We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely room that's close to everything.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #41 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely room that's close to everything.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved our stay at the Tuscan Inn. Our room was small but offered everything that we needed. The king size bed was ultra comfortable and the shower had very good pressure. We had an outside room (#419) and we found it quiet although we did run the airconditioner while we slept. We partook in the evening wine serving between 5 & 6 two of the evenings which was a very nice touch as we slowed down from our day & geared up for dinner. We also left with a take-out coffee from the lobby every morning which is another nice touch. It is within walking distance to most of the sights if you can walk up hills; if not, the Cable Car turn-around is within a few blocks & the Trolley is too. We had breakfast twice at Hollywood Cafe & once at Pat's Cafe; both within a few blocks & highly rated by TripAdvisor which we found to be very accurate. I would definitely recommend the Tuscan Inn if you're not on a tight budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi RedRose55 - Thank you for staying with us and thanks for the 5 Star review. Your very kind words are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you at wine hour again when your travels return you to Fisherman's Wharf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,776
    1,592
    418
    106
    39
See reviews for
1,083
1,782
88
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is situated in a fabulous location!! We had a full itinerary and were able to walk to every appointment!! Our room was very comfortable, with great views of the Wharf and beautiful decor. The staff was wonderful, helpful, and very accommodating. To our surprise there was also a complimentary happy hour in the beautiful lobby. The onsite restaurant was not only convenient, but excellent!! This is not your average Best Western, This is an experience of Tuscany in San Francisco!! I

Helpful?
Thank WorldCitizen713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi WorldCitizen713 - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your fantabulous experience at the Tuscan; we're definitely not your average Best Western! We look forward to your next visit......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Ideally placed within walking distance from Fisherman's wharf. Comfy and quiet. There were road works outside but a request for a quieter room was dealt with speedily. Decent Italian restaurant in hotel, where breakfast can be taken. Get vouchers from reception for continental breakfast of Juice, toast or muffin, fruit and tea/coffee. You can purchase cooked breakfast. Dog friendly. Parking was expensive but secure and it was valet parking - a phone call 5 mins before you want your car and it was there waiting for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi OrioleMcFlurry - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. We glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very comfortable bed and quiet room. Very clean. All staff we encountered we very friendly and helpful. Great location. Easy walking to Fisherman's Wharf and to the cable car's. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimS54805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi KimS54805 - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review, glad to know that your 1st time in San Francisco was a terrific experience! We hope to see you again......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

A great hotel, in a very good location.
The staff were very friendly, and willing to help with all queries we had.
Rooms kept very clean and well presented.
Breakfast at the hotel was good, with a good selection to choose from.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi Amy K - Thanks for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I appreciate your kind words about the hotel and our staff and hopefully we'll have the pleasure of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great centrally located hotel in Fishermans Wharf. The hotel is walking distnace to all kinds of places to eat and sights too see. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the decor was updated. Overall a great stay. I loved having a Trader Joes 1 block from the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Aloha Hawaii555 - Thanks for staying with us and thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and staff. We hope to see you again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was a very comfortable hotel. We had a room off of the courtyard and heard no noise from outside whatsoever! The location was great for walking to Fisherman's wharf, Pier 39 and other tourist spots. They had a nice wine happy hour each evening, which enabled you to visit with other guests. A restaurant attached to the hotel had nice Italian food. You can get a 10% discount if you ask for a coupon at the front desk. Parking is a bit pricy - $44 plus tax per night. The good news is your car is safe and it's brought right up whenever you need it. All of the personnel were pleasant. Coffee is provided in the lobby each morning. A Safeway and Trader Joes are just across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi KSKat - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review! We appreciate the kind words and hope to have the pleasure of serving you agin soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#61 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing