We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #58 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
G
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

As first time visitors to San Francisco we chose the Tuscan Inn Best Western following the recommendations of other reviewers and our need to be close to Fisherman’s Wharf. From the time that we arrived until we left, we knew that we had made the right decision. We had requested an interior room and had mentioned in the reservations that it was our 25th wedding anniversary. They honored our request for an interior room and wished us happy anniversary upon our arrival. Then later they surprised us with bubbly to celebrate our milestone. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. It wasn't a large room but it was adequate. We enjoyed the wine reception on one evening of our stay. We met some very fascinating couples and had a great time. We would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Interior room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for the 5 Star Review and all the kind words. Glad we were able to be part of your 25th Anniversary, congratulations and we're happy your 1st trip to SF was a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    1,619
    438
    118
    50
See reviews for
1,109
1,820
91
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
daddymac1
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Love the location and proximity to area attractions. Staff was good and check in was efficeint. The room was good. It was comfortable and clean. The wharf is close with all of the sidewalk food and tourist attractions.It is also close to North Beach Italian area if you go away from the wharf. A World Market is next door, and has great prices on wine, beer snacks etc. Also next door to that is Ross which is a great place to pick up forgotten or needed clothing or other items. The Codmother and other good restaurants and Trader Joes are very close. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daddymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and for the kind words. Glad you and your family had a good experience and would return. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights while traveling for business. It was MUCH cheaper than other hotels, which led to the decision to stay here. I was also intrigued by the Kimpton name, but I found that my room didn't live up to the Kimpton standards (and you're not able to get Kimpton points).

For the most part everything was clean. The bathroom was updated. The bed was moderately comfortable - a little on the hard side. The furniture in the room did not appear to be updated (but a colleague of mine said her room was...). My view was terrible. It basically overlooked a wall, and if I left the shutters open, I could see in my neighbor's room. The amenities were basic.

My main complaint was that the housekeeping staff were extremely loud, talking to one another in the hallways in the morning. You could hear them clearly in the room, and the bed was right by the door, so it woke me up several mornings.

The location was good for tourists - easy walking distance to Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf & Ghirardelli Square (where you get a nice distant view of the Golden Gate bridge). They also have a free town car that will take you to the Financial District between 7:30 and 8:30am each morning. You have to book it the night before, and it's "based on availability," although I had no issues scheduling as needed. The first receptionist I asked knew nothing about the shuttle and said they didn't have it, although I stated that I'd read it on the website and had called to verify. I had to keep pushing, and finally she said she'd ask a manager, and turns out they did have the shuttle!

All in all, the stay was fine. No MAJOR turn-offs, so if you're traveling on a budget and don't have luxury expectations, then this will suit your needs. I'd likely pay more to stay in a bit of a nicer hotel next time.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room higher up that doesn't overlook a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Happy New Year highjul - Thanks for staying with us and for providing feedback about your visit. While we never intend for anyone to compare us with Luxury hotels such as the Ritz Carlton or The Four Seasons, we have carved out a perfect balance of comfort, service, cleanliness, location and value. Your opinions are valued and we hope that all of your future travels will include accommodations which are suited to your needs. Wishing you happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel rooms and staff were pretty helpful but nothing extraordinary. I ended up with a room with no view but wasn't in my room much other than to sleep. Nice large bathroom and the bed was really comfortable. You can't beat the location though. It's within 2 blocks to Fisherman's Wharf with all the shops, Pier 39 and lots of restaurants. Good location for using the Muni buses.

Room Tip: ask for a room that isn't on the front side of the hotel since that is a busy through street the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamInKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the Trip Advisor review. We're glad you stayed with us for your 1st time visiting SF and hope you made lots of great memories! We wish you a Happy New Year and hope to see you again......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is our second stay at Tuscan Inn. It's a great place to stay in San Francisco as it is close to many sites and great restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the early evening wine reception is a nice touch. (But please, does it have to be Trader Joe's $1.99 wine?) The rooms are a bit small, but very clean, with modern, upgraded bathrooms. Just be aware that there is a $45/night parking charge (standard at most hotels in the area). Lots of public transportation, so it is best to come without the car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edtherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Ed, I hope you are a therapist.......Thanks for staying with us again and for taking the time to share your feedback and kind words. Happy New Tear and we look forward to your 3rd visit (I hope you are a therapist)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
@thelake
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night in December for our annual seafood extravaganza at Christmastime. Great location close to the Wharf, Pier 39 and Ghiradelli Square. We arrived at 11am and they let us check in early. The room we got had a view of a red brick wall, but again, at least we were able to park, check in early and go out exploring. We had a late check out, too and they didn't charge extra for parking early/late. The room was cozy - aka small, but had everything we needed. Coffee, fridge, good shower, windows that opened, comfy beds - 2 doubles which are a wee bit small.
The nightly wine reception was great. The highlight of our stay would have to be Ed. He worked the reception desk for check-in, as well as the nightly reception for wine. He called us by name, at several different times throughout our stay, and remembered what type of wine we were drinking and had the bottle ready as soon as we approached for a refill. Every hotel needs an Ed, but BW Tuscan has the original and the best. Cheers to Ed and the BW Tuscan.
For breakfast, we recommend the Hollywood cafe, just north of the hotel, and for dinner, Cioppinos on the Wharf, north of the hotel near Ghiradelli Square.

Room Tip: Not sure, as we didn't have a good room, but we sacrificed a view for early check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honufore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Happy New Year Honufore and thank you for staying with us. Your very kind words are most appreciated and I am humbled by your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your seafood extravaganza and I hope we have the luxury of welcoming you back the next time your travels return you to the Fisherman's Wharf area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We celebrated our 35th anniversary in San Francisco first time visitors to this city and we couldnt have stayed at a better hotel.... great location we visited chinatown,alcatraz,fishermans wharf,ghiradelli square and even caught a raiders game and transportation was only a block or two away...loved the atmosphere for the wine reception and the staff was very helpful...will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuy3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to share in your 35th wedding anniversary. Glad to hear your 1st time in SF was a good one. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing