We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #52 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We like this hotel. It's clean, the beds are comfy, personnel is friendly and competent....nothing to complain about. Cafe Pescatore is very good...they even accommodate my gluten free diet. Nice TVs, friendly concierge, wine and cheese...

Room Tip: Courtyard...less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hi PattyBY - We really appreciate your 5 Star review and your kind words. I'm happy that the staff served you well and you had a great experience. We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,793
    1,616
    433
    110
    44
See reviews for
1,104
1,808
91
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Location in Fisherman's Wharf district is the greatest asset of this hotel. 5 min walk to Pier 39/ 10 min to Alcatraz landing/ 20 min to Lombard Street/ 30 min to Chinatown
Rooms: efficient, fresh, but very small
Restaurant: nice for breakfast or dinner, reasonably priced, with attentive and friendly service
Free coffee every morning/ wine tasting & snacks from 5 to 6pm

Personnel: below average - not friendly, not helpful
Prices are outrageous: $300+/ night for a closet-sized room; valet parking is ridiculous @ $50/ night. Park your car at the next door multi-storey parking for $30-35/ night or further out for less

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxLondon1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hi MaxLondon1976 - Sorry about the experience with the staff. At any price, a hotel would be overpriced if the staff does not serve the needs of their guests. I would be most interested to hear the details of your experience if you would be so kind to contact me at ed.sincoff@tuscaninn.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very friendly staff. A very nice hotel ambience with a Concierge ( a bit smug). Softly lighted hallways. Wine tasting every night at 5:00. Easy walk to the Wharf area where there are souvenirs to be found with open air vendors and shops. There are hamburger chains nearby and restaurants near the boats. Good short walk. Not many street people asking for handouts. Easy walk to the historic cable car turnaround. Hotel bed was very comfortable and there was a nice comfy couch for late TV shows. The name of the hotel did not bring to mind the quality of this hotel, great choice for a home base while in San Francisco. Valet parking was $44 a day but with a rental car there were few options. There is a parking garage across the street for $33 a day. Safeway and other shops found on groud floor of the garage across the street. Very convienient.

Room Tip: There is A/C in the room. 4th floor was a quick elevator trip up and down, little waiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BronDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hi BronDC - Thank you for the 5 Star review of the hotel, most appreciated. Your comments and feedback are very helpful and I want to apologize for the "smug" concierge. That's certainly not the image or demeanor they should be exhibiting. We thank you for staying with us and hope your travels return you to the fisherman's wharf area soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for a week following a week up the coast in Bodega Bay. It was our fourth visit to this hotel, in
principal due to the location: reasonably flat walking areas: the proximity of the Powell/Mason cable car line: and
some decent restaurants. We have always been comfortable staying here; even more this time since the refurbishment. We had an interior room on the first floor, overlookng an interior small area with nice pots etc.
The room was quite spacious and very clean. Top marks to the housekeeping staff. We did not use the wine
reception or the free breakfast, but ate at Pescatore or at the Boudin backery. We found Pescatore to be a boon
if we did not want to out into the chilly evening; they have updated their menu and have a great choice for
anyone.Porters were helpful when we needed them and they arranged good transportation to the airport in a
town car.
Rates are quite expensive, and the general area is a bit tacky, but for getting around and avoiding those hills,
I would definitely recommend the Tuscan Inn.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLJ166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hi JLJ166 - Great to have had you back at the Tuscan for your 4th visit. I'm glad you liked the renovation, we're loving it and soon we'll have new beds, updated corridors, new lighting and a fresh exterior paint job. We appreciate your 5 Star review and look forward to your 5th visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for 6 days on a couples trip. When we arrived, the staff was great. Check-in was easy and the porters were great. One of the rooms wasn't ready but we were able to wait with our friends in their room. The rooms were smaller than we expected but adequate for the amount to time we would spend in it. The cleanliness of the room more than made up for the size. I rated it as excellent in cleanliness and one main reason we would return. I was very impressed with how well they stocked the rooms and how inviting they were after the staff had been in there. I tend to be a neat freak so this is important to me. The beds were great...I slept like a baby. The noise from the streets was minimal and we were on the second floor, street side. Bring ear plugs if that bothers you. The new lobby area is beautiful without being showy. The wine reception was nice every night. The wine was fine but we had just left Sonoma wine country so we had great wine for 3 days prior to our stay. The restaurant for breakfast was fine. The service was good and the food was what we would expect for a hotel restaurant. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved the location just two blocks from the center of Fisherman's Wharf. We were a short walk to the cable cars too. We will definitely stay here when we return to the SF area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TE1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi TE1185 - Thanks for staying with us and for the great feedback. Our housekeeping team takes pride in their commitment to keeping the hotel "Ultra Clean"! We look forward to your next trip to SF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed with friends for two nights here. Rooms were not huge but very well appointed, comfortable and clean. The wine reception every night was great and the free breakfast was really good. The staff were incredibly helpful especially Keith at the desk who always seemed to be there when we needed to ask something!! The situation of the hotel is wonderful for pier 39, the cable cars and the open topped bus tours...all of which are a must, also the Alcatraz tour. Be warned though.....wear lots of layers as it's chilly. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at Tuscan Inn. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi Jenny O - Thanks for the 5 Star review. We're glad you had a fabulous time and your kind words are much appreciated! Thank you for recognizing Keith at the front desk, we think he's amazing too and I’ll share your comments with him! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at the Tuscan Inn in March when it was undergoing refurbishment. My visit in September with the work is completed was even more welcoming and providds an even more relaxing ambience for visitors to this part od San Francisco. Its location close to Fisherman'd Wharf and the cable car terminus is ideal for getting around the city. The staff are wonderfully helpful and friendly and the five o'clock drinks reception is a great bonus, enabling travellers from around the world to meet and share experiences.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi Gordon374 - Thanks for coming back and it's good to hear you approve of the renovation, we're loving it too! Your 5 Star review is very much appreciated and all of your kind words will be shared with the rest of the team. We're looking forward to your 3rd visit......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#69 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing