We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in San Francisco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #53 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights post cruise and was amazed by this beautiful hotel. From the first step inside we were blown away by the friendliness and comfort. The lounge/foyer had a range of sofa, high back chairs, large fireplace burning logs and gigantic chandelier. The location only a sort walk away from cruise terminal and shorter again to fishermans wharf was another happy surprise! continental breakfast included, available in the Italian restaurant attached to hotel. This was very popular with local people also and comprised of fresh coffee, toast (with choice of breads available)or croissant butter/jam, orange juice. Hotel provided their own complimentary coffee/tea and iced water, newspapers, library and concierge. They arranged a limo transfer to airport for the standard shuttle price ($16 each) but the highlight for me was the room. Beautifully designed, although no view in our room, large well placed mirrors made room seem twice the size. We could slide open the windows which gave us the opportunity to turn off the air con. Fridge, large screen tv, (remote control sanitised and in new cover) numerous power sockets, very nice toiletries and a bed so high I thought I would need steps to get into it! Very very comfy! An arrangement available to clients staying longer than one night, is that instead of having the room serviced you can have a $5 voucher per room of a lunch or dinner in the restaurant. You can do this for just one day or everyday if you wish to. At the time of our visit roadworks were ongoing both sides of the front of hotel. This was stopped each evening to allow quiet nights, but would have been very loud if trying to sleep during the day. The roadworks were mentioned to us at check in, an explanation for putting us in a room with no view, saying at least this would be quiet...well, it was so peaceful we thought the roadworks had actually ended! Some internal rooms have views of the beautiful courtyard. Pre cruise we had stayed in one of the top hotels downtown and enjoyed it very much, but this small hotel just bypassed it by miles! Nicest hotel I have ever stayed in and would recommend it to everyone. Thank you especially to Matt and Tom and all the girls on reception, and to the VERY efficient manageress in restaurant.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovetravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi ilovetravelz - Thanks for staying with us and thank you for your wonderful 5 Star review regarding your experience at the Tuscan. I've shared your very kind words with Matt, Tom, Ruthie and the rest of the team. I'm glad you were served well and we'll continue working hard every day to make sure that all of our guests enjoy the same experience you had during your recent visit. Thanks again for such a brilliant review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,793
    1,616
    433
    110
    44
See reviews for
1,104
1,808
91
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. The staff were nice and welcoming. Location was brilliant two blocks from the piers and close to the old trams that will take you across the city. The room was nice and clean with the use of a fridge that was very useful as we were travelling with our young child.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Rob W - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and we concur, the location is brilliant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was our first trip to San Francisco and we stayed here for 3 nights at the begining of May. The hotel was near to Fishermans Wharf and close to a tram stop for getting back to the centre. Our room was big with 2 beds, fridge, coffee maker etc and a nice bathroom. It was was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean and all of the staff were very friendly. The option of a free glass of wine late afternoon was a nice touch.

All in all a good base from which to explore San Francisco

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JH1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi JH1_9 - Thanks for staying with us and thank you for the 5 Star review. I'm glad you found the Tuscan to be a great base for your San Francisco adventure and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I am using the Tuscan Inn as a two night stop over before travelling south. This is my second visit to San Francisco and the Tuscan Inn has ticked all the boxes for me. Great location, fantastically friendly and efficient staff. Well kept hotel that is warm and welcoming. The room I am in is more than fine, very clean and well laid out, comfortable bed and a very nice on suit. A little gem hidden two blocks in from fisherman wharf. All rooms have A/C, safe and complimentary WiFi. All you;d expect and more for a mid range hotel gets my vote and i'd certainly use it the next time I visit.

Room Tip: I believe that the hotel does have a gym, but I'm on vacation so didn't use it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMC224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi TMC224 - Thanks for staying with us on your 2 night stop over, I'm glad we get your vote and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really an awesome find; staff very nice; bedding extremely comfortable; all renovated and spotless with daily wine reception all for fabulous price. The location is perfect to fishermans wharf as well as muni bus just across street. This is a smaller boutique style hotel and for the price, very superb. Highly recommended for location, price and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank em c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi em c - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. Glad you thought us to be an awesome find. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved our stay at the Tuscan Inn. Our room was small but offered everything that we needed. The king size bed was ultra comfortable and the shower had very good pressure. We had an outside room (#419) and we found it quiet although we did run the airconditioner while we slept. We partook in the evening wine serving between 5 & 6 two of the evenings which was a very nice touch as we slowed down from our day & geared up for dinner. We also left with a take-out coffee from the lobby every morning which is another nice touch. It is within walking distance to most of the sights if you can walk up hills; if not, the Cable Car turn-around is within a few blocks & the Trolley is too. We had breakfast twice at Hollywood Cafe & once at Pat's Cafe; both within a few blocks & highly rated by TripAdvisor which we found to be very accurate. I would definitely recommend the Tuscan Inn if you're not on a tight budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi RedRose55 - Thank you for staying with us and thanks for the 5 Star review. Your very kind words are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you at wine hour again when your travels return you to Fisherman's Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is situated in a fabulous location!! We had a full itinerary and were able to walk to every appointment!! Our room was very comfortable, with great views of the Wharf and beautiful decor. The staff was wonderful, helpful, and very accommodating. To our surprise there was also a complimentary happy hour in the beautiful lobby. The onsite restaurant was not only convenient, but excellent!! This is not your average Best Western, This is an experience of Tuscany in San Francisco!! I

Helpful?
Thank WorldCitizen713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi WorldCitizen713 - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your fantabulous experience at the Tuscan; we're definitely not your average Best Western! We look forward to your next visit......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#68 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing