We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A good place to base your SF vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #44 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good place to base your SF vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We travelled to SF for a concert and picked the BW Tuscan Inn for our stay. We travelled without a car so the BART and a cable car got us to the hotel. Quin checked us in efficiently. We had a king suite room. The room was big and clean. We liked he decor because it made the room bright. The windows with shudders helped too. Every worker we ran into said hi whether it was a doorman or a housekeeper. Because of the location of the Tuscan Inn, it was easy to travel around with just a cable car and/or buses. Also it was a short walk to the wharf. We will definitely come back here for our next SF trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atomicrs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi atomicrs11 - Thank you for the 5 Star review and fantastic comments about the hotel, Quin and the rest of the team. Glad you enjoyed the Tuscan and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,791
    1,610
    426
    106
    40
See reviews for
1,096
1,796
91
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Best Western in San Francisco. It came with a delicious, order off the menu breakfast in their very nice Italian Restaurant. We had a suite that was very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and it was quiet in the evening. The location is very good as other reviewers have stated. We did have a car, but we were able to easily walk to various locations for touring and meals. We took advantage of their wine hour with snacks starting at 5pm. All in all, I was very pleased with this hotel and would book it again when coming to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Nyeta - Thanks for staying with us and for the glowing comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay; we'll look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

BW Tuscan Inn is a beautiful hotel in a convenient area for those who are vacationing in San Francisco. One can walk to many attractions and after a long day it was nice to come back to a comfortable room and bed. The staff were all friendly and attentive. The concierge was very helpful in helping us with our plans and the purchase of our tickets. I would definitely stay at the Tuscan again on a return trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank jascip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi jascip - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 star review. Glad to hear you had a great family vacation and that you were well cared for during your visit. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. You are only a few blocks from the main tourist attractions of San Francisco (Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, and Cable Car stops). The valet parking service was great even though parking was $45 a day. The room itself was smaller than I thought it would be but it was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable with almost no noise from outside. The staff was great and very helpful when answering our questions about the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit the tourist destinations in San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AutumnHardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi AutumnHardin - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind words about the hotel and our fabulous staff! We appreciate the 5 Star review and hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked the Best Western Tuscan Inn based on previous reviews of this hotel. We could not have been more pleased. All staff were very helpful, and our room was clean and well appointed. The location was perfect for the sight seeing we planned to do on our first trip to SF. When making our reservation we had mentioned that we would be celebrating our 25th anniversary, and asked for a room with a view if possible. To our delight, the hotel went above and beyond to help us celebrate, leaving a bottle of chilled champagne in our room with a note from the manager. My sister is going to SF later this year, and I have already told her this is the place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Lisa E - Happy 25th anniversary and thank you for all your kind words. We appreciate the 5 star review and we will look forward to serving your sister when she visits later this year. We hope to see you again too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I arrived here after 9 days in NYC on our way back to Australia. Thanks to feedback on TripAdvisor this was the best choice and provided a great laid back experience after NY. Location is close to Cable Car, Fishermans Wharf, Pier 39, Alcatraz Ferry and Tower Tours are just down the road if you book any bus tours. Staff were all great, room was clean with a really comfy bed , and housemaids did a great job. Wine reception each night was good and provided an opportunity to meet other travelers and swap stories. If you are going to SFO for vacation then I would pick this hotel without issue. All hotels sometimes have problems, but for us on this trip, absolutely none and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you attend the wine tasting ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Russell S - Thanks for staying with us and I'm glad to hear that your visit was fabulous. We appreciate the 5 Star review and we look forward to serving you again when your travels return you to the SF Fisherman's Wharf area. I'll have a glass of wine waiting for you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel with a great location to Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel recommended a shuttle service from the airport and we didn't pick up a car until we departed (walked 2 blocks to Avis and picked up a car)- so we didn't have to worry about parking or driving in the city. The room & beds were comfortable and the staff very friendly. The wine reception from 5-6 p.m. is a nice touch. If you don't want to eat out every meal or want something to snack on, there is a Trader Joe's one block away. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RustyS03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi RustyS03 - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed your 3 nights with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#66 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing