We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Herbert Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$382
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$233
$185
MysticHotel.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$259
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$227
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$458
$409
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
InterContinental San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$348
$297
InterContinental
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$349
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$294
$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rex San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$241
$187
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveler rating
375
592
308
97
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
592
308
97
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomgreat locationpowell streetcable cardeluxe roomceiling fanheart of union squareprivate bathnoisy at nightopen the windowbart stationbudget hotelmini fridgecentral locationstreet noisepublic transportcoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,062 - 1,067 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Nice hotel for young people.
Clean rooms, young interior. The only negative sidepoint is the noice from the street. Also it was very hot in the rooms.
You are in the middle of town whiche made it the best hotel from our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BE-Pieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2008

I made a reservation through venere.com. When I got to the hotel they said that my room was already booked and they are sorry, but they cannot accept my reservation. They referred me to another hotel named Park Hotel.

I never experienced such a thing in my life. I talked to the hotel manager and all she had to say is that there is nothing she can do. She was ¨nice¨ enough to say that she is sorry.

I had no other choice, but to go to another hotel. I highly suggest you just skip this hotel. There are so many hotels in San Francisco. Why should you go through such a terrible experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
1  Thank tsklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccheung, Sales and Marketing Executive at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2008

Herbert Hotel is a historical boutique hotel located on the famous San Francisco Powell Street. The hotel is newly renovated and has comfortable sleeping rooms and amenities. A lot of tourists from Asia and Europe love to stay at the Herbert because of the clean comfortable rooms and the very good location. Fortunately, Herbert Hotel is supported by a lot of travelers and they returned to stay with us from time to time. Overbooking happened during the peak season in San Francisco and this also happened to a lot of the other hotels. Herbert Hotel does not ignore any of our valuable guests. We care for our guests and we take responsibility to them. We also tried to make accommodation to the nearest hotel around us. With this opportunity, we apologize to any inconvenient to our guest with the unhappy experience at Herbert Hotel; we tried our best to serve our hospitality and we hope you to come back to enjoy your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Herbert Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We booked to stay 2 nights at the Herbert, however, our arrival seemed to prescent problems. When we went to check in for our opening night we were told by a very abrupt and rude girl behind the counter that "because people from the previous night wanted to stay longer, that they had no room for us, and we has been tranfered to another hotel". This really not what you want to her after two days worth of driving up from L.A. After discussions with the management (who were also very un-helpfull and rude) we gave in due to tiredness and went to the hotel that they had arranged for us, the Spaulding Hotel on O'Farrell Street. We were transfered here under the arrangement that we had a discounted rate of $99. (later to discover that there actual room rate is under $80, swindled by both hotels !!). To be transfered to this hotel was un-aceptable enough, but trust me you never want to stay in this hotel, and it is an insult that we paid anything for this room (view Spaulding Hotel site for full review of this hotel).
However, as we liked the pictures and comments left by previous visitors we thought we would give the Herbert another try and agreed to go back there for our second night in San Francisco. We were told that because we wanted to drop our bags off early in the morning, that the 24-hour receptionist would take our bags and store them for us. However, after waiting nearly 30 minutes at reception for someone to appear, what looked like the hotel manager eventually got fed up waiting for his staff and fianlly stored our bags for us.
Once in the room we found it comfortable and clean, and very satisfactory for our stay. However, yet more terrible displays of customer service was to follow. I thought that asking for an iron and ironing board would be a simple request. After being told to come down to reception to collect the items, i was greated by yet another staff member who looked un-happy at the request, because he had to get up and search for the items (while constantly sighing as loud as he could). 10 minutes later he came back with the iron, but no board. When i asked him if i could have an ironing board he responded "You want a board as well !!". Followed by another series of sighs, off he stormed to get a board.
On the morning of checkout we were greated by another person behind reception who we explained the last two days events to, and as you may imagine, didn't care !!.

My recomendation would be that if you are thinking of staying at this hotel, don't bother. There are plenty of hotels on Powell Street that seem better value and will provide miles better service. With both myself and fiancee working in the hotel industry we were shocked with the antics of this hotel, and due to the experience would not visit the city again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeNalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

This hotel was super cute! Reccomended for teens or young adults. Even families with young children. My best friend and I stayed only for a night but the room was clean and tidy. We had a view of Powell street. It's in a great location for shopping as well. I would definetely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kbaybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

If you're looking for the Ritz this isn't the place to go, but if you're looking for an affordable hotel in a great location then this is perfect. The rooms are small, but clean and cute. The bathroom is pretty tiny, but again it's clean and has everything you need. As people have stated in previous reviews, the front desk is literally just a desk, (and is situated inside a Mexican restaurant - you really have to see it to understand) and apart from checking you in you probably won't have much interaction with the staff. We didn't have any problems, so I can't comment on how other people have been treated when they had an issue. The only thing I would comment on is you have 2 options in as far as the rooms go - an outside facing window, but extremely noisy, or an inside facing window with little fresh air but peace and quiet. We opted for an outside facing window for the air and views, and had to wear ear plugs the street noise was so bad, but that is no fault of the hotel. Internet isn't wireless, but connection is good. The restaurant downstairs is quite good, and it got 100/100 rating from California Environmental Health Board. We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dunroamin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews