We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Ranked #65 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent a few nights here in April and found the place clean, quiet and very pleasant. The beds were very comfortable and the room quite adequate.
The position of this hotel for access to the waterfront and tourist spots is outstanding.

It's not the Ritz, but considering the position, we were well pleased with what was delivered and have no trouble recommending.
Would stay here again next trip for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Wilson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at Hotel Zoe San Francisco, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Andrew_Wilson70 - Thanks for staying with us and thank you for the very kind words about the hotel, our great location and our new luxurious pillow top beds. I'm glad to hear that you had a great stay and that you'd stay again when your travels return you to Fisherman's Wharf. It is true that we're not the AAA 5 Diamond Ritz. But if you are looking for a unique European style boutique 3 Diamond AAA hotel with outstanding service, an amazing Fisherman’s Wharf location, clean (cozy) rooms, well maintained facilities and all of the freebies we offer such as wifi, coffee, tea, hot cocoa, complimentary evening wine reception, business center and fresh ice cold fruit infused flavored water in the lobby 24/7, then this will definitely be the place for you. We hope to see you again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,805
    1,631
    454
    125
    63
See reviews for
1,129
1,853
91
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Fantastic location - close to cable, streetcars, restaurants and festivities at Fishermans Wharf. Full time concierge was helpful and enthusiuastic, especially Natalia.We appreciated the helpful suggestions from manager Tom at the front desk.Daily 5-6 pm happy hour created a warm cozy, inviting atmosphere.Morning coffee and tea in the lobby was a welcome start to the day. While it is an older style hotel. it is very comfortable and clean. The friendly, attentive staff made up for any deficiencies.

Green Features: Conscientious and great to be able to choose when the room was cleaned for a longer stay.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at Hotel Zoe San Francisco, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hi Carol802 - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Glad all the vibes were wonderful and that Tom and Natalia were able to contribute to your fabulous San Francisco experience, we think they are pretty awesome as well! We'll look forward to your next visit to Fisherman's Wharf. (PS: I do appreciate when our high level of service and friendliness is able to overcome our "imperfections!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in May for four nights. Welcoming and efficient staff. Hotel is close to Fisnerman's Wharf but is close to trams, cable car and buses which meant easy access to almost every part of San Francisco. Bought the three day travel pass. Well worth the money. Also went on trip to Alcatraz which included an audio touri

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EamonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at Hotel Zoe San Francisco, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hi EamonJ - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm very pleased that you had an enjoyable and comfortable 4 nights with us at The Tuscan Hotel. Your kind words are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again when your travels return you to California!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Because it's apparently his vision of having a set of hotels focused on helping guests socialise and enjoy themselves which is still so effortly executed by the hotel staff that makes this place hum.

We had been searching for a reasonably priced place to stay in San Francisco and found a price of $140 on the Internet and paid slighly more than that but it was under $200 per night. Wow! I'd spoken with the staff there a few times (Matt, Scott & Lita) and they couldn't have been more generous with their time or accurate in the information they provided. As I heard about the services available at the hotel - including the wine reception each evening from 5-7pm I was very excited about staying there. A lovely hotel with an absolutely amazing location for bus, cable car, BART and Fisherman's Wharf. The housekeeping staff were very attentive and hard-working too! Everything about this hotel was wonderful!
Clean well-appointed room, huge bed and great closet and shower/bath facilities.

Thank-you Best Western Plus Tuscan - When we come back to San Francisco, we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: The only thing I would suggest is that for light sleepers (we're not) you might enjoy a room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detachedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at Hotel Zoe San Francisco, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi detachedone - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. We're very pleased to hear you had a simply marvelous experience at the Tuscan. Yes, a big shout out to Bill Kimpton for being such a visionary and creating this spectacular brand of upscale boutique hotels dedicated to creating ridiculously personalized service. Each hotel across the country enjoys the 5PM social hour where we meet new friends from across the street and around the world. How great is free wine and snacks to get the party started? We'll look forward to seeing you soon and thanks again for all the kind words about the hotel and our amazing team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel has all the advantages of a central location but without the noise. A couple of blocks back from Fishermans Wharf, a stroll to the cable cars and other transport. Also easy wander to a variety of restaurants/cafes. Rooms are smaller than the usual USA style of rooms but still well presented and comfortable. Each day they hold a daily wine reception in the lobby - this is a really nice bonus to your stay (although a little weird to drink Spainish wine in California when you live in Europe!) The reception staff were incredibly helpful and polite. This is ultimately a good hotel for the savvy traveller wanting comfort and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixieRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at Hotel Zoe San Francisco, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi TrixieRead - Thanks for staying with us and for all the kind comments. I'm happy that you enjoyed your visit to San Francisco and that your time at The Tuscan Hotel was a satisfying experience. As for the wine, and with a lot of other things we do, I like being weird! We naturally do things which don't follow a particular trend, style or pattern so we can create an atmosphere which is often better, different and special. We hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We originally booked this hotel for two nights, then decided to arrive a day early. They only had King Bed rooms available the first night, although we booked a Queen for the other two nights, they upgraded us to Kings for the entire stay at no extra charge. Excellent Service, both check in and Valet.

The rooms are comfortable and have a reasonable amount of space for a city hotel. Our room was quiet, obviously contrary to other reviews that I've read, perhaps being a king room puts you on the better side.

The location is key here, as you are only a short walk from Pier 39 and the rest of the Fisherman's Wharf attractions.

The wine reception each night, was a nice touch!

The restaurant on site is excellent as well. (See other review)

Green Features: They do other a $5 voucher to the onsite restaurant, should you refuse the room turn down service.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at Hotel Zoe San Francisco, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Stephen G - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I appreciate all of the very kind comments and I'm glad we were able to accommodate you with an upgraded room. (Personally I think every side of the hotel is a good side). We'll look forward to your next visit to San Francisco...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was a great hotel choice for my husband and I on our honeymoon. The rooms were a comfortable size, a little small, but cozy. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Everything worked in our room (shower, taps, A/C). The location of this hotel is spectacular. It's not on the main road which is good for noise but it's close enough to walk. We got the full breakfast option and it was well worth it. We received a full breakfast (eggs benedict, omelets, etc.) every day and the coffee was amazing. We told them it was our honeymoon and we received a bottle of wine and chocolate. I would recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tspeca2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at Hotel Zoe San Francisco, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Tspeca2014 - Happy Honeymoon and thanks for staying with us. Great comments about the hotel and staff, we appreciate your kind words. Thank you for allowing us to share in your special moment and I hope you made some wonderful new memories. We hope to see you again soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,978 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zoe San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zoe San Francisco

Property: Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zoe San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique San Francisco Hotel near Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39. Hotel Zoe offer you the chance to experience San Francisco and Fisherman's Wharf like a local. Located just steps from a famous cable car turnaround and the distinctive North Beach neighborhood, the views from Zoe are spectacular. Easy walk to the waterfront, Ghirardelli Square, Pier 39’s sea lion colony and the San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park. Experience what life in the heart of San Francisco's vibrant Fisherman's Wharf neighborhood feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zoe San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing