We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Get Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
Ranked #32 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Get Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We reserved this hotel as a place to stay while we came to SFO to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. The hotel is within walking distance of everything and in a good neighborhood.
We stayed in Room 201 which was a nice, but small room. The staff was VERY friendly and the hotel was very clean.

I would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: I did not stay in a room overlooking the street, But would probably stay away from that side, just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrtonothorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star Review. We appreciate your kind words and we are glad that you chose to stay at the Tuscan hotel while in SF celebrating your 20th anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,731
    1,529
    395
    95
    35
See reviews for
1,044
1,700
88
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed six nights. Great location and wonderful company during evening wine. Staff was great and very accommodating. Hotel near cable cars, trolleys and bus lines. Easy walk to anything we needed and to Pier 39 and other attractions.

Room Tip: Street rooms can be noisy due to traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us for 6 nights and thank you for the 5 Star review, your comments are very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taree, australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent 4 nights here, with my two adult daughters. My special requests that I made when I booked were honored. Accommodating staff at reception and concierge, very friendly and helpful. Convenient location just two blocks from the waterfront, Boudin Bakery, Pier 39, and all the Fisherman's Wharf dining and shopping. Bus stop just across the street, or down the street, depending on where you are going. Excellent public transport, $2 takes you anywhere in the city, and the front desk provides maps, directions and bus numbers to make it easy. Shutters rather than drapes covered the windows, so the room was bright early in the morning, but I always wear a sleep mask, so this was not an issue. Rooms not very large, but when in San Francisco, with so many things to do, we only used the room for sleeping. Great coffee and tea service until 10am. Delicious choices for dining, dozens within a few blocks. Complimentary wine reception every evening in the lobby, great way to try California wines. Close to a supermarket for snacks and drinks, to stock the room fridge. This hotel is not inexpensive, but worth the price. I will stay here again when I visit San Francisco next.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are most quiet, but even street front rooms are well insulated from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosetaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We thank you and your daughters for spending 4 nights with us recently and for the 5 Star review. I'm glad we served you well and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winter springs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was wonderful! Even though we were on the street side of the hotel the room was lovely, comfortable,king bed with nice fresh linens and everything was very clean! We had brought a sound machine with us and the street noise early in the morning was hardly noticeable! We especially liked the Happy Hour In the lobby from 5-6 pm with a lovely assortment of wines and appetizers, in front of the fireplace! The location was perfect for us....a few short blocks to Fisherman's Wharf and the Hop On/Hop Off bus tour. Through another reviewer we found The Hollywood cafe for breakfast or lunch just up the street one block. We would definitely stay here again, no hesitation! All the staff was wonderful and helpful with directions, There are plenty of hotels that were priced much higher, but it isn't necessary!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherryanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We thank you for staying with us and for the 5 Star Review. I'm glad you had a great experience and would stay with us again. Thank you for your kind words about our wonderful staff. We all look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We came over to the hotel on the Baylink Ferry from Vallejo to Fisherman's Wharf. This is the best way to get to Fisherman's Wharf. No traffic to deal with, no stress. The hotel is a mear 2 blocks away from Pier 41 and Pier 39.

Our hotel room was small but for an overnight stay it was adequate and not uncommon for San Francisco. The decor of the room was excellent. The room was very clean. The front desk staff were excellent too.

Room Tip: If you want a view make sure to ask. We didn't care as we were just doing an over-night to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We're very pleased to receive your 5 Star Review and we thank you for staying with us. Thank you for your kind words. The ferry is a fabulous way to get to fisherman's wharf, great tip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was clean, well located ( if Fishermans Wharf is where you want to stay) and the staff were pleasant and accomediating. As most reviews stated, the rooms are small but clean. When booking, request the courtyard view rooms, you wont be disappointed! When we come back to San Francisco we will most likely stay here again. They did try to get us to use their parking garage for $44.00 per night, but there is a public parking garage 15 feet away (literily the next driveway) that charges $35.00 for 24 hours. Another nice plus for this hotel is the 5pm wine reception. It is a 1 hour long happy hour and is completely free of charge. They even serve appetizers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennZUhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments about your visit. We appreciate your feedback and glad you enjoyed Happy Hour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently spent 7 nights. Great location, only 2 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. The location was very accessible to the trolley, muni and cable streetcars making it easy to get around. The staff were very helpful and the Gen. Mgr. Jan went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable after our trip was delayed due to Hurricane Sandy. King sized bed was extremely comfortable, and the rooms were small (as the norm in SF), but were clean. Lobby was very inviting. The wine hour from 5-6 was a pleasant surprise. a nice way to mix and meet with others staying in the hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel and visit it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redbear2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us for 7 nights and for the 5 Star Review. Glad to see everything worked out well and you had a great time in SF. Jan is amazing and we're happy that she was able to contribute is such a large way to your experience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#38 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#58 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#51 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Tuscan Inn at Fisherman's Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan Inn, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing