We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and reasonably priced”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #80 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The staff was helpful. We can get around the Muni and cable car quite easy as the stops are just right outside this boutique hotel. Lots of shopping and food around this hotel. It's clean and decent. There's wifi in the room too.

Room Tip: If you are not fussy, go for the shared bathroom cause it's equally as good and you get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eleven_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

This small hotel is on Powell Street. The rooms have minimal furniture -- a bed, a lounge chair, 2 small round tables. There was a coffee maker, a hair dryer, and an iron. Our room had a closet, but there were no shelves in the closet and there was no dresser with drawers. This meant we had to live out of our suitcases, except for things we could hang up. We knew this from other Tripadvisor reports. If there is renovation going on, it was not on the 7th floor, which is newly painted, almost everything is white. The hall was white, except for bright red-orange doors. The room itself was painted white, except for one wall which was painted grey and had two small abstract prints above the bed. There were enough electric outlets for the computer and my heating pad, but it was hard to tell where to put the computer. In the end, we used one of the small round glass top tables, which was just a bit larger than our tablet computer. There was an overhead light & fan, a light over the sink (which was in the room) and two small reading lights on each side of the bed. There was a phone in the room, but not a clock radio. Our room had a bathroom with toilet and tub/shower. It was clear that it could be rented with/without the bathroom because there was a door from either side. Our bathroom door was unlocked. The other bathroom door, which could have led to this bathroom, was locked. Presumably, a family could rent two rooms and have the bathroom in between. We had a room halfway down the 7th floor hall and were not disturbed by the street cars. One can almost miss the door to the hotel, because that's what it is, just a door. When one goes inside, there is a counter with a person sitting at a computer. There is a rug, but no seating. When we asked, we were told sofas were on order. There were no pictures the day we arrived, but by the time we left, there was one large picture by the counter. So there is really no lobby to sit, or wait, yet. There is a lounge on the second floor, but that seems to have temporary furniture. There were 2 microwaves, a sink, a TV, four straight chairs, a low table, a higher table, with four (soft wobbly) stools around it. We only sat there once with our friends, because there was no furniture in the lobby and no extra chairs in our room. I believe it is still under renovation because we saw a workman in the elevator and rode down to the basement with him, where one could see various workman's things, like paint buckets. There is a large room where one can leave one's luggage, if one is leaving after the check-out time of 11 am. We were only able to get one set of keys -- real metal keys, one for the room, one for the hotel entry door -- not card keys, but this was a minor inconvenience. Once we were not given any wash cloths and couldn't get them as we came back after a full day of meetings and eating dinner. If wash cloths or a hand towel were needed, one could get them when the housekeeping staff was still working. The biggest plus of this hotel was that it was clean and close to a lot of the other hotels, where our convention was being held. The desk will arrange an airport limousine for you, $30 for two. There is no restaurant, but there are lots of restaurants nearby, from more upscale ones to cafes, and two Subways (where there is no seating), and at least three Starbucks. Space seems to be at a premium in San Francisco -- at least this part. There is a corner grocery not far away. Yes, there are homeless people outside the hotel door, but there are homeless people all up and down Powell Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel is in perfect location. It goes through renovation, but it didn't bug us too much. The front desk people were really nice and helpful all the time. They provided us with extra towels and coffee even late at night. Rooms are nice and clean, but need a little bit of furniture and more decorations. Overall, nice hotel with friendly staff, will come back!

Room Tip: ask rooms on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

First off The Herbert couldn't be better for location. So close to Union Sq and transport links. Room was basic, comfy bed and large bathroom but not much space to hang clothes etc.

Room was cleaned daily but it seemed to get dirty quickly, attract flies etc. and the shared kitchen was positively filthy which was a major disappointment. This was the only space to get wifi as only hard line connection in the rooms - something which I think has just been rectified.

It's an ok place to stay and I would stay there again for the price but if I had more cash I'd possibly look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegendofMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParamountManagment, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Our rooms try to be simple and not crowd the guest in a room with a lot of furniture but we do provide storage for your belongings in all rooms.

We don't have a shared kitchen but there is a small lounge on the 2nd floor, it gets cleaned twice a day.

In January we did have an issue with our wifi but at the begining of April we had our Wifi overhalled with a new system and new access points and now the whole hotel has wifi eveywhere at no addidtional cost.

Since Jan we also remodeled our Lobby, pictures will be posted on of Facebook page as soon as the become available!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I arrived to a building site! I know that this couldn’t be helped, but when I found the temporary reception, I was expecting a polite apology - haha, yeah right! Most of the staff, with one exception, were very unfriendly. Room was nice, had everything I needed so couldn’t complain. Could only get wifi in the common lounge - for the price I paid to stay here, this was a big let-down! Oh yeah and the bath/shower confused me - worked it out after asking for help! Location is great - right on Powell street so can watch the trams go by and go to the many shops on the doorstep. Obviously being where it is, it is very noisy, especially at night! There are a lot of homeless people around this area too, which is a shame.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah14387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had only a night and the subsequent day in San Francisco and chose Herbert because of its location and price. We had three pieces of heavy luggage but did not have any trouble dragging them from the Powell Street BART Station to the Hotel. Yes, it's that close! Overall the stay at the Hotel was quite comfortable - all basic stay needs taken care of well. Well, the wifi wasn't working on all the floors, but they were upfront about it during the time of checkin. Other than that, I was given a nice, clean room on the fifth floor and noise wasn't an issue at all as I had a good night's sleep. The staff was helpful at checkout and stored my luggage on check out as I went out to explore the city. Overall a nice hotel, priced very well, all kinds of eating and public transport options nearby and the perfect base for exploring San Francisco city.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 4th / 5th floor for lesser noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RahulOjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in January. Our room was on the 5th floor facing the street. It was spacious and clean. It had basic amenities - TV, heater, armchair and a wardrobe. We had a room with ensuite which had a bath/shower and shampoo that came out of a dispenser. The bed was very comfortable and we didn't find noise a problem at all. If we had the windows open we could hear some activity on the road below but not enough to keep us awake. The location was fabulous, there are shops and restaurants literally on the doorstep of the hotel. Many other things within walking distance. The staff were really friendly, we loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEM967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
771 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
820 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#91 of 230 in San Francisco
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,817 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
619 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $128 - $1,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing