appreciate your feedback and will follow up on your observations. As you may have noticed, there was some related construction on your floor as we’re in the process of replacing doors and door frames. In addition, we will be replacing windows which like the doors will improve the soundproofing and minimize the amount of noise entering the room.

Finally, we are in the planning phase of a guestroom renovation which will get underway later this year.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,742 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel

Property: King George Hotel
Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102-1783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George Hotel is ideally located just steps from Union Square, seconds from San Francisco’s world-class shopping, dining and theatre. The hotel is two blocks from the historic Powell Street Cable Car line and a short walk or taxi ride to Moscone Convention Center, Civic Center, Sony Metreon, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your King George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing