We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #104 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

A very small room, however, quite clean. Great towels, fine bed, and very helpful staff. Good location (for us). Adequate continental breakfast. Not quiet--but this is San Francisco. We definitely liked it enough to return.

Room Tip: For quietness, the back of the hotel, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello Hal, thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. The hotel was built in 1908 and some of the rooms can seem small. We are delighted you were satisfied with everything else. We really do hope you return and we are looking forward to that date. Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    615
    341
    83
    37
See reviews for
155
592
108
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here with my granddaughter (13) for one night before we could get into our first choice, the Marine Memorial Hotel. Public areas and our room/bath were immaculate. We felt very safe. Great location. Our room was certainly large enough for 2 people who were out sightseeing all day anyway. The staff was professional and pleasant. We saw other guests only at breakfast so it had a somewhat private residence feel. The breakfast room itself could use a little more attention to the tables between guests but not a biggie.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank katieherself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam S, General Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am very delighted that you found our staff pleasant and that our accommodations were safe, clean and perfect. I will be sure to share your note with everyone on Hotel Stratford’s team. We value your suggestion on breakfast room. We always strive to provide every guest with a welcoming, convenient, and comfortable stay and will use these comments to improve our services and facilities. Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit at Hotel Stratford.

Sincerely,
Shyam Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

After looking at several hotels online we chose The Stratford and we stayed there for four nights while touring around San Francisco. First of all, it's not fancy-smancy, but it's a very nice hotel with a great location right off Union Square. Our room was a queen double, all the queen doubles are located on the front (street side) of the hotel. Take this in consideration if you are a light sleeper, this is a big city with big city noise, traffic, cable car 'clangs' etc. which I found part of the SF experience. But, there can be street musicians on the corners at night, which was our experience, so bring earplugs. Awesome location! There is a Walgreens right down the street, to buy everything you might need, a cable car stop right in front, and restaurants all over the place. Close to shopping and if you are doing the 'hop-on-hop-off' tours, they all have stops right in Union Square. The staff was very friendly and very helpful and I noticed spoke several languages and were eager to assist you. Breakfast was cereal, fruit, toast and coffee, perfect for us. Yes it's an older hotel, no there is not air conditioning (but ceiling fans were all we needed) yes the elevator was slow, but it is very clean, very friendly and very charming.

Room Tip: Take an interior room if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schmidtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam S, General Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review and your compliments about our hotel, service and staff. Our team will be very delighted when I share this great note. It means so much when an experienced traveler such as yourself, enjoys staying at our historic boutique hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review and I look forward to your next visit from Oregon.

Sincerely,
Shyam Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel and it was in a perfect location, right on the trolley line and walkable to many restaurants, bars, and shops. It reminded me of a European type hotel - the rooms are small and basic, but provide everything you needed, and it was very clean. The staff was pleasant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mokie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all the feedback we receive. We frequently hear the Stratford compared to a European style hotel. We are happy you would stay with us again and look forward to seeing you soon! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My sister and I stayed with the Stratford from June 13-18, 2013, and found the location perfect to get everywhere in San Francisco by accessing public transit at Powell Street station. The cable car stop virtually outside the hotel's doors. Loads of options for dining and evening entertainment outside the doors and the shopping is excellent with the Hotel located between Macys and Bloomingdales with a Victoria's Secret across the street and every sportswear outlet you can name within two blocks.
The staff appeared to try to accommodate every request promptly however they could not improve the water pressure in our shower which was a challenge. Room was small but functional.... good internet access. We opted to take the stairs rather than use the lift which we felt could be left to those who needed it. No A/C so if you have a small travel fan, bring it along!
Breakfast very limited... toast, bagels, cereal, and one feature fruit each day. Juice, coffee and tea available to drink. Nice water dispenser available to refill water bottles in breakfast room which is available all day.

Room Tip: Recommend a room that is on a lower floor to reduce wear and tear on your legs. Also street perform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeShe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Our guests comments a very important to us and they help us improve our overall goal of guest satisfaction. We will definitely look into your feedback. We agree the location is great and are delighted you found the staff helpful. Thanks for choosing Hotel Stratford and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I found this hotel by chance. I needed a hotel that could fit a family of five and that was reasonably priced. After researching I ended up booking directly via email and there was no problem at all. We stayed in June 2013 and paid US$209/night.

The hotel is very simple and basic. We had a family suite that consisted of 1 bedroom - double bed, and 2 x double beds in the front room. Perfect. Room was cleaned daily and had nice thick, soft bath towels. The condition of room was simple, maybe needs a bit of an update but heck we were ok with that.

It had 2 TVs, but no bar fridge.
It offered a basic complimentary breakfast with toast/muffin, fruit, cereal, coffee/tea and juice. That's all we needed for breakfast, to sustain us and to pace ourselves on not to overeat throughout this holiday.

The location was great. I loved it. If you want to do some shopping then this is the best location. You are surrounded by shops. Macy's just round the corner, H&M on the next block. Walgreens for food supplies. heaps of places to eat. Not far from Bart station or cable cars. Near union square. Walking distance to Chinatown. 10 min tram ride to Fisherman's wharf. Bit noisy as our room was facing the front but hey this is in the heart of the city you would expect it. It dies down after 10.30

The front staff very helpful. Security walks around at night. Housekeeping great. We had a little accident and they fixed it no problem.

If you want to do the hop on hop off tour. Don't take the hotel offer. We did and found that the buses didn't come as frequent as advertised. Go to Union Square and get the Big Bus Tour. They had lots of buses. Also avoid doing the tour on weekends as its very busy then.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5DownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay. We often share our reviews to our staff and they will be very pleased with your comments. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

First time in San Francisco. Stratford was Recommended by Family. The service at Stratford was great. The rooms where small but all we did was sleep there. There was always someone at the desk for any questions or guidance. The location of the Hotel was perfect for our needs and goals. Walgreens and Starbucks close by. Wonderful in the budget restaurants close by also. The breakfast in the tea room was great. The Tea Room was nice and spacious. It is definitly a repeat Hotel. The best about The Stratford was the location. The least was the plug-ins need some updating. Chargers would not stay plugged in. Water pressure is low but over all the rooms where neat and clean. Room service was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hello Cindy,
Thank you for the great review! Our goal is for every guest to enjoy the same experience as you have. We often show our staff our reviews and they will be delighted with this one. We will definitely take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you again soon and would like to thank you again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#128 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#83 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#127 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Property: Hotel Stratford
Address: 242 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If travelers were to pinpoint on a map the number one location in San Francisco, it could be right outside the door of Hotel Stratford. Our entrance has become part of thousands of photographs taken of the Cable Car as it heads up the second block of its famous journey over San Francisco's beautiful hillside communities.Guests who want the convenience of being right in the center of the City will enjoy their stay in this European style affordably priced property, with over 80 pleasantly decorated rooms, all with the most modern facilities. We await the pleasure of your company be it for Business or Leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel San Francisco
Stratford San Francisco
Stratford Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing