We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, Location, Location at Fisherman's Wharf” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #41 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level Contributor
274 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location at Fisherman's Wharf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I just enjoyed a four night stay at the Tuscan Inn at the end of a three and a half week trip to the US. We had not been to San Francisco for twenty years and had previously stayed at the Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf.

The Tuscan Inn is close to Pier 39 and is literally a four minute walk to Boudin Bakery on the wharf. It's location is really second to none in that you are so close to the Wharf, the Hop on Hop Off Bus stops, tourist shops and a Super Sightseeing tour office.

The staff (in particular Mia) on the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We opted for a King Suite which was tastefully decorated with crisp white linens, white window shutters, a large bathroom, small sitting room, two flat screen tvs and a bar fridge (you kept the key for the bar fridge which was well stocked but of course over-priced). Our room # 415 had a view towards Fisherman's Wharf and we could see the Oakland Bridge from the side window.

Every day the Tuscan Inn provides tea and coffee in the lobby area (with a lovely open fireplace) from 7-00am until 10-00am. In the afternoon there is a Happy Hour where guests are served free wines and coke etc. My only gripe here is that it ran from 5-00pm to 6-00pm. Most days we were not back from our sightseeing until closer to 6-00pm so consequently we missed it. The older guests however thought it was great as they were always there, right on time!

The Tuscan Inn does not have a gym but you can buy a pass for 24HR Fitness which is located across the road in the Northpoint shopping mall ( a small mall but it does have a Safeway and Walgreens Pharmacy). This is the only hotel in our trip which did not have gym facilities and I think it a little rough to have to pay $12 a visit.

Unlike all the other hotels we stayed at which were of the Hilton Chain, the Tucan Inn also did not:
- Have a guest laundry where you could do the mandatory quick wash
- No complimentary continental breakfast
- Very limited storage space in the suite

The furniture in the suite was a little knocked around and two of the shutters had broken louvres which meant you could only turn them in one direction. We also found we had to run the air conditioning all night as there was a bit of street noise so it helped drown it out.

However a big plus is that next door to the Tuscan Inn is Ross for Less, a fantastic store that we had first encountered in Hawaii. It seems to be a clearing house for larger department stores so you never know what they are going to have in stock but you will find that their prices on shoes (all the top brands), designer clothes, luggage etc are second to none. It is always worth going and checking out what they have.

Downstairs and with an entrance from the Lobby is their restaurant Pescatore, serving beautiful Italian fare. I have written a separate reviw for the restaurant.

Overall I would recommend the Tuscan Inn. It has a great location, the staff were friendly and the rates reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missskybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi missskybird - Thank you for staying with us and for your detailed feedback which is most appreciated. I'm glad you were well cared for by Mia and the rest of the team, we have an amazing group of men and women at The Tuscan! We've been in the process of refreshing our rooms, so I'm hoping the next time you return, you'll notice some updates and upgrades to the hotel! Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon (not another 20 years)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,776
    1,592
    418
    106
    39
See reviews for
1,083
1,782
88
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Conveniently located near Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf, the Powell-Mason Cable Car Line, Historic F Line Trolleys. Friendly and attentive staff. Clean rooms. I'll gladly stay here again!! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNationalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Mark11204 - Thank you for the "Awesome" 5 Star Review. We're glad you had the chance to visit and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

First impressions of this hotel were great! After flights totaling 15+ hours we were greeted by a lovely door man who kindly helped with luggage! He was awesome. Staff at check in we're great too and we were allowed to check in early too which was a bonus. Bed was the most comfortable i have had at a hotel also! Only downs for this place are. The room was a little small but it was ok and one morning I had a cold shower which was strange, so I mentioned it on the rating card and handed it in before we left. A minute later after checkout a man came up to me and apologized for it, this was such good service! He didn't need to but it was nice that he did. If you get a good deal on this place, definitely stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chookybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Chookybabe - Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star review. I appreciate your kind words about the hotel and staff! That was me who apologized to you at the front door and I apologize again for the cold shower. Thank you for being so patient and understanding. We hope to see you again when your travels return you to SF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here and found the staff very friendly and helpful.
The location is great and within walking distance of wonderful restaurants and the wharf area.
Every day they offer a complimentary wine tasting. This was a great way to meet other guests and proved to be very popular. The rooms although small are quiet and our bed was very comfortable. In summary we were very pleased with this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi LanaB - Thanks for taking the time to share your comments and kind words! Glad to see you were pleasantly surprised and pleased with the hotel and staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Plus Tuscan Inn for six days/five nights and overall, we had a great experience.

Neither of us had ever been to San Francisco before, and after researching it, we decided we wanted to stay in Fisherman's Wharf as it seemed to be accessible to lots of restaurants and attractions. This hotel had several positive reviews and I got an excellent room rate through a promotional offer.

When we first arrived, I was impressed with what I saw. The lobby is decorated very nicely, with a beautiful chandelier hanging by the fireplace. I had always associated the Best Western chain with a "budget" hotel, so I was pleasantly surprised. It looks as though the hotel as been recently remodeled as everything looked really new and clean, but the hotel also had a very "classic" feel to it. At check-in, we were greeted by the very friendly staff at the front desk. It was just about 6:00pm, and the lobby was bustling as they were just finishing up their daily complimentary wine hour. After we were given our room key, we were invited to take a couple of glasses of wine up to our room while the bellhop brought up our luggage. There were three wines to select from: White Zinfandel, Chardonnay, and Merlot - not bad for complimentary wine. The bellhop was at our room within minutes with our luggage, so we were able to get in, relax and sip our wine - definitely not a bad way to unwind after a day of traveling!

We booked a standard king room. Upon entering the room, it was immaculate. Everything was very clean, and again all the furnishings looked new. The room is not large, and neither is the bathroom, but we had enough space to sit, sleep, shower and get dressed comfortably, which is all that really matters to us. I don't go on vacation to sit in the hotel room all day. The bed was comfortable enough.

All of the staff members we encountered during our stay were always friendly and helpful. The front desk staff were able to give easy to follow directions to nearby places when asked.

We loved the location of the hotel and how close in proximity it is to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39, all of which is within easy walking distance (only about a 10 minute walk to Pier 39, near lots of restaurants, stores, attractions, etc.). The hotel is also down the street from a bus stop for the hop-on, hop-off bus tour which is really convenient, and near a cable car stop also.

As far as the parking situation, we had rented a car because we were also visiting Napa and planned to do a little driving around. I was aware of the $44.00/day parking fee that the hotel charges and planned accordingly, but I was only made aware of it by reading the other reviews on this site. The hotel's web site does state, under services and amenities, that valet parking is available for $44.00 plus tax/day. However, it is not clear from the website that the ONLY parking available is valet and they do not offer on site self parking. Luckily, this was not a surprise to us thanks to the other reviewers who mentioned this, but whoever manages the hotel's website may want to consider clarifying this to avoid any confusion.

One issue that we did have, which kept me from giving this hotel a five star rating, was that the air conditioner unit was extremely loud when it was running. In fact, it was so loud that we had to turn it off at night because we couldn't sleep with the noise. As a result, the room was a little warmer than we would have liked when we woke up in the morning, but not too unbearable as we were traveling in March and not the summer.

Also, after dark, we encountered a few shady characters hanging around the area, mainly in front of the 7-Eleven that's near the hotel. We didn't have any problems, but I wouldn't suggest walking back to the hotel at night alone.

Overall, I'd stay here again, but I really hope they upgrade the air conditioning units during their next remodel.

Room Tip: You might want to skip the on site restaurant, Cafe Pescatore, in favor of the numerous other restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi SAndrea91483 - Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share such detailed feedback and kind words. Glad to see that your 1st time in SF was a great experience. We'll work on the A/C issue and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Fisherman's Wharf is probably ground zero for any family vacation to San Francisco. While public transportation makes it easy to get around, it is still nice to be near much of the action. There are hotels closer than the Tuscan Inn to Fisherman's Wharf, but at two blocks away, we couldn't complain. The hotel is a Best Western Plus which, while our hotel desk clerk coudn't explain the difference, it appears that they are trying to create a more upscale feel, including evening wine receptions.

The staff was generally very helpful and friendly, including the concierge, bell/valet and desk staff.

Room are small. And while we appreciated the two queen beds, rather than the doubles found in many hotels, the two beds left little room to roam around the room. The bathroom provided little escape, as it too was pretty smal. A little more counter space in there would have done wonders helping our family of our sort out our various health and beauty products. Similarly another dresser drawer or two, in place of the giant - and unused - honor bar, would have been nice. The floor lamp next to one of the beds would have been far more effective had it been located within reach of an electric outlet, but alas, the poor plus lay several feet short.

We had a room facing the interior of the building, which for some might seem like a poor alternative to a street or even wharf view room. But with the noisey streets outside, including buses, revelers and more than a few transients, the interior room was nicely quiet.

Small complaint, and the second time in a row I've complained on a TripAdvisor review: the ice machince on my floor was broken and clearly some staff knew about it as it had a nicely printed sign on it. Unfortutnately the desk staff I spoke to on the phone inquiring of ice machine location sent me to the broken one.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Steve V - Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your detailed feedback. I appreciate your kind words and observations, we’ll be sure to better inspect the rooms so all appliances and lights are plugged in and working. The great news too is that our new ice machines are on the way! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fab location, close to pier 39. Could not fault the staff, so friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. There was a managers reception every night which guest were invited to, must say we never really intended to go, but they did themselves proud. I for one would love to go back to San Francisco and the Tuscan inn you get my vote for returning.

Room Tip: We were located on the top floor (4th), it was overlooking the car park but no complaints from us, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apr1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi apr1701 - Thanks for the 5 Star review and the wonderful comments, you get our vote too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#61 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing