We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Stratford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stratford
Ranked #106 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was the worst hotel we stayed at during our trip in America, it was also the most expensive. The rooms were small, poorly equipped (my hair dryer kept burning out, no coffee maker). It was really noisy due to the location being right off of Union Square. It was a little annoying waiting for the tiny lift which was also very slow to go up and down the 8 floors. We left quite late in the morning due to sleeping badly which meant we missed having our room serviced our whole stay.
The staff are friendly and attentive.
San Francisco is crowded and run down. I didn't feel safe walking around at night, more than once we found ourself walking down streets feeling completely scared. We struggled to find anywhere nice to eat. I would never go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    635
    353
    87
    37
See reviews for
163
605
116
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were a family of 4 and we stayed in Stratford hotel in march 2012
The hotel is amazingly central in the heart of Union square , the rooms though a little bit on the small size are very clean and comfortable , and the bathrooms were wide and spotless , helpfully friendly staff and the breakfast was ok and good value for the wallet

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr aly elariny e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights when we visited san francisco for the first time as part of a 3 week holiday. You are right off union square with the cable cars on your doorstep. The room we had was small but it was clean and all we needed. The staff were friendly and helpfull. This is a place to sleep and when you walk out the door everything you need is near by, china town is a 5 minute walk away, union square is 2 steps away and buses and trams are all around to take you to where ever you need to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Bedrooms were small and a bit cold at night.
When we arrived our first night was in a terrible bedroom with no window.
We complained and we were changed next morning. However, the new bedroom's window was to a wall...
Breakfast was poor with no fruit.
I will choose another hotel maybe from the same Company, but not this one.
Although the location is really good because the same street in SF can change its mood just in two minutes!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahoralucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I know everybody has been high-rating this hotel, indeed it is probably the only price/quality possible choice for that location, but the hotel itself is rather poor. I will try to be realistic.
You do get some pros:
1) location is amazing. Located on Powell street just behind the corner to Union Square you can’t desire more. Cable car route is just in front of the hotel and stops only a few steps away. 1 minute walk to market street; 1 minute walk to SF Visitor Information Center; 1 minute walk to shopping district and malls of Union square; 10 minutes walk to SF MOMA. Basically location is perfect.
2) If you reach SF by car like we did, The Stratford has a convenient valet area in front of its entrance that allows you to easily unload your luggage and check in. They offer valet parking at 27 EUR overnight rate. You can also choose to park it yourself at Union Square parking (34 dollars/day or Ellis O’Farrel parking which are really 30 seconds from the hotel). We left our car for 4 days at Union Square Parking for a total of 135 USD.
3) Reception is open 24 hours and staff is really kind, warm and helpful, nothing to complain about it.
Now what are the cons?
We were offered a room on the second floor which was sold us as double deluxe for 169 USD + tax per night. If I may cite my beloved Charles Dickens I will call it “Bleak Room”. In terms of structure the hotel actually is comparable to a Motel 6 standard in a brick building. Our room was very very small, queen bed with barely room to move around it and absolutely no place to store two suitcases we had to place one in the bathroom which was small too.
I admit linens were clean and towels changed daily. Our room was made up every day even if the provide you with a “I like it dirty” tag to hang outside your door if you prefer.
The view we had from the window was so sad we avoided opening the curtains. The window overlooked a basement area, dirty, with some sort of aircon engine blocking up the view to an even sadder blackened wall.
Furniture in the room is barely existing. Floor carpet stained and worn. Poor soundproofing so you hear every sound your neighbors may produce, even the ticking of water drops from the shower next-door.
So it all boils down to this. Be aware you are paying for a wonderful location but the hotel is what it is. It is also true that better hotels in the same area might cost 50 bucks more each night or more.
If you go back before 5 pm they offer you afternoon tea. I didn’t have the chance to test it so I can’t say. Room charge includes free WI_FI and morning breakfast. Go before 9 am or the room gets so crowded you have to wait 10/15 minutes before being seated.
Wondeful location, low-profile motel room quality. You know what you’re paying for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was a first class choice for a brief visit to San Francisco. It was clean, the staff welcoming and comfortable. Although small and with no view, our room was very adequate for what was no more than a place to sleep. Breakfast adequate. The location cannot be bettered at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscarEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

It was basic and the bathroom was nearly in the bedroom. There was no safe in the room and the view out the fifth story window was an alley and bricks from other buildings. Nice central location for shopping but rather stay near the wharfs. It is on a street with cable cars so it is a short stroll to catch it. Also close to Union Square.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,111 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#125 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#84 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#51 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stratford

Property: Hotel Stratford
Address: 242 Powell St, San Francisco, CA 94102-2206
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If travelers were to pinpoint on a map the number one location in San Francisco, it could be right outside the door of Hotel Stratford. Our entrance has become part of thousands of photographs taken of the Cable Car as it heads up the second block of its famous journey over San Francisco's beautiful hillside communities. Guests who want the convenience of being right in the center of the City will enjoy their stay in this European style affordably priced property, with 90 pleasantly decorated rooms, all with the most modern facilities. We await the pleasure of your company be it for Business or Leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford Hotel San Francisco
Stratford San Francisco
Stratford Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing