We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tuscan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tuscan
Ranked #58 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for a week following a week up the coast in Bodega Bay. It was our fourth visit to this hotel, in
principal due to the location: reasonably flat walking areas: the proximity of the Powell/Mason cable car line: and
some decent restaurants. We have always been comfortable staying here; even more this time since the refurbishment. We had an interior room on the first floor, overlookng an interior small area with nice pots etc.
The room was quite spacious and very clean. Top marks to the housekeeping staff. We did not use the wine
reception or the free breakfast, but ate at Pescatore or at the Boudin backery. We found Pescatore to be a boon
if we did not want to out into the chilly evening; they have updated their menu and have a great choice for
anyone.Porters were helpful when we needed them and they arranged good transportation to the airport in a
town car.
Rates are quite expensive, and the general area is a bit tacky, but for getting around and avoiding those hills,
I would definitely recommend the Tuscan Inn.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLJ166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Hi JLJ166 - Great to have had you back at the Tuscan for your 4th visit. I'm glad you liked the renovation, we're loving it and soon we'll have new beds, updated corridors, new lighting and a fresh exterior paint job. We appreciate your 5 Star review and look forward to your 5th visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    1,619
    438
    118
    50
See reviews for
1,109
1,820
91
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed for 6 days on a couples trip. When we arrived, the staff was great. Check-in was easy and the porters were great. One of the rooms wasn't ready but we were able to wait with our friends in their room. The rooms were smaller than we expected but adequate for the amount to time we would spend in it. The cleanliness of the room more than made up for the size. I rated it as excellent in cleanliness and one main reason we would return. I was very impressed with how well they stocked the rooms and how inviting they were after the staff had been in there. I tend to be a neat freak so this is important to me. The beds were great...I slept like a baby. The noise from the streets was minimal and we were on the second floor, street side. Bring ear plugs if that bothers you. The new lobby area is beautiful without being showy. The wine reception was nice every night. The wine was fine but we had just left Sonoma wine country so we had great wine for 3 days prior to our stay. The restaurant for breakfast was fine. The service was good and the food was what we would expect for a hotel restaurant. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved the location just two blocks from the center of Fisherman's Wharf. We were a short walk to the cable cars too. We will definitely stay here when we return to the SF area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TE1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi TE1185 - Thanks for staying with us and for the great feedback. Our housekeeping team takes pride in their commitment to keeping the hotel "Ultra Clean"! We look forward to your next trip to SF!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed with friends for two nights here. Rooms were not huge but very well appointed, comfortable and clean. The wine reception every night was great and the free breakfast was really good. The staff were incredibly helpful especially Keith at the desk who always seemed to be there when we needed to ask something!! The situation of the hotel is wonderful for pier 39, the cable cars and the open topped bus tours...all of which are a must, also the Alcatraz tour. Be warned though.....wear lots of layers as it's chilly. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at Tuscan Inn. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi Jenny O - Thanks for the 5 Star review. We're glad you had a fabulous time and your kind words are much appreciated! Thank you for recognizing Keith at the front desk, we think he's amazing too and I’ll share your comments with him! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at the Tuscan Inn in March when it was undergoing refurbishment. My visit in September with the work is completed was even more welcoming and providds an even more relaxing ambience for visitors to this part od San Francisco. Its location close to Fisherman'd Wharf and the cable car terminus is ideal for getting around the city. The staff are wonderfully helpful and friendly and the five o'clock drinks reception is a great bonus, enabling travellers from around the world to meet and share experiences.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi Gordon374 - Thanks for coming back and it's good to hear you approve of the renovation, we're loving it too! Your 5 Star review is very much appreciated and all of your kind words will be shared with the rest of the team. We're looking forward to your 3rd visit......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited for three nights at the beginning of September. First impressions were of a standard, non-descript hotel on a city street corner. The reception staff were polite but far from welcoming and offered the minimum of information. There were no porters (at any time) and we even had to ask how to find the lift. The room was OK, looking into the central courtyard which, from other comments, was a good thing. Certainly the room wasn't overlooked and the courtyard was tidy. Otherwise it was adequate if basic. At breakfast, staff were again surly and unwelcoming. The concierge was clearly unhappy at being disturbed from her screen and uninformative.Similarly, there was no one to call a cab on departure. The high spot was the wine reception each evening but, apart from that, don't bother if you're looking for service.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eltrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi Eltrev - Sorry to see that your experience at the hotel was not the usual great experience our visitors have. Seems like just about everyone was having a bad hair day during your stay and I'm sorry that we failed to deliver the type of service you should have received. Hopefully you otherwise had a great time in SF and are continuing to enjoy your adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Romm was small, but very nice. My husband told them it was my birthday and they were to put something in the room, but it never appeared. The first room they gave us was on the front of the building on a noisy street with buses everywhere. We had them move us. Enjoyed the happy hour and met some wonderful guys with Fed Ex out of Memphis. What a small world story since I am from Memphis and we had so much in common!!!!
Hotel is 2 short blocks from Fisherman's Wharf. Great location! Trader Joe's, Walgreen's, and Safeway within blocks.
Parkings is very expensive..$44 per night.
Enjoyed dinner at Pescatore's

Room Tip: Make sure you have a courtyard room. Front of building is very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi fishingdiva - Happy Birthday to you and I'm sorry about any inconvenience caused during your celebration visit. We hope you had a great time in SF and celebrated in fine fashion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Lovely hotel within easy walking distance of Pier 39. Good restaurants all around. Comfortable beds, plenty of storage, staff went out of their way to help and answer questions. We were not told about the free continental breakfast, but their restaurant had a great breakfast plus there was an IHOP and Denny's within 2 blocks. There was a convention in town of 25 - 35,000 people and the staff (bellhops) told us the hotel jacked their prices up for that - it was over $300 per night (for a Best Western!). However we felt it was a safe area for 2 senior women traveling alone and we were within 2 blocks of cable cars, buses, the Embarcadero, etc. Would definitely stay there again, but not for that price.

Room Tip: If you have a choice of when to travel, check out the convention bookings in the city first. It make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyannaDreamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed S, Manager at The Tuscan, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Hi PollyannaDreamgirl - Thanks for staying with us and for terrific review. The summer months and convention time are definitely times when rates at the hotel are higher than during the winter months. We're glad you had a great experience in SF and look forward to seeing you again soon. Check out our web site periodically for specials and promos, great bargains can be found!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 227 in San Francisco
1,830 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#70 of 227 in San Francisco
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscan

Property: The Tuscan
Address: 425 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1405 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscan 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1997, Frommer's Guide designates the Tuscan hotel, located just steps from the breathtaking San Francisco waterfront, as "the best hotel at Fisherman's Wharf." This gracious boutique hotel is characterized by its warmth and charm, impeccable service and Italian country villa ambiance. Adjacent to the hotel is the inviting Italian trattoria, Café Pescatore, completing the picture for an ideal stay in the City by the Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Francisco
Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Tuscan Inn
San Francisco Best Western Tuscan Inn
Tuscan Inn San Francisco
Best Western Fishermans Wharf
Best Western Tuscan Inn Fishermans Wharf San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing