We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #58 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clearlake, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome location, decent price”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Perfect location and walking distance to everything on Fisherman's Wharf. The rooms were being remodeled while we were there, so they will have new mattresses and furniture upgrades. I had an interior Deluxe King on the third floor with a window overlooking the courtyard. It was very quiet and I didn't hear my neighbors.
There is wine tasting in the lobby at 5pm. Parking was expensive, but our group negotiated so it was included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Inside rooms facing the courtroom are quiet. Upper floors are also quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolerene81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Nicolerene81 - Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. Glad that you liked the location and had a good visit. We hope to see you again soon so you can enjoy the new beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    1,619
    438
    118
    50
See reviews for
1,109
1,820
91
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had stayed there before it became a Best Western Property. It still has much of the "Boutique" atmosphere and many of the amenities associated thereof: clean, comfortable,affordable and a very good location for enjoying your stay in San Francisco..

Room Tip: We spent little time in our room which was clean and with like-new furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999Clarke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi 999Clarke123 - Thanks for staying with us and for the kind words. We're glad to see you still enjoy the hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This has been our most enjoyable experience in San Fran. The location was just a block from the wharf, next to pier 39. The staff was extremely pleasant and beyond accomadating. Can't wait to plan another get away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Rod C - Thank you for the 5 Star review, much appreciated. Happy to learn that this was your most enjoyable experience in SF. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wild West
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A marvelous place to stay right near fishermans wharf and pier 39. Every night is a wine hour from 5 to six. We booked because it was a kimptom property only to find our we get no points since it is also a best western and they honor only best western rewards. That was a huge disappointment. We would have stayed elsewhere had we known. The three girls at the counter were very snooty but the wine steward and Marty the bell hop made up for it. We travel extensively and liked the price and the location. Felt it was falsely advertised as a k property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CubPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi CubPilot - Thank you for your positive feedback as well as your feedback for improvement. We have some work to do on our end to ensure we deliver excellent customer service 24/7. Clearly this was not the case during your visit. I also apologize that our Kimpton In Touch Members do not receive points while visiting, as the hotel only participates in the Best Western Reward Program. Generally our location, value, service, cleanliness etc make up for this. I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to SF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

i checked in at the inn in january 2013. The hotel is very average . with rooms that offer you the basic ameneties and bad views of the courtyard in between the rooms. I was looking at better views for sure since i was staying at beautiful San Francisco. Overall a very average experience

Room Tip: rooms facing the road offer a better view atleast
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank manishgiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi manishgiria - Thanks for staying with us, sorry about the lack of view from your room. We're just a 4 floor hotel a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf so our rooms don't offer those spectacular views of SF which you'd receive from the skyscraper hotels around the city. There are also waterfront properties which offer the views you were looking for during your visit. We hope all your future travels finds you in a hotel which meets all of your needs. Happy Trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north bend oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

stayed in this charming hotel 2 nights with my wife. i was first hesitating because best western name. i guess italians change it to Tuscan hotel, soon as you arrive the staff greet you very friendly. rooms are spotless and decorated italian style. large tv and bar. they have wine reception at 5 pm. and the best thing is located by the fisherman's wharf and pier 39. less than 5 min walk. the price was very reasonable for a king bed room. i recommend it highly. and i will be back again

Room Tip: try to ask for a room in the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maximo1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi maximo1248 - Thank you for staying with us. Glad to see that you were pleasantly surprised and satisfied with the quality, cleanliness, location and amenities of the hotel. We're looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing