We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King George not kingly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #86 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Staying at this hotel was like staying at your grandmother's house. The baseboards were filthy, and the shower looked to be haphazardly constructed in the bathroom and it had a 6" crack in it. The sliding window almost came out of the window track when opened. The closet was miniscule and there were few amenities to speak of. The only good thing about this hotel was its' location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darlene g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for accommodations during your travels to San Francisco. We’re pleased that you felt our hotel was centrally located as we sit in the heart of Union Square. Thank you for your candid comments and we apologize for the condition of your room failed to meet expectations. We will pass along these comments to our housekeeping and maintenance teams. I’m happy to share that we are in the initial planning phase of a future room renovation project.

We’d welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future given the chance.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

So three people in a postage stamp was not exactly The Ritz, but for the price we paid, we weren't expecting oodles of space. We found the staff to be extremely helpful, espcially the concierge du jour who could arrange tour reservations, make meal suggestions, and just give directions. The room was clean, though cramped with comfortable beds and pleasing decoration.

VERY few hotel amenities! The onsite lounge didn't serve spirits, and though the hotel was flanked by liquor stores on each corner, they both charged PREMIUM PLUS prices for a fifth of anything. In general, this is one expensive city! We did enjoy their morning coffee served in the lounge, but packaged creamer is really really awful (coming from the Starbucks capital, that bit of snobbery is hard to shed)

Our room, as I mentioned was extremely small for three people - like it was designed for one bed, but they squeezed in two. I peaked in some other rooms with just one bed and they were much much nicer. Because our room was so small, no dresser was available for clothes- but the closet was large enough for most hangables and included a safe.

The bathroom layout was a shin killer, as the tub's edge was just beyond the doorway. We all plowed into the corner with gusto at least once. OUCH! But it was clean, with lots of storage for our ditty bags and shelves too. I loved the holy soap!

LOCATION WAS ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS! One block from Union Square and the Trolley line. We could easily walk to the Muni stn down the street. When it came time to rent our car, we had to literally just walk across the street.

Pan handlers seem to be a fact of life in most large cities now and San Francisco is no exception. One gentleman daily took up his position against the mailbox across the street from the hotel and usually both corners were "home" to at least one set of poor hands. Times are hard.

Room Tip: I'd never book a dbl/dbl again but I wouldn't hesitate to book a room for two. Higher is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endoredil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

First I want to thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for a unique boutique hotel lodging experience centralized location during your recent travels to San Francisco. We’re very pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us! I will be sure to share your kind comments with my team regarding the cleanliness of your room and service from staff! I’m excited to share that we have several projects scheduled in the near future that will only make your next stay with us even more enjoyable.

Also, we are in the planning process for a guestroom renovation and taking into consideration maximizing usable space which we expect to get underway at the end of the year. We welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Bertrand H. Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our family stayed at King George Hotel San Francisco for four nights in March 2013. The location is good. It's walking distance to Union Square. The lobby is not impressive but functional. When we checked-in in the evening, the front desk employee was not accommodating. The room is enough for the three of us. Our room was on the third floor at the back of the hotel. It's so quiet in our room. We appreciated it so much especially at night when we arrived from a long day of touring the city.The following day up to the day we left the hotel, the staff were all nice.I didn't see anymore the staff the first night we arrived. Breakfast was not included but we found nearby diners and grocery store. Pinecrest Diner and Lori's Diner are very near the hotel. The location is perfect for tourists; clean room and nice staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 117CaliElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

After so many hours of travel my first impression wasn't great. However, next day realised that hotel was better.
Pros - very central location, easy access to trams, cable cars and tourist buses, very clean room, good amenities, helpful desk and room so high was a bit quieter. Pinecrest Diner opposite fantastic for breakfast.
Cons - twin room not double, not too much around in evening and perhaps Bay Area better for tourists.
Regrets - not doing wine tour!!!!
The usual tourist venues all great. Highlight was Irish Coffees at Buena Vista, delicious...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeyDAVEScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Paid conference rate of $159.+ tax - not on any web special. Room 108 was so claustrophobic there wasn't space for 2 suitcases and at 5'3" I could easily reach up and touch the ceiling. No closet - instead it has a narrow, spice cabinet sized built-in around the bed, two drawers, and a tiny corner shower. You feel buried in the basement, and the loud AC didn't cool the room. You know its small when you consider having the decorative bed pillows and luggage taken out of the room to make space. No one should be given room 108 without 1st being told its a micro-sized room without a tub, or real closet.

On the plus side, the front desk was very gracious when we asked to move after one sleepless night. I saw the fire chart in hall way and noticed all the other rooms on the floor are bigger. Our second room was reasonably sized and we had no problem with it. Staff friendly. The AM coffee and tea in the lobby is nice touch and so is the private car they have to take you to the airport for the same price as a cab. Easy walk to Moscone Center.

Room Tip: Avoid room 108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PBD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingGeorgeMgr, General Manager at King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the King George Hotel for accommodations during your travels to San Francisco! We apologize that the size and condition of your room failed to meet expectations. Our housekeeping and maintenance teams are in the process of following up on your observations. We’re please you felt the staff was helpful and responsive with moving you to a new room. Glad you enjoyed the lobby coffee/tea offerings along with our private town car service. Part of the charm of our location is its character and uniqueness dating back to the early 1900’s. We’d welcome the opportunity to accommodate you in the future given the chance.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,

Bertrand Newson
General Manager
King George Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for business trip, I am glad i picked King George.

The location is fantastic, it is basically in the center of the town, just a street away to Madison Square. It is basically within walking distance to everything, there are plenty of shops and restaurants as you walk out from the hotel and down the streets. The nearest Bart station is about 800 meters away, and it was very convenient for me to commute.

The staff were friendly and helpful. I bumped into the notorious heater problem in my room though, but the staff was quick to send me a portable heater as replacement. One drawback is that the room wasn't very quiet at night, you can hear the ventilation noise from the next building and there were street performers who played drums at 1am. It wasn't a very big problem for me (lucky me i was tired at night to get into sleep fairly easily) - it might annoy other guests who prefer peace and quietness over any other things.

The room was a bit small but good enough for 1 to 2 persons, and you can't beat the price at USD90 per night at this location.

Highly recommended for travelers who plan to visit the beautiful San Francisco!

Room Tip: If given the choice, don't pick the high-level room facing right side of the hotel. The building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

i stayed there 2 nights in the Deluxe Queen Room and i couldn't have booked a better hotel. Friendly reception, nice and clean rooms. smallish but great bathroom and best bed ever! i have slept in plenty of beds in different hotels and country and i think i found the most comfortable one at the King George.
Good and secure internet connection.
It's also located a block away from Union square and 3min walk from Powell st. 5 min walk to Powell Bart station and F line stop.10 min walk from Polk street where some of the bars are. If somebody tells u that there are plenty of homeless people in the area is not true as you ll find them all over downtown and they don't hurt a fly.
if u r going to Fresco, i recommend this hotel cuz i couldn't find anything bad about it.

Room Tip: pick room 414
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank milkwasabadchoice19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#82 of 230 in San Francisco
1,376 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
693 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
4,044 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#55 of 230 in San Francisco
1,059 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 334 Mason St, at Geary, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $101 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience comfort and style in downtown San Francisco. The King George Hotel is surrounded by the energy of Union Square and is an ideal hotel destination to return to after exploring the renowned sights and attractions of the "City by the Bay." Guests of our San Francisco LGBT-friendly boutique hotel will discover comfortable accommodations and on-site amenities such as Winston's Bar and Lounge, a San Francisco wine bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George San Francisco
Hotel King George
King George Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing