We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Stratford
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$175
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$267
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$184
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$491
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$228
$195
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$269
$259
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$240
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard by Marriott San Francisco Downtown(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$257
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$408
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,525)
Filter reviews
1,525 results
Traveler rating
239
710
408
109
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
710
408
109
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspowell streetcable cargreat locationrooms are smallbreakfast roomslow elevatorcomplimentary breakfastheart of union squarestreet noisebart stationcentral locationfront desk staffcan't beat the locationhotel roomlight sleeperpublic transportationstayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
624 - 629 of 1,525 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Pros: Central location (great for cable cars and close to Powell St BART from SFO), good price, good clean standards, friendly reception staff

Cons: Noisy street performers outside until 11pm everyday, breakfast is cereals and muffin (though it's common for most US hotels).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adairam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

we stayed here for seven nights in October 2012. Fab location for Union Square, BART, Powell & Market Street so it's all about location. The room we had was small but clean and tidy. We didn't spend much time there as we were always out and about. We were on the 2nd floor and wasn't overly bothered by noise apart from the night the Giants won the world series... even then the noise died down. Didn't have the breakfast so cannot comment.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Stratford for 2 nights before flying out of the USA. We were thrilled with the location, which was really close to some fabulous restaurants and shopping. We only booked a standard double room, but although the bedroom was small, we also had a sitting room. So the whole package was very good, comfortable, and economical. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would certainly recommend the Stratford for anyone who wanted to stay in the centre of San Francisco, but did not have the budget to allow them to stay in one of the better known hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheridan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at the Stratford Hotel in Union Square San Francisco.
We chose this hotel as it had good reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Our first 2 nights there the room was very clean and quiet though fairly small. We returned for another 3 nights and the room was larger and considering the location on Powell Street still no problem with noise. The staff were obliging and as we had one night away on a tour it was no problem to store our large cases. The complimentary breakfast was also very good. Although it is only rated as a 2 star hotel we think it deserves a better rating.

Room Tip: Our first room was on the 3rd floor and the larger room was on the 8th floor but we don't really know whether this made any difference to the size of the room. The only drawback with the 8th floor is there is only one lift and it can be a bit slow but not too bad.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alcal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

great location for getting the bART from the airport and then only walking about 400m ( uphill though!) right to the door. Saves a fortune on taxis.
After that, you are right on Powell Street, a couple of blocks from Union Square and the rest of th edelights.
Trams on market street to get you up to Fishermans Wharf and the piers, trams and BART to get you back over to Mission District for the best super burritos and lively nightlfe. cable car stop right outside and er, for that reason probably better to get a room on the back if you want a quiet night before 12.
Rooms are a bit small on US standards but they are clean, breakfast is enough to get you going, staff helpful so give this one a go!

Room Tip: Get one on the back for quiet, one on the front to watch the crowds go by.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews