We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely place,lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
Ranked #28 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place,lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late November. Lovely room, nice restaurant attached but a really great location so close to Fisherman's Wharf but lovely and quiet. Really good staff, friendly and helpful and very welcoming. We thought the complimentary wine tasting was a bit of a gimmick when we booked but actually it gives a really nice ambience and makes this so much more welcoming than other US hotels I've stayed in. We would come back here another trip
Our only issue was it took 10 minutes for hot water to come through to the bath/shower, but we never got around to complaining as we were having such a good time we kept forgetting to mention it!

Room Tip: We had one overlooking the internal courtyard which helped to keep it quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: You can get a voucher for the restaurant for choosing not to have your towels changed etc
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenMNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello HelenMNorthhampton,

Thank you for your lovely review of The Tuscan. I'm glad you found our hotel welcoming.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,716
    1,511
    387
    94
    32
See reviews for
1,021
1,686
87
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We were able to check in early after a long haul flight, what a bonus. The reception staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgable. As a previous reviewer has said, the rooms are a bit small and the shower pressure low, - we had a room over the courtyard which was very pretty, and snug, inc a small fridge (with mini bar)- surprisingly not always present even in big cities. The hotel is well positioned for a short walk to fisherman's wharf, the Alcatraz ferry and the cable car. There is free printing in the 'business centre'- useful for boarding passes and all those on line tickets. Tom was exceptionally helpful with getting something printed, when the printer ran out of toner, (don't you hate that!) This hotel is excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello Vanessa B,

Thank you for your review of The Tuscan. I'm glad you think our hotel is an excellent value for the money. I agree. Happy to hear Tom took care of you with your printing needs. (I do hate it when the printer runs out of ink or toner. ugh!)

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself was quaint. The rooms were small, but clean. And honestly how much time do you spend awake in the room. The evening wine tasting was nice, everyone was milling around enjoying their wine in the pretty lobby.
During one of the wine tastings we talked to the concierge and found out there is a shuttle to the airport, it was about half the price of a cab ride we took from the airport to the hotel.
The location was great. It was steps from fisherman's wharf, the cable car turn around, and Ghirardelli square.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank polarbear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello polarbear123,

Thank you for your review of The Tuscan. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel was located close to the waterfront which allowed us to easily spend time in this area for the day/night. Very close to lots of restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. A great location. We would return here if we were back in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello Roy B,

Thank you for your 5star review of the Tuscan. I'm pleased to hear you found our location and hotel great! I agree.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was our first time in San Francisco and we chose this because of their convient location to Fisherman's Wharf and all the attractions there. The staff was very helpful to us with suggestions on how to see the city and where to eat. The hotel was very clean. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello Amber H,

Thank you for your 5star review of The Tuscan! I'm happy you chose us during your first visit to San Francisco and that our staff was very helpful, and our rooms clean.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Quality accommodations at a reasonable price in Fisherman's Wharf can be difficult to find, but we were very happy with BW Tuscan.

Yes, the rooms are small. That is simply the case in an area where real estate is sold by the square inch. Not so small as to be uncomfortable exactly, and the rooms were extremely clean. Housekeeping did a really great job.

Concierge service was very efficient. We allowed them to make arrangements for a Napa limo tour and a Muir Woods/Sausalito shuttle. They got us a really great deal on the limo.

Many employees at this location made a positive impression, not the least of which was Tom. I became ill on one of the evenings there and my wife called the front desk inquiring about room service. (They only have "in-house" room service for breakfast) Although the hotel has an arrangement with a restaurant for food delivery, Tom called quite a number of other near-by restaurants to find one that could deliver the specific items that my wife was requesting.

Tom inquired as to whether or not we had been able to participate in the evening's wine tasting downstairs and was informed that we had missed it. Tom immediately sent some chardonnay to our room!

In sum, a professionally run hotel operation with well trained staff and good clean rooms. The location is convenient to just about everything. You certainly won't need your car. The bar at the adjacent Pescatore is a fun place for drinks. Breakfast, lunch and dinner there are all very good as well.

The only complaint might be (surprisingly) that the water pressure is weak. The water seemed soft, which along with low pressure makes for a bad combination. We did not hear any noise from adjacent rooms. However, the rooms facing the courtyard are said to be the quietest as opposed to those facing the street which are said to be a little loud at night. Be specific as the views can vary considerably from great to zero!

Room Tip: Choose courtyard rooms for a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlinchaser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello marlinchaser3,

Thank you for your 5star review of The Tuscan!
I'm happy you found quality accommodations in us and our Housekeeping staff great.
I'm so pleased that Tom took care of you and your wife. Hope she is feeling better.

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

great service, clean, good value, I had my own room, my daughter also had a king room of her own. One room was considerably bigger, both the same price. Clean and comfy, good location. Really had to work at it to get the AC to work, a lot of setting and resetting thermostat in both rooms. Got frustrating. Pretty much limited to news on tv, or rent a movie. No vending machines for water, etc. Never received vouchers promised if you participated in reusing towels and not having room cleaned. But for the price it was a good deal. Just wish, the AC would have worked better. In a tiny room with a shower and blow dryer, it got warm!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMisch, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review of The Tuscan. I appreciate you mentioning our great service, cleanliness and good value. I agree!

Graciously,

Jan Misch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#56 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#35 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#52 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Best Western + Iniative, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing