We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carly is a fantastic staff”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #80 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carly is a fantastic staff”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My son and I had a room at the Union Square Plaza Hotel. We found black mold in the bathroom. We called the Herbert Hotel and spoke to Carly at 9PM. Carly said the rooms with two beds were booked but she would work something out for us. Carly went way above anything you could ask for. She was eventually able to get us a deep discount and two beds after calling her manager. I have never been treated so well by Hotel staff. Thank you Carly!!!
Bill

Room Tip: You will like this the hotel and staff. Book early as some rooms share a restroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billmoe1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    535
    276
    89
    54
See reviews for
191
532
147
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed with my boyfriend for a night and it was perfect! Simple but cute and you can tell everything was thoroughly clean. Quite charming as well since they've maintained the integrity of the original building structure. Make sure you request your own bathroom if you want, since they have options to share for cheaper. We had our own bathroom and our room was still very spacious with a lot of light. I would definitely stay there again. For the price and location, it's a great deal since you're right in the heart of Union Square.

Room Tip: If you want your own bathroom be sure to request that since they have shared options. Also if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Journeyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel was a brilliant find. Located right in the centre of San Francisco, a two minute walk from Union Square, with cable cars right outside.

The room was clean, well appointed and modern. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The location is superb.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. I hope to return to San Francisco soon and will definitely be booking at the Herbert again!

Room Tip: Make sure you request an en suite, I believe some rooms have a shared bathroom. Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Good location, literally in the middle of the shopping district, with some good restaurants close by, you can walk from here down to the piers on the sea-front (20-25 minutes).

Room was spacious, not the smartest decorated room but light, airy and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our room was modern, clean, and quiet, with its own good-sized bathroom. The hotel's location is ideal, in the middle of everything, with a cable car stop right outside, and a Walgreen's next door. This place is no frills, though, the rooms are small, no sofas, fridges, microwaves, etc. But the cost is great compared to other nearby hotels, so I am more than willing to do without the add-ons. Will definitely stay again. The customer service was great as well, Carly at the front desk was kind and patient, and gave us helpful advice for getting around the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 148Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the Herbert for 5 Nights during our visit to San Francisco in July 2013. We chose this hotel due to a combination of price (good), location and reviews. The location of the hotel is fab, right on one of the main streets of the city centre. The cable car passes just in front of the hotel, and all big shopping malls and many sights are within walking distance. Can be a bit noisy if you sleep with window open! We had a room on the 7th floor, and it was still noise. However, this is to be expected in the middle of a big city.
We stayed in a room with shared bathroom. In out experience there is normally a sink in the room, but there was no such thing, so we had to exit the room for every need. There was only one bathroom and one showeroom pr. flor, and they were both tiny! Felt like you had to stand over the toilet to wash your face in a sink that was even smaller. Could barely was my hands. However - there was never any que, the washrooms looked newly redecorated, and they were clean! The room itself was also newly renovated and was clean, but tiny! The bed was comfortable. There is a washing room in the hotel, which is great if you are traveling for a while and ned to Wash some clothes. There is no breakfast, but a shared Kitchen on the 2nd floor. Good value for Money, but I will go for the ensuit room next time!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carly M, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We understand that the room with shared bathroom was not all pleasant for you. There are several different room sizes and most of our shared bathrooms have a sink with the exception of one or two. We hope that in the future, when you stay with us again, you have an experience better suited to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The advantage of staying here is the location if you want to stay in the heart of Union Square. It is an easy walk up Powell St from the metro.

Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay here at all. I have wrote to Management a week ago via email and have not had a response.

We booked and were allocated a queen room with private bathroom. Appallingly, it was located directly next to and opposite the shared facilities at the end of the corridor on level 5. We were disturbed throughout the night with people going too and from. The place was not full when we stayed, no reason to be given this choice of room.

The customer service was absolutely appalling. When we arrived, the girl behind the desk did not even look up from her computer to greet us or check us in. We experienced this attitude from all staff throughout our stay. I note that many reviews praise the customer service so I don't know whether there are new people on board or if we were just extremely unlucky. Quite incredible how lack of respect from hotel staff affects ones stay!

If you are used to budget hotels - as we are - then this place doesn't even compare. It is sterile (our room stank of chemicals), there is a depressing common room on level 2 with laundry facilities (reception don't sell soap or change - may as well go to a laundromat by the time you get both!) and no warmth about the place.

Not one to nitpick at all (refer to my other reviews), but the Herbert was beyond disappointing and not value for money, at all. Go elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy_Dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carly M, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We deeply apologize that you experienced an unpleasant stay with us. We always make an effort to accommodate our guests but checking back on the date you stayed with us, our hotel was at full capacity which does not leave us a lot of flexibility when moving rooms. If we had been not been full, changing rooms would not have been an issue. Most importantly, we are very sorry that you had a bad customer service experience. We pride ourselves on your service at the Herbert and definitely do not think the described experience is acceptable. We take customer engagement very seriously and are constantly training our staff to be more interactive with guests. We recently updated our systems to make the check in process smoother for our guests and easier for staff, but that was our first busy weekend with the new system and perhaps this led to a less than ideal experience. We do make the best effort to have our back of house changes impact our guests as little as possible. We are definitely sorry that this failed for your experience. As for the lack of a response from our Manager, we are not sure where this correspondence got lost. Our manager’s email is jordan.buckley@paramounthotelsinc.com and is always available to assist for any needs.

We apologize again for your experience and do hope you give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#82 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,113 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Property: The Herbert Hotel
Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing