We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Stratford
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$399
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$488
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$223
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$229
$212
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$239
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$338
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$186
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$390
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$299
$239
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,525)
Filter reviews
1,525 results
Traveler rating
239
710
408
109
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
710
408
109
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspowell streetcable cargreat locationrooms are smallbreakfast roomslow elevatorcomplimentary breakfastheart of union squarestreet noisebart stationcentral locationfront desk staffcan't beat the locationhotel roomlight sleeperpublic transportationstayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 1,525 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

•"European" sized room (tiny, sink in the bedroom, not the bathroom"
•Great location if you're in town for tourism (next to Union Square, good access to all modes of public transit, lots of cabs)
•Continental breakfast is simple but sufficient to get you going for the day- save your money for lunch and dinner!
•Front desk made the visit. Friendly- advice on beer sites during SF Beer Week, even gave me personal post card stamps.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SethBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It pleases all of us to see that guests enjoyed their visit. We are thrilled you were happy with the hotel and especially our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

As an older lady on her own I was very pleased to have found this hotel. It was a friendly clean hotel with all the amenities I needed. Very reasonably priced and included a nice breakfast. Central location too. Will definitely return when I go to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiser35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks so much for the review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a clean, good value, no frills hotel. We never use spas, fitness rooms, etc. so we look for hotels that are NOT spending their money on stuff we don't use. This hotel is alot like family run pensions in France. The location is great- easy access to BART, public transportation, Union square, Wed morning farmers' market. From SFO the Bart is a $8.25 ride and 15 minute walk to this hotel. The Powell Street cable car stops right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise ask fro a room not on the street.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! It really helps us get a glimpse of the guests experience that we may not receive otherwise. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

On arrival with a clear booking for two adults and a 16 year old, we were told there would only be two twin beds! When we asked where our son was expected to sleep they said we'd be surprised at the arrangements guests make! After some arguments, we were directed to a tiny room which they said they would put a fold away bed in. It was so small it was questionable whether the extra bed would have fitted. I returned downstairs to complain again, and after more wrangling and refusing to pay extra, was given a great suite with views over the bustling street below.

Whilst this eventually worked out very well for us (and this room is modern, well finished and spacious) the rest of the hotel looks cramped with lots of small rooms. The dining area at breakfast time was often so crowded that there wasn't enough chairs for everyone to sit down. Breakfast was adequate but of limited choice. There is an annoying bleep from the lift that can be heard on and off all night.

Location is very good - right at the centre of shopping and eating areas and with the tram right outside.

Overall, this hotel could be a bit disappointing if you were expecting reasonable sized rooms and a relaxed breakfast experience but probably remains an option if you are looking for something outside the higher priced bracket in a good location.

Room Tip: Check the size and bed number you are getting!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthPete19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We apologize for the booking confusion you may have endured. Our building is a historic building and the rooms are not very large. Once again, thanks for staying with us and we hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

San francisco is the most expensive city in the US and accomodations are also pricey. This hotel is for budget conscious but want to stay in the ehart of the city in a safe area. Rooms are small but good enough. However there is no aircon and the room radiator doesnt work, making the room very cold at night or on cloudy days even during summer, that is only my room and I dont know about other rooms. Staffs are friendly and polite- understanding as well. Hotel is clean but morning breakfast is very crowded and lift is extremely busy and slow. There is not much of a view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BentleySpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie D, Front Office Manager at Hotel Stratford, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Thank you for the review of our Hotel. Thank you for all the positives you mentioned in your review. We are very proud about it. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews