We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!”
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #110 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Choosing the right location is important. This was my second trip to San Francisco, and living around Union Square was far better then near the pier. Nice rooms(really small rooms though), clean and comfy beds. The room did not have air-condition, but it´s not hot in SF anyway.. Friendly and helpful staff. Would easily recommend this hotel to my close friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearhansen901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Yes, Union Square is definitely the place to be. We often share our reviews with all our staff and they will be happy with this one. We hope to see you again soon and we thank you for recommending the Stratford to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    661
    372
    91
    42
See reviews for
175
630
120
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel is right in Union Square. Easy access to lots of shopping and restaurants, along with cable car, Muni, and Bart lines. It's also within walking distance to the Ferry Building, Coit Tower, and the Cable Car Museum. Rooms are very small and basic, but bed was comfortable and the room was clean. A big negative was the location of my room within the hotel - we were right next to the elevator and breakfast room, which meant it was an extremely noisy room. It didn't seem like the hotel was full, so I'm not sure why they chose to place anyone in that room... Also, there is no air conditioning, and ventilation in the room was poor. We ended up having to open our windows to get some air circulation, which made it even noisier and let some flies in.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed away from elevator and breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello Laura, thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel Stratford. We apologize for giving you a room that was not located to your liking. in the future please make sure to let us know of any concerns and our staff will do our best to satisfy all your needs. A lot of the time we are sold out during the summer months but our main objective is still customer satisfaction. If you visit San Francisco again we hope you choose to stay with us and we will make sure to better suit your needs! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A very small room, however, quite clean. Great towels, fine bed, and very helpful staff. Good location (for us). Adequate continental breakfast. Not quiet--but this is San Francisco. We definitely liked it enough to return.

Room Tip: For quietness, the back of the hotel, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello Hal, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. The hotel was built in 1908 and some of the rooms can seem small. We are delighted you were satisfied with everything else. We really do hope you return and we are looking forward to that date. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here with my granddaughter (13) for one night before we could get into our first choice, the Marine Memorial Hotel. Public areas and our room/bath were immaculate. We felt very safe. Great location. Our room was certainly large enough for 2 people who were out sightseeing all day anyway. The staff was professional and pleasant. We saw other guests only at breakfast so it had a somewhat private residence feel. The breakfast room itself could use a little more attention to the tables between guests but not a biggie.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank katieherself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam S, General Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am very delighted that you found our staff pleasant and that our accommodations were safe, clean and perfect. I will be sure to share your note with everyone on Hotel Stratford’s team. We value your suggestion on breakfast room. We always strive to provide every guest with a welcoming, convenient, and comfortable stay and will use these comments to improve our services and facilities. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit at Hotel Stratford.

Sincerely,
Shyam Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After looking at several hotels online we chose The Stratford and we stayed there for four nights while touring around San Francisco. First of all, it's not fancy-smancy, but it's a very nice hotel with a great location right off Union Square. Our room was a queen double, all the queen doubles are located on the front (street side) of the hotel. Take this in consideration if you are a light sleeper, this is a big city with big city noise, traffic, cable car 'clangs' etc. which I found part of the SF experience. But, there can be street musicians on the corners at night, which was our experience, so bring earplugs. Awesome location! There is a Walgreens right down the street, to buy everything you might need, a cable car stop right in front, and restaurants all over the place. Close to shopping and if you are doing the 'hop-on-hop-off' tours, they all have stops right in Union Square. The staff was very friendly and very helpful and I noticed spoke several languages and were eager to assist you. Breakfast was cereal, fruit, toast and coffee, perfect for us. Yes it's an older hotel, no there is not air conditioning (but ceiling fans were all we needed) yes the elevator was slow, but it is very clean, very friendly and very charming.

Room Tip: Take an interior room if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schmidtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam S, General Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review and your compliments about our hotel, service and staff. Our team will be very delighted when I share this great note. It means so much when an experienced traveler such as yourself, enjoys staying at our historic boutique hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review and I look forward to your next visit from Oregon.

Sincerely,
Shyam Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel and it was in a perfect location, right on the trolley line and walkable to many restaurants, bars, and shops. It reminded me of a European type hotel - the rooms are small and basic, but provide everything you needed, and it was very clean. The staff was pleasant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mokie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all the feedback we receive. We frequently hear the Stratford compared to a European style hotel. We are happy you would stay with us again and look forward to seeing you soon! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My sister and I stayed with the Stratford from June 13-18, 2013, and found the location perfect to get everywhere in San Francisco by accessing public transit at Powell Street station. The cable car stop virtually outside the hotel's doors. Loads of options for dining and evening entertainment outside the doors and the shopping is excellent with the Hotel located between Macys and Bloomingdales with a Victoria's Secret across the street and every sportswear outlet you can name within two blocks.
The staff appeared to try to accommodate every request promptly however they could not improve the water pressure in our shower which was a challenge. Room was small but functional.... good internet access. We opted to take the stairs rather than use the lift which we felt could be left to those who needed it. No A/C so if you have a small travel fan, bring it along!
Breakfast very limited... toast, bagels, cereal, and one feature fruit each day. Juice, coffee and tea available to drink. Nice water dispenser available to refill water bottles in breakfast room which is available all day.

Room Tip: Recommend a room that is on a lower floor to reduce wear and tear on your legs. Also street perform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeShe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Our guests comments a very important to us and they help us improve our overall goal of guest satisfaction. We will definitely look into your feedback. We agree the location is great and are delighted you found the staff helpful. Thanks for choosing Hotel Stratford and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,341 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
644 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#76 of 229 in San Francisco
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Property: Hotel Stratford
Address: 242 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2206
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If travelers were to pinpoint on a map the number one location in San Francisco, it could be right outside the door of Hotel Stratford. Our entrance has become part of thousands of photographs taken of the Cable Car as it heads up the second block of its famous journey over San Francisco's beautiful hillside communities. Guests who want the convenience of being right in the center of the City will enjoy their stay in this European style affordably priced property, with 90 pleasantly decorated rooms, all with the most modern facilities. We await the pleasure of your company be it for Business or Leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel San Francisco
Stratford San Francisco
Stratford Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing