We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent place to stay while in San Fran”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #58 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A decent place to stay while in San Fran”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2007

The Tuscan Inn is typical of the city hotels we've stayed at in the past. That basically means it costs a lot more than a roadside/highway exit hotel but isn't quite as nice.

We heard numerous things about the Fisherman's Wharf area, and many of them were true. There is plenty to do during the day because of the endless shops and restaurants, and transportation is available to take you to all places in the city as well as other destinations like Alcatraz. At night the area takes on a different persona with homeless people hanging around the darkness, but at no point did we ever feel unsafe walking the streets. The weirdest thing was how everything seemed to close between 9 and 10 at night when there seemed to be so many tourists lurking about.

The hotel, located a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf as well as Ghiardelli Square, has a nice Italian theme that carries into the lobby as well as the uniforms for the parking valets. Speaking of parking, you're going to have to pay and it's going to have to be valet service, as there are no free/self park lots that are part of the hotel. Not only is it pricey at $36/day, but having nothing but valet parking means you have no access to your car unless you have one of the valets fetch it from the lot for you.

Our hotel room was very small and felt absolutely cramped when we had our two suitcases opened on the floor. The bathroom containing the toilet and the shower was also very small, not to mention the sink and counter directly outside of it. The overall look was fairly bland and a bit dated, but all of the furniture was in excellent shape and nothing appeared worn, dirty or neglected. Two negatives: Turning the bathroom light on also turns the counter light on, meaning a middle-of-the-night trip to the bathroom means the whole side of the room gets illuminated; and the wooden shutters that were installed in place of traditional curtains to add to the hotel's theme do absolutely nothing to keep the room dark once the sun comes up.

I'm sure there are better hotels in the area but considering how expensive most are, the Tuscan Inn ends up being a relative bargain. If you're willing to accept a hotel that can best be described as clean and comfortable, this one will do you just fine.

  • Liked — Great location near many points of interest in the San Fran area
  • Disliked — Pricey, cramped room with some ergonomic flaws
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Wildwoodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    1,619
    439
    119
    50
See reviews for
1,111
1,820
91
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

Diane from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

We stayed at the hotel May 22 to May 25, 2007 and found the staff and particularly the concierge very helpful. The location is great and accessible to all parts of the city by bus, cable car or the "F" train. Room was clean and had everything we needed. The whole staff at the Tuscan Inn was very hospitable and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — friendly and helpful and hospitable
  • Disliked — room was a bit small - the tour but that we took to Carmel broke down in carmel causing a 5 hour delay however they gave us a refund
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzieEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

We have just returned from a week long holiday in San francisco. I just wanted to convey what a great destination it is. We stayed in the Best Western, Tuscan Inn on Fishermans wharf. The hotel is pretty much as you'd expect from the chain , nice clean rooms well serviced, and the staff were extremely helpful- very pleasant to deal with. The decor is nice and the evening wine reception is pretty entertaining! However the hotel internet at 6USD for 15 mins is a bit pricey.
We felt the Fisherman's Wharf area while touristy is not without some charm. Check out the old arcade games in the musee mechanique if the weather's not great.!!

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — internet costs
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cbdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2007

WOW!! This hotel is a gem. Great location in Fishermans Wharf.
The hotel gave us a bottle of sparkling wine and cookies on arrival, as it was my boyfriends birthday which I thought was a lovely gesture. The room was a good size but the bathroomm was very small. Not good if you have children with you I guess. The bonus in the room was a coffee maker which is a rare find in the USA. Will be going back there for sure!

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PoppyTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel was extremely busy (apparently fully booked) during our stay although once out of the lobby area we did not see or hear many other guests. We did not avail ourselves of the morning coffee (tried it on day one and it wasn’t particularly nice coffee) or the ‘managers evening wine reception’. In our opinion, a bit of faux Italian décor, some nice throw pillows on the bed and smaller than average rooms doesn’t really stretch to “European-style Boutique Hotel”. This hotel can trade on its location which, although a rather ugly and unappealing area full of tacky tourist shops, predictable chain restaurants and large number of tour groups, is an excellent base to explore the city.

We booked a non-smoking room with a king sized bed. We asked for a room on the top floor and preferably not facing the street. Although our room was indeed non-smoking (more of that later) and we had a king size bed we ended up on the 3rd floor and our room, facing Mason Street, overlooked a concrete multi-story parking lot (although if you stood at the window you could see the Coit Tower which was a nicer view!). Five minutes spent unpacking in our room and we soon found out why we had been recommended to ask for a room not facing the street. The noise was terrible and even when closed, the windows (old, thin and full of condensation) provided no insulation. There were no curtains (just sliding wooden shutters that we had to shove a chair against to make sure they were closed properly) which didn’t help. I asked the front desk whether we could move rooms. The woman was very helpful and said that as they had declared a number of rooms non-smoking she could offer me a room on the 2nd floor which would be much quieter as it faced a wall. Alarm bells rang in my head when she said they had made rooms non-smoking but I agreed to go and look. As soon as she opened the door the smell of stale smoke hit me and I said that if that was all they could offer then we would stay where we were. She told me that due to the high number of non-smoking rooms requested they had to make more rooms available. So be warned if you ask for a non-smoking room!! Also, avoid rooms on the ground floor facing Mason Street – not only will the street noise be terrible but there is a permanent smell of stale urine along that sidewalk.

Our room was small by American standards although the mirrored wall (thankfully behind the bed!) made it look larger and bright furnishings helped. Our a/c unit worked although was noisy when put onto the cool setting. We kept it on the fan setting as it seemed to help to drown out the street noise – garbage collection at 6am was particularly nice! Room could have benefited from fresh paint and our carpet had a large iron burn and was damp under the a/c unit. Closet was small and would not hold our bags. Bathroom was adequate and clean and there was a hairdryer. In room safe would have been nice addition. Bed was comfortable & we were not bothered by noise from other bedrooms.

Attached restaurant was overpriced and food looked average. We had breakfast there one day and it was nothing special. Boudin Bakery an excellent nearby option for breakfast/lunch and with Trader Joes right next door you should not need to avail yourself of the very expensive mini bar in the rooms. For much better Italian food head up to North Beach – 5 to 10 minute walk – where you will find a good choice of independent restaurants and cafes around the Colombus Ave/Washington Square area. You will be surrounded by locals (rather than tour groups) and will have a more realistic Italian experience. And if you really can’t live without burgers, don’t go to the usual chains, make the 5 minute walk to Burgermeister at 759 Columbus.

  • Liked — Easy access to North Beach and other unique areas of the city
  • Disliked — Immediate surrounding area is tacky and awful, noise from street
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank London_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

The Best Western Tuscan Inn is at the perfect location in San Francisco. It is two blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, and in walking distance to Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square and many other tourist spots. The rooms were cozy, very tastefully done and included a fantastic bed. The convenience of a very good restaurant on site added to its value. I would not consider staying anywhere else for future visits to San Francisco. I highly recommend this property. The only minor complaint was the A/C unit which was a bit noisy. We experienced an unusal heat wave while we were there so normally, you would not even turn on the A/C unit and would enjoy a perfectly, quiet sleep.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Leavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights as a stopover before spending a month in Australia. We found the hotel and room clean and perfectly adequate. The staff were friendly and the free coffee and biscoti each morning and wine at 6pm each evening were occassions when one could meet other guests. The location was excellent for the Whalf attractions including cruises and Tram/bus tours and for the cable car into Union square. The restaurant attached to the hotel was very good and there were many others within walking distance with fresh fish being the speciality.

All in all we found the hotel to be good value and ideal for a leisure visit to San Francisco.

  • Liked — Location, friendly and good value
  • Disliked — Older type of property with no views
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank creviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing