We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Francisco on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of King George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King George Hotel
Ranked #84 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“San Francisco on a budget”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The King George hotel was a good low priced hotel. The room was clean and the location was excellent. I would recommend the hotel if you are not looking for much beyond a bed. It is an OLD hotel and has that charm. With that though comes problems and the elevator was on the blink for about an hour when I was there. I hiked up 8 flights! They hotel offered complementary wine and beer in the lounge while the repairman was called.

Room Tip: don't go up too high!
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not observe that the hotel had any particular environmentally friendly practices other than the standard about used towels.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parishfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    590
    335
    103
    65
See reviews for
188
579
120
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here (actually written from the Hotel's lobby) late April early May 2013 for 10 days. The hotel itself is rather dated but this is outweighed by its central location being very close to Union Square, arguably the heart of San Francisco.
The room is clean and tidy though might be seen as rather compact for some people. For example, the closet has a clothes rail which hangs over a wooden chest of drawers and there is very little light to see what you are doing.
Our room was on the side of the building which is less noisy. I suggest staying on teh side and at least on level 6, as you won't be looking at a wall from your bedroom!!!
There is no restaurant on the King George but there are two diners each side. We are using Lori's on a daily basis which is excellent and well recommended for breakfast (and it's open 24/7).
As mentioned, the Hotel is very well located. Good for market street, excellent for cable cars, 5 minutes to Chinatown and on most Muni (bus) routes.

Room Tip: Book on teh side of the building (the front is on Mason). Ask for floor 6 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Clean, friendly staff, boutique hotel in theatre district close to Union Square. Neighborhood sketchy -lots of homeless beggars made walking around an adventure but was fairly safe. I actually used the very clean alley to cut the corner to avoid 2 of the more aggressive panhandlers! The hotel desperately needs to replace the windows- the city is so noisy: truck horns at all hours, improvised drums til 3am, but I also saw and heard the parrots each morning. Yes, the elevator broke twice (and we were on 8). However, the staff were great, the location was fabulous. everything we needed was 3-5 blocks away: Chinatown, Moscone Centers, Gardens, trolley lines. and the 39 line somehow brought us from dinner in "Little Italy" right to our door. There's a great Blues club just a block up the street, wonderful galleries on the way to fab shopping at Union Sq. and Lori's and Cafe Mason are right next door. Hotel is completely non-smoking. Would we stay again, probably, but on a lower floor, since the 8 floor walk up was exhausting!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a corner room. "01" gets you one of the larger ones next to the fire es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldo_boo_bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your business and we appreciate your feedback. We’re pleased you enjoyed our centralized location, cleanliness of your room and lever of quality service you received. We will continue to work with the local authorities to address the panhandling issues in the downtown area. I’m happy to share that we’ll be addressing the soundproofing issues to reduce exterior noise.

We’d welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future!

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Bertrand Newson
General Manger
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was in 218 & a friend was in 216.Our rooms are clean but it would be better if outside window view is also clean..because when we tried to open our windows .not really pleasing to the eyes!!
You can see trash,cigarette butts & even used rubber birth control..Really??
But the front desk clerk lady Norma is very professional & friendly..& also the guy at he concierge.
Elevator is tiny but we are lucky it is working.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed in SF a couple times, went with King George because we needed to stay for just one night and needed something in down town yet inexpensive. The street noise was ridiculous, this hotel is situated right by 2 major noisy roads, so I don't see how people can stay here for more than a day. The elevator was broken, was a lot of fun caring the luggage downstairs but the hotel staff did offer a hand which was appreciated. Rooms are tiny but average for SF. The windows didn't muffle any street noise out, but the blackout drapes did do a good job. Overall - was OK at best for a one night stay, but wouldn't stay for longer. The parking is not included in with the hotel, nor is ran by the hotel, it is across the street which is $32 a day, or $3 every half hour, so if you're planning on going in and out - you're gonna pay A LOT. If its your first time visiting the city go with something nicer, but if you just need a "place to crash" this is prime.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, push for one on as high floor as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fly_Everywhere21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments on your recent stay with us! We’re very pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotels centralized location and appreciated the historical charm of our building. We apologize that our elevator was temporary out of service which has since been addressed. We also have exciting news to share in regards to renovations. We have several projects scheduled in the near future that will only make your next stay with us more enjoyable such as room renovation to start later in the year

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

An extra comfortable bed - very helpful and happy staff - cozy lounge - right price - very clean. The rooms were small, but when you are in San Francisco, why stay in your room? Very close to transit. We spent every day on the trolley or on the F-line train to Fisherman's Wharf and beyond.
I would recommend this place to anyone going to downtown San Francisco as a starting point. There are two nice American restaurants right next door - of course the town in known for its restaurants.
Very nice week long trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendachristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hotel refuses to open a room early for early admission. The skinny stressed out reception lady she was rude, mean and forgetful all with an attitude. She went to get the bags we left and said here you go as she left them in the back room and could not remember if she gave me the room key, which she didn't. The elevators are slow, very slow. Never again a small hotel with no knowledge of customer service. I should of just paid for Sheraton, Marriott or another well known hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the alley you get a view of homeless and hear the roudy people yelling i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

First I want to thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for accommodations during your travels to San Francisco. We value your feedback and welcome any suggestions on how we can improve our level of service. Please accept my sincere apology for the lack of personal attention you received at our reception desk and I will follow up immediately.

We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future and appreciate you bringing the above observations to our attention.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 227 in San Francisco
1,278 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
3,777 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#126 of 227 in San Francisco
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
1,316 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 227 in San Francisco
1,607 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel

Property: King George Hotel
Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102-1783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King George Hotel is ideally located just steps from Union Square, seconds from San Francisco’s world-class shopping, dining and theatre. The hotel is two blocks from the historic Powell Street Cable Car line and a short walk or taxi ride to Moscone Convention Center, Civic Center, Sony Metreon, Yerba Buena Gardens, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your King George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing