We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like 'Herbert Hostel', non-existent customer service”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #79 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

The advantage of staying here is the location if you want to stay in the heart of Union Square. It is an easy walk up Powell St from the metro.

Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay here at all. I have wrote to Management a week ago via email and have not had a response.

We booked and were allocated a queen room with private bathroom. Appallingly, it was located directly next to and opposite the shared facilities at the end of the corridor on level 5. We were disturbed throughout the night with people going too and from. The place was not full when we stayed, no reason to be given this choice of room.

The customer service was absolutely appalling. When we arrived, the girl behind the desk did not even look up from her computer to greet us or check us in. We experienced this attitude from all staff throughout our stay. I note that many reviews praise the customer service so I don't know whether there are new people on board or if we were just extremely unlucky. Quite incredible how lack of respect from hotel staff affects ones stay!

If you are used to budget hotels - as we are - then this place doesn't even compare. It is sterile (our room stank of chemicals), there is a depressing common room on level 2 with laundry facilities (reception don't sell soap or change - may as well go to a laundromat by the time you get both!) and no warmth about the place.

Not one to nitpick at all (refer to my other reviews), but the Herbert was beyond disappointing and not value for money, at all. Go elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lucy_Dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carly M, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We deeply apologize that you experienced an unpleasant stay with us. We always make an effort to accommodate our guests but checking back on the date you stayed with us, our hotel was at full capacity which does not leave us a lot of flexibility when moving rooms. If we had been not been full, changing rooms would not have been an issue. Most importantly, we are very sorry that you had a bad customer service experience. We pride ourselves on your service at the Herbert and definitely do not think the described experience is acceptable. We take customer engagement very seriously and are constantly training our staff to be more interactive with guests. We recently updated our systems to make the check in process smoother for our guests and easier for staff, but that was our first busy weekend with the new system and perhaps this led to a less than ideal experience. We do make the best effort to have our back of house changes impact our guests as little as possible. We are definitely sorry that this failed for your experience. As for the lack of a response from our Manager, we are not sure where this correspondence got lost. Our manager’s email is jordan.buckley@paramounthotelsinc.com and is always available to assist for any needs.

We apologize again for your experience and do hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel has everything needed to have a nice stay, unless you like luxury hotels: centrally located so you can go walking alone anytime (you find always people around), good wifi signal in the room, comfortable bed, everything was clean and the basics (flat tv, hairdryer, ...). The style of the hotel is modern with minimalist design, and both the lobby and the rooms are cozy, but I would highlight the kindness and the helpfulness of the people at the desk, specially Jordan, who really helped me getting a taxi to the airport at the last minute so I could arrive on time to get my flight back home.
I would definitely stay here again in my next trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moniferlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great service, the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable hotel looked recently remodeled. Location was great within walking distance to great restaurants, and night life. Definitely would stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel was very basic, but clean and all we needed for a city visit. The only problem we had was our noisy neighbour in the room next door..... The snoring, was unbearable. Through the joining door, we were bracing ourselves for the heard of elephants we were sure was approaching us. We had to bang on the door through the night -- needless to say, we were very tired the next day.
We asked to change rooms the next day but were refused.

The location is very central but as two young girls did not feel very comfortable being out at night, which was a shame as there are alot of bars and restaurants around the hotel. The cable car stop is right outside the hotel which is a great experience, but while in the queue (which was a long time) we were shoved out the way by a homeless man who started rooting through the bin and left alot of rubbish being him. Walking round the area, this occurred regularly, and left us feeling a little uncomfortable.

Great location and very basic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here for a week while attending a wedding of a friend......great location for travelling outside the city as SF itself is not my cup of tea as it seems to be overrun with homeless people who are begging right outside the front door and everywhere in this part of the city seems to be frequented by people who are either tourists,junkies,homeless.The hotel itself is fine and staff are helpful and lots of amenities/shopping close by but not a place for peace and quiet.I used it as a base for getting out of the city......

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from Hope and Powell intersection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

What you think about this hotel will depend very much on your priorities. It's very important to understand with eyes open what you will get, and will not get, when you stay here.

For us, the priorities were: Clean, comfortable bed, good location, reasonable price. I can safely say The Herbert did very well on all of these points. In the end, that is what drove our rating, and we will have no problem staying there in the future. (We booked a standard room with bath.)

What you don't get comes down to:
Dresser or other storage closet
Desk
4th coat hanger
Any decent surface to put anything on
Wake up calls can be scheduled if the front desk will choose to answer the phone, but they missed delivering calls literally half the time, which can be a problem since they don't provide an ...
Alarm clock
Kleenex
Coffee (instant packet only)
Ice or bucket
Fitness center

They do provide a small occasional table the top of which is the size of a dinner plate, but most of it is taken up by a small water boiler (for tea or the instant coffee.) Other than the bed there is a single chair to sit on, and a wall mounted TV. There is a radiator for heat and a ceiling fan but no air conditioning. There are a good number of electrical outlets distributed throughout the room. The rooms have free wifi and wired internet (with cable). Soap and shampoo are provided through wall-mounted bulk dispensers, and water pressure was good on the sixth floor.

On the second floor there is a small laundry facility (pair of washer and dryers at $2.00/load each) and a common area room with a single table and a coffee maker if you bring coffee.

Overall the room feels like it's a desk and bad roommate away from being a freshman dormitory. That said, it was clean, felt safe, and had a comfortable bed. We'll probably be back, but we are also willing to pay a little more for a more traditional level of service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mostundudelike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

What a great find! This hotel was basic but offered everything we needed and the location was perfect. My only gripe is that the room did not have a fridge and a/c. The ceiling fan was adequate for us, though it may get too hot in summer. Also recommend spending that little bit more to get your own bathroom. The pressure of the shower head was a bit weak but tolerable. The location is centrally located to shops and restaurants around Union Square and only a couple of blocks from Market Street. There is a Walgreens next door, Macys is just a block away and the cable car stop is right outside the front door. Although if you’re a light sleeper, ask for the highest possible floor or bring earplugs as it can get quite noisy. The bed we had is one of the most comfortable beds I’ve ever slept in and I want one! Will be contacting the hotel to find out if I can get the same mattress in Australia. Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
770 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
820 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
1,304 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,815 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $128 - $1,161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing