We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Are Deceiving”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #78 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Looks Are Deceiving”
Reviewed October 15, 2008

The website pictures of this hotel on hotels.com are deceiving. Our room had large metal earthquate beams that hung over our bed. The room overlooked Powell Street. Without air conditioning - open windows enables you to hear the trolly cars (until Midnight), the 7am trash trucks and of course all of the drunks and street people in between. We had the added bonus of the red glow of the "Herbert" neon sign shinning into our room each night. The hotel also housed some displaced section 8 housing people. Although it was close to downtown - It was not worth a good nights sleep.

  • Liked — Close to downtown
  • Disliked — The room and the noise
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank b1dmhl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFPHI, Management Team at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2008
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are sorry to hear you did not find the room completely to your suiting, we would recommend a room in the back section as they are quieter than the rooms in the
front section. We never had any complaints about the neon sign, but we
appreciate the comment and will now turn off the sign after midnight.

You might have been surprised by the variety of different people living in San Francisco,that is what many people makes the City special. Our guests frequently reflect the diversity of the City, but we do not rent or house section 8 people.

We try our best to provide the best experience for our guests and we hope you to come back and enjoy your stay with us.



Sincerely,


Claudia Bado
Manager
Herbert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    543
    280
    90
    54
See reviews for
192
543
149
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for a few days and it was worth it.
The location was great, right at the center of Union Square, a block away from Macys..but not noisy at night.

The staff was very welcoming and helpful in helping me organize my stay...The manager was a sweet heart and always made sure my stay at the hotel was a good experience.

I m usually very picky about staying in a clean hotel room and I was not disappointed..everything was spotless.

Very good quality-price.

I ll definitely come back !

  • Liked — Location, cleanness, price
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank babssf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Nice hotel for young people.
Clean rooms, young interior. The only negative sidepoint is the noice from the street. Also it was very hot in the rooms.
You are in the middle of town whiche made it the best hotel from our trip.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BE-Pieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I made a reservation through venere.com. When I got to the hotel they said that my room was already booked and they are sorry, but they cannot accept my reservation. They referred me to another hotel named Park Hotel.

I never experienced such a thing in my life. I talked to the hotel manager and all she had to say is that there is nothing she can do. She was ¨nice¨ enough to say that she is sorry.

I had no other choice, but to go to another hotel. I highly suggest you just skip this hotel. There are so many hotels in San Francisco. Why should you go through such a terrible experience.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything. Terrible Management
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccheung, Sales and Marketing Executive at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2008
Herbert Hotel is a historical boutique hotel located on the famous San Francisco Powell Street. The hotel is newly renovated and has comfortable sleeping rooms and amenities. A lot of tourists from Asia and Europe love to stay at the Herbert because of the clean comfortable rooms and the very good location. Fortunately, Herbert Hotel is supported by a lot of travelers and they returned to stay with us from time to time. Overbooking happened during the peak season in San Francisco and this also happened to a lot of the other hotels. Herbert Hotel does not ignore any of our valuable guests. We care for our guests and we take responsibility to them. We also tried to make accommodation to the nearest hotel around us. With this opportunity, we apologize to any inconvenient to our guest with the unhappy experience at Herbert Hotel; we tried our best to serve our hospitality and we hope you to come back to enjoy your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Herbert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeming Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We booked to stay 2 nights at the Herbert, however, our arrival seemed to prescent problems. When we went to check in for our opening night we were told by a very abrupt and rude girl behind the counter that "because people from the previous night wanted to stay longer, that they had no room for us, and we has been tranfered to another hotel". This really not what you want to her after two days worth of driving up from L.A. After discussions with the management (who were also very un-helpfull and rude) we gave in due to tiredness and went to the hotel that they had arranged for us, the Spaulding Hotel on O'Farrell Street. We were transfered here under the arrangement that we had a discounted rate of $99. (later to discover that there actual room rate is under $80, swindled by both hotels !!). To be transfered to this hotel was un-aceptable enough, but trust me you never want to stay in this hotel, and it is an insult that we paid anything for this room (view Spaulding Hotel site for full review of this hotel).
However, as we liked the pictures and comments left by previous visitors we thought we would give the Herbert another try and agreed to go back there for our second night in San Francisco. We were told that because we wanted to drop our bags off early in the morning, that the 24-hour receptionist would take our bags and store them for us. However, after waiting nearly 30 minutes at reception for someone to appear, what looked like the hotel manager eventually got fed up waiting for his staff and fianlly stored our bags for us.
Once in the room we found it comfortable and clean, and very satisfactory for our stay. However, yet more terrible displays of customer service was to follow. I thought that asking for an iron and ironing board would be a simple request. After being told to come down to reception to collect the items, i was greated by yet another staff member who looked un-happy at the request, because he had to get up and search for the items (while constantly sighing as loud as he could). 10 minutes later he came back with the iron, but no board. When i asked him if i could have an ironing board he responded "You want a board as well !!". Followed by another series of sighs, off he stormed to get a board.
On the morning of checkout we were greated by another person behind reception who we explained the last two days events to, and as you may imagine, didn't care !!.

My recomendation would be that if you are thinking of staying at this hotel, don't bother. There are plenty of hotels on Powell Street that seem better value and will provide miles better service. With both myself and fiancee working in the hotel industry we were shocked with the antics of this hotel, and due to the experience would not visit the city again.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — Customer Service And Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeNalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2008

This hotel was super cute! Reccomended for teens or young adults. Even families with young children. My best friend and I stayed only for a night but the room was clean and tidy. We had a view of Powell street. It's in a great location for shopping as well. I would definetely stay here again!!

  • Liked — The colorful room!
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to say.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kbaybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

If you're looking for the Ritz this isn't the place to go, but if you're looking for an affordable hotel in a great location then this is perfect. The rooms are small, but clean and cute. The bathroom is pretty tiny, but again it's clean and has everything you need. As people have stated in previous reviews, the front desk is literally just a desk, (and is situated inside a Mexican restaurant - you really have to see it to understand) and apart from checking you in you probably won't have much interaction with the staff. We didn't have any problems, so I can't comment on how other people have been treated when they had an issue. The only thing I would comment on is you have 2 options in as far as the rooms go - an outside facing window, but extremely noisy, or an inside facing window with little fresh air but peace and quiet. We opted for an outside facing window for the air and views, and had to wear ear plugs the street noise was so bad, but that is no fault of the hotel. Internet isn't wireless, but connection is good. The restaurant downstairs is quite good, and it got 100/100 rating from California Environmental Health Board. We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dunroamin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#98 of 228 in San Francisco
2,308 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#103 of 228 in San Francisco
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#82 of 228 in San Francisco
1,431 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,868 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Property: The Herbert Hotel
Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing