We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location but without bells and whistles”
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #110 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Burbank, CA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, location, location but without bells and whistles”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My hubby and I booked this hotel for five nights for New Years. Location, location, location. If you want to be in the middle of EVERYTHING stay here. It will be loud, e-v-e-r-y night. This isn't just car traffic or people walking type of noise, but entertainers continuing their rumble till the wee hours of the night/morning. Thankfully for us, we're heavy sleepers. This is not the type of hotel room you stay and relax at. We booked the room with the view and the bed took up the whole space. Everything was clean but the building was old, the pipes creek. Our bathroom window faced other hotel bathroom windows. Which was a bit disturbing so we always kept it closed. The room does get hot, so we kept the fan on the whole day even though we weren't there. At night it's so loud you wouldn't want to keep the window open. Lastly breakfast is not worth eating there at all. Just take the tiny muffins and fruits as day snacks and eat breakfast elsewhere. And the elevator is very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room they have, cause these rooms are small even for the suites. CHECK YOUR BIL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
First of all thank you for choosing to stay with us. And of course thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hotel Stratford. I apologize for bill confusion upon check out and i hope the issue was resolved in a timely manner. We hope you enjoyed a great New Years and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    653
    365
    90
    40
See reviews for
173
623
119
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Domzale, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The place is conveniently located in downtown SF, close to all public transportation and to car rental agents. The rooms are small but efficiently arranged. Very clean and well maintained. Our room was on the back side and with open windows we could hardly hear some noise from the street. Breakfast was OK. Some patience is needed using the outdated lift. Stairs are narrow and steep. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: rooms on the back side a quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bblatni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We wish to see you again and hope you enjoyed our beautiful city! Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a more "European" style hotel on Powell just next to Union square. In a location where hotel rooms for double occupancy are routinely $300/night, this can be had for as low as $95/night. We paid $169.00, during a major trade show.
Rooms were clean, albeit a bit basic. Hotel Internet wasn't bad (which is unusual in SF) with 5mbps down and 1.2mbps up.
The breakfast and coffee were classic continental, but good. The rooms were clean, the staff courteous, and everything needed was conveniently nearby.
A few things that some might not like:
It's an older hotel, with what comes with that. One slow small elevator, sash style windows and fans, no A/C. The windows are blocked so they dont' open very far. Standup showers only in small bathrooms. You WILL hear street noise if you are facing Powell (but that's part of the charm, IMO).
The hotel has been recently remodeled and painted, is clean, and well run.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwithapggb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam S, General Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow us thank you for visiting San Francisco and choosing hotel Stratford for your stay. I am very delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, its location, cleanliness and service. We look forward to having you back again.

Sincerely,


Shyam Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in Club Queen room on 7th floor facing Powell St. It was a good size room, and surprisingly very little street noise from Powell St. The hotel is a great price for its location to downtown shopping and sightseeing for San Fran. And we had great service from the hotel reception sorting out transport to the airport at the last minute!

Room Tip: Fantastic location for travellers on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMorrisonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam S, General Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Morrison,

Thank you for visiting San Francisco from New Zealand and staying with Hotel Stratford. Your positive feedback is one of the main sources of our success, so thank you for sharing it through TripAdvisor. I am glad to know that the products and services we offered were valued. I will be sure to share your note with everyone on Hotel Stratford team and your kind words made our day. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and I look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Shyam Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

this hotel was on the list of "recommended" by a trade show I attended. There is no air conditioning. The room was smaller than a college dormitory for one - and you couldn't stand in front of the sink because of abutments in the walls. And the window opened to a solid brick wall. Only one plug in the room worked, so I couldn't charge my phone and laptop at the same time. In all of my years of business travel, I have never been in as low-class hotel as this.

Room Tip: unless you are back-packing - this hotel is one step above a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyam S, General Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Alan,

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We value each of our guest suggestion and we will do our best to see where we can improve our service. I am sorry that your visit was not enjoyable and I wish you had contacted me while you were here as I am sure I could have found accommodations that would have exceeded your expectations.

I would like to ask you for the opportunity to personally ensure a perfect stay during your next trip to San Francisco and Hotel Stratford. Please feel free to contact me when you plan your next trip and I will personally handle your reservation; I will see to it personally that your stay will be both pleasurable and memorable.

Sincerely,
Shyam Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place has gone beyond my expectations. First of all, location can't be better! Next to Union Square, with a cable car stop literally around the corner and plenty of shops and restaurants around.

The rooms are really good too, not necessarily big and also quite clean. My room was on the 7th floor and I was surprised to see that rooms could be cleaned at everytime of the day and not just in the mornings like other places. The only complaint that could fit is the temperature in the room, sometimes was too warm! And there was no way to control that.

Breakfast is just as good as it gets: the essentials to start the day, orange juice, cereals, coffee, toasts and fruits. It does the work for me and for anyone not going after an extra-large included breakfast.

Last but not least, staff was great and friendly. Everytime I needed information was a success and info was accurate.

To sum up, I strongly recommend this hotel if you want to save money and stay in San Francisco's main spot. I would definitely visit The Stratford again!!

Room Tip: Lower floors might be fairly noisy by night. Try to arrange top-floor rooms (7th floor was good!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lui85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Our staff is delighted to see a review like this. It illustrates that our efforts have been successful. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Once again thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

•"European" sized room (tiny, sink in the bedroom, not the bathroom"
•Great location if you're in town for tourism (next to Union Square, good access to all modes of public transit, lots of cabs)
•Continental breakfast is simple but sufficient to get you going for the day- save your money for lunch and dinner!
•Front desk made the visit. Friendly- advice on beer sites during SF Beer Week, even gave me personal post card stamps.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SethBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It pleases all of us to see that guests enjoyed their visit. We are thrilled you were happy with the hotel and especially our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,330 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#124 of 229 in San Francisco
769 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 229 in San Francisco
1,456 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#80 of 229 in San Francisco
1,158 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Property: Hotel Stratford
Address: 242 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2206
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If travelers were to pinpoint on a map the number one location in San Francisco, it could be right outside the door of Hotel Stratford. Our entrance has become part of thousands of photographs taken of the Cable Car as it heads up the second block of its famous journey over San Francisco's beautiful hillside communities. Guests who want the convenience of being right in the center of the City will enjoy their stay in this European style affordably priced property, with 90 pleasantly decorated rooms, all with the most modern facilities. We await the pleasure of your company be it for Business or Leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel San Francisco
Stratford San Francisco
Stratford Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing