We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Comfortable Stay”
Review of The Herbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Herbert Hotel
Ranked #80 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect Location, Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had only a night and the subsequent day in San Francisco and chose Herbert because of its location and price. We had three pieces of heavy luggage but did not have any trouble dragging them from the Powell Street BART Station to the Hotel. Yes, it's that close! Overall the stay at the Hotel was quite comfortable - all basic stay needs taken care of well. Well, the wifi wasn't working on all the floors, but they were upfront about it during the time of checkin. Other than that, I was given a nice, clean room on the fifth floor and noise wasn't an issue at all as I had a good night's sleep. The staff was helpful at checkout and stored my luggage on check out as I went out to explore the city. Overall a nice hotel, priced very well, all kinds of eating and public transport options nearby and the perfect base for exploring San Francisco city.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 4th / 5th floor for lesser noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulOjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    535
    276
    89
    54
See reviews for
191
532
147
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in January. Our room was on the 5th floor facing the street. It was spacious and clean. It had basic amenities - TV, heater, armchair and a wardrobe. We had a room with ensuite which had a bath/shower and shampoo that came out of a dispenser. The bed was very comfortable and we didn't find noise a problem at all. If we had the windows open we could hear some activity on the road below but not enough to keep us awake. The location was fabulous, there are shops and restaurants literally on the doorstep of the hotel. Many other things within walking distance. The staff were really friendly, we loved our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEM967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Best thing about The Herbert is the location. Don't expect luxury but do expect friendly staff and a clean room. Pleasant stay! Would definately return.

They do have student accomodation on the 2nd floor and there is a lounge where you can get free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyHelena1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Herbert Hotel is situated right by Union Square, undoubtedly an excellent location for tourists. We stayed here for 4 nights in Jan 2013 in one of their Queen rooms with an ensuite bathroom. It was located right beside the common bathroom but we had no problems with noise (perhaps to do with the off-peak travel period). We also liked that only guests with keys could enter the compound.

The room's laminated floor creaked in places and the springs in the bed were nearly non-existent. I suspect the bed might have been a haven for dust mites too cos my sinus would worsen during the times we were in the room. However, the rest of the room was clean and neat. The staff we happened to meet weren't the most friendly people I've met but there's always someone at the front desk should you require assistance till about 10pm.

All in all, the place offers great value given its location but set your expectations for a backpackers and you would definitely not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If travelling during peak season, perhaps useful to request for a room away from the common bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yonderwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Location is everything.. that and a meticulously clean (yet very small) room. I did, however miss having any drawer space whatsoever. The closet really could have some shelving for clothes- that would go along way for staying more than a few days. All in all, not a bad experience.. but bring your own pillows.

Room Tip: Stay on the inside room away from Powell St. and the Cable Cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wired7234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our experiance there was very desappointed, no clean towels no plece were to seat, no tables were to put your things down ,we had to seated on the floor to have a cup of coffe that we purchase from Starbucks ...Do Not Go There Ever!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank calmet1l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParamountManagment, Manager at The Herbert Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Cleanliness is one of the main points of our property. All of our towels and linens are brand new and cleaned by a professional process inspected by a third party. Our rooms are simple. In our larger rooms we do have a place to sit but it the room is smaller we did decide not to clutter the room, other than the bed, to keep the room comfortable and roomy. The entire building was remodeled in 2006 and we are constantly making upgrades, so although the building was built around 1908, there is no evidence of this once you enter the property. We are always displeased when hearing that someone did not have a good stay and hope that we are given another change to improve the experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

One of the best for value hotel I have stayed in. The location was Union Square and subway was only 200m down the road. Bed was very comfortable though the toilet was a little old. Nevertheless it was kept very clean. Would definitely recommend for those travelling to SF.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Union Square
King George Hotel
King George Hotel
#82 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#102 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,113 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Union Square
The Grant Hotel
The Grant Hotel
#126 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Herbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herbert Hotel

Property: The Herbert Hotel
Address: 161 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-2291
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Herbert Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Herbert Hotel is a small historic hotel located on the Powell Street Cable Car line at legendary Union Square, San Francisco, California. Newly designed and renovated, the hotel offers style, location and affordability unmatched in the city center. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, the Herbert is a short walk from San Francisco's many attractions. Restaurants, shops galleries and theaters are just outside our door. Moscone Center, Chinatown, the Museum of Modern Art and the world's most fabulous stores are a short walk away. Our 99 guest rooms are newly designed and renovated. All of our rooms come with high speed internet access. We offer suites and single rooms at affordable prices as well as double and triple connecting rooms that are ideal for families. Offering modern hotel amenities and a classic San Francisco hotel, The Herbert is ideal for families as as well as business and leisure travelers. Enjoy the comfort of clean and well-equipped accommodations at a fraction of the price of typical downtown San Francisco hotels. Make a reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Herbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing