We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in the center of it all!”
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #111 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel Stratford accommodated our stay during the Nike Women's Marathon in October 2012. With 25,000 runners at the starting line in Union Square we were in the center of all festivities. The hotel is centrally located to shopping, eating, sightseeing, transportation and cable cars. The hotel is older, but our room was very clean (deal breaker for me if the room is not clean). The location makes it a good place to crash for the night, although this is not a luxury suite. It has all you need for basic necessities. Parking is expensive, $30/night but that is expected in the city. It takes 20-30 min to get your car from valet, so planning is required if you venture out on a drive. They could improve on the desk staff and update the lobby in order to leave a good first impression. I wondered if the woman at the desk even owned a hairbrush! Overall, it is recommended as a place to sleep, but not ideal if you want to chill and relax in your room for long periods of time. There is no air conditioning, and the view from our room was of a neighboring exterior wall with pipes and the neighbor's bathroom. This property is great for location, great for cleanliness, OK for comfort, and so-so for personality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumnKeiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Stratford
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

I believe this hotel is a very good choice if you are prepared for something a bit different. Yes, there is only one lift, but many people did chose to take the stairs. My room was clean and comfortable. I was a bit worried about the noise from the cable car and general exuberance in the street the first night, but it did stop eventually, and I found that I went to sleep pretty quickly after busy days. The staff were very helpful and flexible. The location was so convenient, easy to return to during the day if necessary. The clientele was diverse and people from many countries were friendly without being nosy.

The breakfast could be improved by more choice, but the service was cheerful.

Not the Ritz, but certainly a good choice if you are prepared to be open-minded.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank operagoerCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in October the rooms are small but very clean and tidy . Great location with tram stop outside the door and union square 1 block away . Service desk is very helpful as well . Our room had only a fan so could be hot in summer ,but overall we had a great stay

Room Tip: Maybe hot in summer we only had fan in room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and would not recommend it to anyone! The location was convenient for the restaurants etc of Union Square and although it was not the most expensive hotel we could have picked, we certainly expected more for our money!
The room was TINY, just about enough room for a double bed! about two foot all around the bed in all directions, a tiny "wardrobe" with only 6 coathangers and no room for your cases! having spent a week in vegas prior to the San Fran trip we had two large cases and these just had to be piled up and the clothes left in them and got out as required!
There was no view out of the window apart from a solid brick wall of the building next to us! which you could actually reach out and touch and no air conditioning. And when we asked if we could pay to meve to a suite or a room with a view, we were told if we wanted a view it would be a MUCH SMALLER room! Good luck with that! A suite was not available!
The reception staff were not helpful in any way and any question asked of them (such as where is the nearest ATM) was met with a blank look and an answer of "not sure" or "dont really know"!!
The lift took an absolute age to arrive whether going up or down and we got used to taking the stairs rather than waiting!
The complimentary breakfast was a buffet in a room 25' by 15' with about 15 tables in, and the breakfast itself was a choice of 3 cereals and toast!
When we go the San Francisco again we will definately NOT be staying in this hotel.
We appreciate we did not spend a fortune, but I would advise anyone travelling to spend an extra $20 or $30 dollars a night for a decent hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzec666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This Hotel is in the perfect location to have a great holiday. Public transport at the door, great food across the road, great location

The only bad thing was the lift broke and the door was left open and anyone could of fallen in which could result in injury or death.

Room Tip: All good recommend any room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is great value for money and in the best location in San Francisco. Cable cars run straight past the hotel, steps away from shops like Forever 21, H&M and the Westfield Shopping Centre. Plenty of places to eat within a block of the hotel... And free breakfast :) We stayed in a Family Room and had no problems at all. Free WIFI a bonus! Reception staff are more than happy to help... Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Fran :)

Room Tip: Family Room
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ness91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for the entire last week of September. All the other Union Square hotels were almost or completely booked. We ended up paying $140 per night for two single beds. For the location, and the season, I thought it was a steal. Overall the rooms were comfortable and clean without to many bells or whistles. They have all the basics that you need and they offer a free breakfast. The only thing our room lacked was air conditioning. We actually stayed in two different rooms. One that faced the street and one that faced a very narrow alley. The street facing room was fine with an open window but the alley facing room got warm because the lack of airflow. The staff were friendly, helpful, and able to answer any questions that we had. Overall the hotel experience was fantastic. You truly cannot beat the location. If I head back to San Francisco I will be staying at the Stratford again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is facing the street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
1,363 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#131 of 230 in San Francisco
791 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Union Square
Holiday Inn Express San Francisc...
#91 of 230 in San Francisco
154 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#81 of 230 in San Francisco
676 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 230 in San Francisco
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Address: 242 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $65 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If travelers were to pinpoint on a map the number one location in San Francisco, it could be right outside the door of Hotel Stratford. Our entrance has become part of thousands of photographs taken of the Cable Car as it heads up the second block of its famous journey over San Francisco's beautiful hillside communities. Guests who want the convenience of being right in the center of the City will enjoy their stay in this European style affordably priced property, with 90 pleasantly decorated rooms, all with the most modern facilities. We await the pleasure of your company be it for Business or Leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel San Francisco
Stratford San Francisco
Stratford Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing